We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Niwa Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 101-0061, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good & convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We chose this after researching here on Tripadvisor, I agree with the other reviews that the hotel has a very good location and it is easy to navigate your way around. The rooms were adequate and the shower was the best we had on the whole trip. Slightly disappointed when we were unable to leave our luggage and the hotel failed to inform us of the very frequently used and cheap option of sending luggage ahead - it would have saved us a lot of time & effort. However I would still recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Lillep

Thank you for your comments and we apologize that we did not successfully assisted you for luggage service. Your comments have been addressed with the team and we appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know your experience. We wish you will be back to us again and let us provide better service to you.

With kind regards

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    633
    311
    45
    12
    3
See reviews for
167
414
148
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Big and comfortable rooms with a lot of amenities. The hotel is located close to a JR and a subway station and there are many restaurants and shops in the area. The staff is kind but quite strict with the schedule. We arrived at 13.30 after a 24 hours trip and we had to wait until 15.00 for the room. Anyway, I would recomend it to anyone visiting Tokyo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo while you were visiting Japan, and I was very sorry to hear that we had kept you waiting when you were tired upon your arrival. However, it seems like you had comfortable stay with us, and appreciated you recommendation of us.
We hope to have your continous support, and your next visiting should be soon.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and loved it. double room was spacious but not cheap at $220/night. Stuff is great help in terms of what to do, where to go etc.
Location is good and close to both JR lines as well as metro. Once you understand the system, you can anywhere within 30 minuets or so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Gallsrael,

Thank you for choosing Hotel NIwa Tokyo while you were visiting Japan, and I appreciate that you have taken your time for review and feedback.
As you mentioned, yes we are actually at very good location, closed to both JR and Metoro stations, taking only few minutes to reach to the center of the Tokyo city.
Hoping to have continuous support from you.

Warmest Regards,

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I chose this hotel to stay in Tokyo after reading the numerous great reviews of this hotel. I must say that I had a great stay experience in this conveniently located hotel in Tokyo. Next to a 24 hours convenient store and walking distance to many affordable restaurants and cafes, this hotel is also within walking distance to the train station. I was most impressed with the level of service demonstrated where the staff really took the initiative and effort in assisting all my queries. Another special mention would be the bathroom which was so female-friendly, ie good lighting, provision of essential amenities and power showers! The room is quite small in size but felt cozy, as all features of the room were well designed to maximise the space of the room. Would stay in this hotel again whether for business or leisure in my next trip to Tokyo,

Room Tip: If you are looking for a more spacious room, then you should opt for the higher graded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Amanda,

It was a pleasure to read your wonderful comments. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel during your stay, and seems you had great time here in Japan.
Thank you for your kind comments on our rooms, facilities and particularly our staff. It is always a delight to us to know that our efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Thank you again for your kind praise.

Warmest regards

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had booked this hotel last minute as they had a special for half the price and we assumed the location to be handy, rather close to Tokyo station. We liked the modern design of the hotel and the lovely little garden, however thought that the room and bed were particularly small. Wifi connection in the room was fine. Breakfast wasn't included in the rate and the hotel charged ¥2300 per person, which we thought was too expensive for what you get. It was a standard Western/Japanese style buffet. We also didn't like the location. Tokyo station was further away than we thought, a taxi ride of ¥1500-2000 and there wasn't anything special within walking distance to do. The Tokyo Dome is close by and the Qua Mall, both we didn't like much. You do however have easy connection to the JR Suidobashi Station on the Chuo line. People at the front desk were nice and helpful and spoke good English. All in all we weren't very impressed and wouldn't return as there are many other and better options in Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home.
I appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience and feeling towards our hotel. It was shame that we did not meet your expectations, but we value all feedback, the sense that ıt helps us to ımprove our standards and serve our guests better. We would like to address the issues you have raised.
We wish to be in your service again.

Best regards,

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relation
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Niwa for 5 nights at the end of June 2013. We traveled with our 2 boys, 16 and 12. We stayed in a superior double and the boys in a superior twin. We found the rooms large for Japanese standards, very clean and the king bed extremely comfortable. Our boys also had plenty of room. The rooms do not have any great view to speak of but we only came back to our room in the afternoon for a rest and then at night to sleep so it didn't bother us. The breakfast was amazing (well worth the extra money) and was constantly re-stocked. The only down side was BBC and CCN were the only TV channels in English but we did have free wi fi. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Ms Kumiko Takee was especially helpful and her English was great. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Great location, easy walk to JR station. Near dome city, great for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It was a pleasure to read your wonderful comments from begining to the end. We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel during your stay.Thank you for your kind comments on our rooms, facilities and particularly our staff. It is always a delight to us to know that our efforts are appreciated. I have just passed your comments to my colleague, Kumiko!
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Warmest regards

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel Niwa was a good hotel, but not great. The room was small, but efficient and the bed was small but adequate. I suppose a room of this size is what we should expect from Tokyo, but for the price that we paid we were expecting a bit more. The room had a large window, TV and wifi in the room was included. The room and the lobby featured modern decor, though we felt that the room was dark due to inadequate lighting. The hotel is only minutes from the JR Suidobashi station which allows you to get anywhere in the city quickly. The hotel also has several signs posted on the main roads from the station to help you navigate from the hotel should you arrive by train (I would recommend arriving this way as Suidobashi station is only 3 stops (or so) from Tokyo station where you can get the Shinkansen or the Narita Express). The neighborhood itself is pretty quiet, but has a number of shops, cafes and restaurants, so you have access to lots of things without getting the noise of one of the more busy neighborhoods.

Room Tip: If you are able, spring for the rooms with the king sized beds- I believe they are a little larger a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
As you mentioned, Hotel Niwa Tokyo has an ideal location in aspect of convenience. It is only 5 minutes from the rail and metro station, and there are many shops and restaurants around the hotel.
We also offer variety of room types such as superior, comfort and premium rooms. For more detail about room types, please check with our website homepage.
Once again, thank you for choosing us while you were visiting Tokyo, and hope you will visit us again in near future.
Regards
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Address: 1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 101-0061, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Rakuten, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Niwa Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.