We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Niwa Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 101-0061, Japan   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient hotel right around the corner from the Suidobashi train line which gets you everywhere in Tokyo. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and attentive. There are lots of dining options in the area to explore , we did not eat in the hotel because it is very expensive. There are laundry machines and free massage chairs on the 3rd floor for guest use. There is a small convenient store next door for any quick needs. Quiet neighborhood but excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Campceo,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo to spend your stay in Japan, and for taking the time to write your review.
It is a pleasure to see that you have valued positively our location and surroundings, and the treatment of service personnel. We make an effort every day in order to provide a good quality service to our guests.
Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tokyo.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    334
    48
    12
    3
See reviews for
180
441
151
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I really like this hotel. Japanese Modern in style, it is very clean and comfortable, even the pajamas are super comfy!
The rooms may be small by western standards, but they do not feel cramped, they are efficiently designed. As is typical of Japanese business hotels, there are coffee/tea set-ups in the room. Not typical is the mini-fridge, a nice perk.
Breakfast is fairly expensive, but good. Unless you need to eat at the hotel, you can no doubt find a cheaper restaurant near-by.(if you are satisfied with pastries and coffee I would recommend the inexpensive Choco-Cro café)
The hotel's coin laundry is very convenient. If you have never used a Japanese laundromat, be aware that you do not need to buy soap, it is automatically dispensed in the washing machine. Adjacent to the laundry is a little lounge area with massage chairs. You will see multiple pictures posted of these! So, after a hard day of sight-seeing (or while doing laundry) you can take advantage of the free massage! Or, you can go to the fitness room next to this for more exercise, take your pick. There is also a quiet garden area just outside of the lounge. Please note: this is also the designated smoking area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Travellingenna,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home.
I appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience during your stay. Actually, so much of your positive feedback encourage us a lot.
We really need your continuous support and look forward to welcoming you back again.


Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked this place based on the incredible reviews it was getting for such a low price.

The hotel is very well presented. The rooms are small, but we could easily fit 2 people and 3 large suitcases in no worries.

The bed was comfortable, a double bed which suited us fine as we are not large people. The pillow was made of down and so soft! I was expecting usual painfully high hotel pillow but this was bliss! They had roll down light blocking curtains to cut light. I think we slept in a little too often thinking it was still night when it wasn't!

The staff spoke great English and were very helpful, giving us hints on nice food places nearby and booking things for us as we don't speak Japanese.

The location is great! We caught a taxi in on our 1st night as our plane came in late and we didnt arrive to the hotel until after 10pm at night. We found the hotel easy to get to and from, just a short 5 minute walk from Suidobashi station and 10 minutes from Tokyo Dome City.

The hotel surrounds are quiet and Suidobashi is on a line that services Shinjuku and Akihabara (a major stop for JR lines).

They also had free massage chairs for guest use adjacent to the laundry - we used these whilst doing our washing.

We will definitely come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Flashlee,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home.
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a detailed review and feedback,
and it seems you have had pleasant stay with us.
We hope to be in your service again in near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Reations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there in June, which is the raining season. Upon request, the lobby staff will loan you an umbrella. In fact, even if you don't return it its totally fine. Room was small but expected. The station was just 10 mins walk away and there's a convenience store right beside the hotel. However breakfast was not complimentary and was quite expensive if you want to dine there. Quiet and nice place.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear binxin 98,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home. I appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience and feeling towards our hotel. Hoping to have continuous support from you.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel in 2011. I went back again in 2013 and found that the hotel continues to maintain its high standards. The lobby is beautiful and rooms are impeccably maintained. The rooms are quite small - but that's true of most hotels in Tokyo. The breakfast was ok.. sometimes the service was not upto the mark - a couple of days i noticed that items on the buffet used to get finished and was not replenished on time. But overall service was good. Food portions are quite small.The best part of the hotel is the nearness to the railway station which enables you to reach all parts of Tokyo in no time. Its also near the tokyo dome hotel which enables you to travel to the airport by the airport bus as well as get on the local sightseeing tours (Hato Bus etc.) from there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear arunkmurthy,

Thank you for comming back to Hotel Niwa Tokyo again.
I appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience and feeling towards our hotel. Hoping to have continuous support from you.


Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had trouble finding a hotel in Ginza and came across this hotel in Tripadvisor. It wasn't in Ginza, but was near enough to where I wanted to stay and has good reviews and the pictures were nice. Really glad to have stayed here. The hotel is in a very cool modern Japanese style. The room was great - good size for Japan, with good lighting, bed and bathroom. I was happy with the rate and had good service throughout.

Only problem was I could only stay one night and then had to go back home. I definitely will stay there again - my new favourite hotel in Tokyo.

There are a lot of restaurant streets nearby and it is an easy walk to the subway. Very conveniently located.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Darren Rupert,

Many thanks for taking your time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel Niwa Tokyo.
As you stated, we are proud of our concept of Modern Japanese, and rooms offer blend of the Western comfort and Japanese tradition.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Thank you again for your kind praise.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel in desperation due to not finding anything available in Tokyo. Wow!! What a find. A gem. 5 minute walk from Suidobashi station and surrounded by a feast of great cheap eats. This hotel is a gem. Its basically a 5 star hotel at a 3 star price. Funny place to find but seriously worth the adventure looking for it. Close to Tokyo dome and about a good 20 to 30 minute walk to the east Imperial gardens & Kitanomaru gardens. ( The Beatles played at the Nippon Budokan here in 1966 if your a rock trivia buff) The rooms are small but immaculate. Staff are friendly and speak excellent English. There is a convenience store next door which is great if you want to grab a quick beer for like $3.00 (240 yen) Cheap as... I will come back but going by the reviews it will longer be a secret and probably be booked out when I return!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Alan B,
Thank you for staying at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, and for reviewing on TripAdvisor.
On the behalf of the team, I would like to say "special thanks" to you for such a lovely comments. Your kind comments about us always be a delight to us to know that our efforts are appreciated. We wish to have your continous support and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank you again for your kind praise.

Hotel NIwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Address: 1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 101-0061, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Venere, Rakuten, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Niwa Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.