We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Niwa Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture (Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The reasons are so clear why this was awarded Best Hotel 2013; you simply could not fault anything .After arriving quite late in Tokyo we found the hotel easily, only 5min walk from Suidobashi station. The hotel is very calming and relaxing, they have given great consideration especially for the European client in respect of the room. It is a mixture of Western, Scandinavian and Japanese. Most of the rooms are similar in decor but different sizes, ours was on the top floor and fairly large, equipped with everything you need: tea/coffee making facilities(no milk or sugar provided, but there is a convenience store next to the hotel), fridge, and free wired/wireless internet access. After a long day you can enjoy the free massage chairs provided. The hotel is in a good location, and various parts of Tokyo are easily accessible by train. We visited Shibuya, Akihabara, and Asakusa amongst other places. When moving to my next hotel I left some clothing in the wardrobe; the hotel sent it to my next hotel over 300 miles away. I was very impressed by the way they handled everything. I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: choose upper floors for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review, and feedback. We appreciate to hear that you had comfortable and pleasant stay with us. As you stated, we are proud of our concept of Modern Japanese, and rooms offer blend of the Western comfort and Japanese tradition, which has been quite popular and gaining high reputation among overseas guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Thank you again for your kind praise.

Warmest regards

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    451
    58
    15
    7
See reviews for
241
604
191
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel is well located, 5-min walk away from JR Suidobashi station. The area is quite calm and you can find several restaurants 500m away. The room we reserved had a light japanese touch. We didn't have the opportunity to test the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo while your were visiting Japan, and for taking the time to write your review.
It is a pleasure to see that you have valued positively our location and surroundings.
Please try our stylish French dining and traditional Japanese cuisine restaurant on next visiting.

Thank you.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leusden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Niwa for 7 days and were very delighted with the services and the hospitality .
The rooms was very clean and tastefully decorated. The beds were excellent and the location is very close to a JR station and the metro.
In the neighborhood there are plenty of restaurants and there is an "onsen" in the nearby shopping centre.
The prices in Niwa are moderate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home.
We appreciate to hear that you liked the stay with us, and had pleasant time in Tokyo.
Actually, your review and feedback would encourage us a lot and help to improve our service.
We all wish you will be back to visit us again in near future.

Thank you.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a wonderful 4 course Japanese meal in this hotel complete with tiny crab (eaten whole - delicious!). As other travellers have mentioned, the rooms are small - but stylish. The only problem for me was the noise of the air conditioning in our room. I had to keep switching it off to get to sleep and then switching it on again when the heat of the room woke me up. This palaver went on all night. Luckily we were only staying for one night - I couldn't have faced it again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments and we apologize that you were disturbed by the noise of the air conditioning. Your comments have been addressed with the team and we appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know your experience.
We all wish to have your continous support, and will be in your service again in future.

Best regards,

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Nice hotel with great and well mannered staff. Speak good English. Room was small, but it was bigger than some typical hotels in Japan and was very clean. Lots of local restaurants around, cheap but nice seafood. Free wifi was good, unlimited access abs never had a problems. Great location, 5-mins walk to JR train station. Very convenient location. We love it, and will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear KylieLittle

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home. I also appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience and feeling towards our hotel. Hoping to have continuous support from you.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Outstanding hotel. Stayed two nights. The price was terrific value and I felt I was in a five star establishment. Yes, the room may be small but I'm not going to play a round of golf in it. Very stylish room, with the Japanese paper window fittings, superb bed, great breakfast, gracious service. No problem finding a hotel when I come to Tokyo again - this is it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Suppiluiluma,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. It seems that you enjoyed your stay, and also liked food at the restaurant. You may also have found many places accented by Japanese décor comes from our hotel concept “Modern Japanese”.
Once again, thank you so much for your kind comments, and hope to be in your service in near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived at the hotel 3 hrs before check in time.But we got the room after 1 hr of waiting. We we're travelling with a 4 months old baby so it was really convenient.The massage chair,garden and laundry on the 3rd floor was also a plus. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Xhell,

Thank you choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo for your stay in Japan, and taking the time to write your review.
It is a pleasure to see that you have valued positively our facilities, and your recommendation of our hotel is absolutely delighted to read. Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tokyo.

Best regards,

Hotel Niwal Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#9 of 99 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
The Tokyo Station Hotel
#3 of 64 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Address: 1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Odigeo, Otel, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Niwa Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.