We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Niwa Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture (Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
1 review
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located, 10 minutes walk to a train station and is very close to Tokyo Dome. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and clean. The best thing about this place is the extraordinary staff, specially the crew who manage the front desk. They made our stay very pleasurable and enjoyable. When we left behind a backpack on a train, with a number of valuables including my passport, they went out of their way to help us by talking to the police and JR and eventually locate the bag. Could not praise the staff enough for their help. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Dipankar M,

Thank you for your kind comments on our rooms, location, and particularly our staff.
It is always a delight to us to know that our efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Thank you again for your kind praise.

Regards,

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    405
    53
    13
    6
See reviews for
211
537
171
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Modern, Japanese design hotel. Room is not big, but you will feel being in Japan!! Just this location is not so convenient, as you need to walk around 7-10 minutes to reach the nearest station. If you are thinking to go to north Tokyo area, it might be good, but to go to area of Tokyo station, shibuya, shinjyuku.. it is not so easy to reach.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Tama 48,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. As you mentioned that you can easily find many places accented by Japanese décor comes from our hotel concept “Modern Japanese”here at the oasis of Tokyo city.
I just would like to tell you that Hotel Niwa Tokyo is conveniently located in near the Rail Station, and Metro Station which both transportation offer you easy access to hte center. For example, It takes only 12 minutes from the JR Suidobashi Station to Shinjyuku for direct line.
As there are JR and Metro stations separated in Tokyo, it may cause you a little bit difficult to find easy way of access. Please ask at the hotel concierge for more details when you are visiting us nest time. We all wish to be in your service again in near future.
Thank you .

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 8 nights at Hotel Niwa on our first trip to Japan and we were not disappointed. The hotel staff were very friendly and even though they have a strict check in time of 3pm, after getting off a red eye and arriving at the hotel at 7am they could clearly see we needed sleep so offered us the first room that came available (paid extra for but it was well worth it!). The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the subway and JR line stations, which enable you to get pretty much anywhere in Tokyo within 20 minutes and a maximum of 2 line changes. This made planning our daily activities a breeze and the hotel staff were always on hand to offer advice.

The rooms aren't massive but there is plenty of room for 2 people to move about. They are very clean and have an excellent ensuite bathroom with very high pressure in the shower, which is a necessity after a day of sightseeing in 30+ C! There is a 'Refresh lounge' on level 3 with cheap laundry facilities and massage chairs, but these are in high demand so make sure you time your washing for quiet periods (we were even 'queuing' to use the dryer at 11pm on a Friday night!).

If you are looking for a clean, quiet hotel away from the hustle and bustle of city life in Tokyo, but close enough that you are in the midst of the madness within a matter of minutes then I would highly recommend Hotel Niwa. I will certainly be looking to stay here next time I am in Tokyo.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Mnicol,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, and for reviewing on TripAdvisor.
We also very appreciate that you have stated lots of positive comments on our location, facilities, and hotel staff, which encourage us to do better performance.
We always seek to meet guests' expectation and satisfaction, so that your feedback also help us to get to know if we are doing right thing.
We wish having your continuous support, and see you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The reviews say it all so I won't repeat myself. I loved the 'boutique' feel of the property and the attention to detail in the rooms. The rooms do struggle to fit two large suitcases and can restrict access but hey it's Tokyo and hotels are on the small side. Bathrooms are extremely functional and had a great (quality) selection of toiletries too. Comfy, firm beds and minimalist Japenese decor. Western style restaurant in my opinion had a very poor menu offering but hey you can't win them all. Easy access to subway / train system. Customer service and staff were professional and engaging. Thanks Niwa for a great stay. PS: don't forget to use the massage chairs!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear BoyZeus,

Thank you for your review, and feedback.
We appreciate to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and as you stated, we are proud of our functional rooms with adequate equipments.
Our concept of Modern Japanese, which you can easily find out in the hotel, becoming quite popular and gaining high reputation among overseas guests.
But, we always keep an eye towards the future and all the new little touches we are adding for next. Please come back to us when you are visiting Tokyo for next time. All the staff here wish to be in your service again.

Best Regards,

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My little sister and I got this hotel on a good deal and loved it! We had been looking to stay in a private room in a hostel but couldn't find anything continuous (we stayed for about a week) so we ended up getting a superior twin non-smoking room here. It wasn't really cheap (around 120 USD/night) but reasonable given the fact that we booked less than 2 weeks before the visit. It was meticulously clean, had a great view, and was in a nice quiet part of town. After being on a busy business trip for 3 weeks before this, this week in Tokyo was lovely with a large part thanks to this place. The housekeepers were so nice and would talk to us using Japanese/English translation slate boards - granted, Japanese people are typically extremely polite, but when you come home to people like this too it does make a difference. The location was perfect for us - it was a quite business/suburban area with enough food options nearby (even for me being a vegetarian) but also residential enough to mesh with the lifestyle of that area. We were worried that it would be too quiet and too far away from other places but the subway/train is SO close (and it's all very safe) so that wasn't an issue. There's also a guy who sold little pressed fresh bread packets right outside the train station each night so it was a perfect welcome home each night too! Check expedia to see if there are any deals! (4 nights paid, fifth free, etc). Also, although the room was small (for American standards) we though it was more than spacious enough for us. We had 4 large suitcases (from the business part of the trip) and they fit in the closets well and still gave us plenty of room which was nice. We would come back and stay here again and I would highly recommend it to others!

Also, make sure you go to the Korakuen gardens which is walking distance from Hotel Niwa - beautiful, peaceful and a nice way to spend a morning or afternoon.

Cons
***The hotel was definitely not fully booked but they wouldn't let us stay pass check out time for an extra hour unless we paid an extra 50 USD for it.
***Work out room has a pretty early closing time. (Either 6 or 8 PM I think) --- BUT, just go running in this city instead, really. It's beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear MelJawa,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, and for reviewing on TripAdvisor.
On the behalf of the team, I would like to say "special thanks" to you for such a lovely comments, and very appreciate for meeting your expectation during your stay.
Your kind comments on our rooms, facilities and particularly our staff would always be a delight to us to know that our efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Thank you again for your kind praise.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed a total of five nights in July and could not have been more pleased. The rooms were clean, modern, beautifully appointed, comfortable, decent-sized by Japan standards and with quality touches--the mirrors have squares that remain defogged when you shower, they give you freshly-laundered pajamas to wear each day, the soaps and shampoos are fine. And the staff are helpful, speak English and very friendly. One clerk greeted our 9-year-old daughter with hand-made origami animals to take as a souvenir. The location was very good - near two convenient subway lines within walking distance of the Tokyo Dome and not far from the Imperial Palace. The only downside was breakfast was not included. But we got (excellent) coffee and pastries from the nearby convenient stores every morning-a small price to pay for such a quality hotel.

We actually had two rooms. One was for my husband and me. The other was for my mother, daughter and niece. They brought a bed in for my niece so there were 3 beds in that room. Both were quite nice and comfortable.

We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home. I appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience during your stay.
Actually, your review and feedback would help us a lot to improve our service, and somewhere encourage our staff to do better performance.
Wishing your continuous support, and will see you again in near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro-Brazil
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Everything positive mentioned on the reviews bellow is 100% true - The Niwa is an Oasis in a calm neighborhood of crazy (and amazing) Tokyo. We had a superior double room (non smoking) and room+bathroom were of a good size. All amenities, towels, lines, etc were of high quality - very clean as well! There is a 24hours shop just two steps from the looby and the subway/train system is 5 minutes away. The guys at reception were always very polite and new everything about how to get along on the confusing transportation system. They have two AMAZING massage chairs so tourists like us can relax a bit after coming back from walking all over town. This is a 4stars with the right price, perfect location, excellent staff and very good rooms - you have found your hotel! Enjoy Tokyo and Japan - we LOVED IT!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Chris,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo during your visiting Japan, and appreciate to have your such a nice comments and recommendation of our hotel.
Your kind comments on our rooms, facilities and particularly our staff would always be a delight to us to know that our efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Thank you again for your kind praise.

Warmest regards

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Address: 1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Niwa Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.