We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free wifi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Niwa Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture (Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Rayleigh
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Free wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Set back from the main road, and a fairly new hotel, so best make sure you have the full address written down and maybe print a map off incase the taxi driver doesn't know it! Beautiful entrance to hotel. Staff speak excellent English and very friendly. Room is average size based on european size rooms and we only had the standard room. Room is well designed and they have used the space well! Room to store our 2 backpacks in wardrobe and our holdall under table. Wifi is free, stays connected sometimes a little slow. Tv has 3 english channels. There is a shop next door to the hotel selling water, snacks etc, and also an ATM in there too (tip: if you have a MasterCard you need to go to the 7-11 store 5 mins up the road just opposite Mcdonalds). Some small Japanese restaurants on the main road, and the Tokyo Dome is 5 min walk away. Hotel can lend you umbrellas if it rains. 

Also has a refresh lounge, with vending machines, massage chairs, small garden and the gym, as well as laundry machines.

Nearest metro is JR Suidobashi. Can take you anywhere you need to go!

If you book through Agoda make sure you have selected the correct number of people per room - I accidentally only booked for 1, so when we arrived had to pay an extra ¥4620 per night for the extra person!

 A really nice hotel, very quiet, and built with earthquake resistant technology. 

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy that you had a good time with us.
When you visit Tokyo next time, please stay with us.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    404
    53
    13
    6
See reviews for
211
537
170
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Free wi-fi in the room was what swung it for me. Even though it was a bit patchy, it was invaluable to us! Room was small, but had all the amenities you'd need: temperature control, kettle, fridge, safe, desk, wardrobe, slippers, pyjamas etc., The iron and ironing boards are stored on the floor next to the lift and we had no trouble getting one when we needed it. Bed was a bit smaller than usual, so there was a bit of elbowing going on! Lots of lovely pillows though.

We found the location excellent -- a 5 minute walk to Suidobashi station on the JR line. For those coming from Narita airport, we bought a SUICA card from the JR station there, took the Skyliner to Ueno station, then transferred to the JR Keihin-Tohoku line to Akihabara, then transferred to the JR Chuo/Sobu line to Suidobashi. If you have a JR pass, you would only need to buy the Skyliner ticket. A little tip as well if you're transferring from the Skyliner to the Subway system... when you go through the gates you insert your Skyliner ticket and then tap on with your SUICA card in one movement through the gates. Seems like lots of people were getting caught out with this!

The 7-11 next door was a great place to get the little incidentals like milk you needed.

Staff were excellent, had excellent English and there were 3 English TV channels as well.

Highly recommended for your next trip to Tokyo!

Oh, we also had a minor earthquake while we were there and only felt the slightest movement -- yay for modern technology!

Room Tip: If you're used to a queen size bed, it might be worth upgrading from the Standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Please highly recommend to your friends about our hotel.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I spent 4 nights at Hotel Niwa in early April and definitely enjoyed my stay. The room was clean and efficient and had some nice design touches. The hotel had easy access to two train stations and though it may not be in the most exciting part of town (e.g. Shinjuku, Shibuya) there are plenty of restaurants, cafes, shops and bars around to fit most people's needs. The staff at the hotel was pleasant and helpful. My only complaint was as a solo traveler, I would have liked a bit more of a social atmosphere like a lobby bar, but other than that, I was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our very convenient location!
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming again for your next visit to Tokyo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsJD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Hotel Niwa exceeded my expectations. The room, though smallish, was beautiful and spotless. The bathroom was a good size and it had all amenities (toothbrush, toothpaste, combs, hairdryers, razors with shave cream etc) No moisteriser though. Loved the complimentary pajamas. The bed was massive. I would have also liked some instant coffee (they only had different types of tea in the room).
The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The relaxation room with the massage chairs were a bonus.
I agree with the above comments - forget the hotel breakfast and go to CHOCO-CRO around the corner. Loved their hot chocolates and croissants. The hotel dinner was also very expensive 4500 yen for small serve of beef.
There's also a convenience store next door to grab what ever else you need (like instant coffee)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
When you visit Tokyo next time, please stay with us.
All our helpful staff we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had no idea what to expect from this business hotel but were really impressed. The hotel is modern, and more stylish than most. The staff were very helpful. The location worked out well for sight-seeing and was also very convenient for Narita airport - transfer time was just over an hour using the train from Suidobashi and then Sky Line from Nippori. Nice and close to Ueno park too for the incredible cherry blossom. Finally the room pricing was very reasonable given the quality of the hotel and the central location. No criticisms at all - highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy that you had a good time with us.
Please highly recommend to your friends about our hotel.
When you visit Tokyo next time, please stay with us.
All our helpful staff we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I would echo all the other 5 star reviews. This is a great find and is outstanding value for money in an expensive city.

The hotel is very very clean and well-kept. I had a standard room and there was ample space for me as a solo traveller, but if you are travelling in a couple it would be worth upgrading to one of the bigger rooms as there isn't much storage space for two people. Rooms are clean and modern and have free fast wifi.

I loved the massage chairs after a day of sightseeing. I also loved the Japanese touches to the hotel and rooms so you do actually feel like you are in Japan rather than just a hotel that could be anywhere in the world.

Location is good - close to metro and JR lines so you can get anywhere easily, but it is located off a main street so bring a Japanese map with you so that the taxi driver will be able to find it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy that you had a good time with us.
Please recommend to your friends about our hotel and massage chairs.
When you visit Tokyo next time, please stay with us.
We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Great Hotel, located near the suidobashi JR Train station (7 min walk), so using the Train (JR Yamanote line) we were able to go everywhere in Tokyo and the outskirts at no effort at all(we had a 7 day JR PASS-a must have for any international traveller in Japan).Stunning decoration, all very ryokan like, but with all the perks of a western style hotel.Everything is new and the rooms are not big but big enough (despite my wife complaining about the small closet space).But for a 6foot 2 Portuguese man, i was never out of leg room or bed space :New pajamas, toothbrush and slippers everynight -TOTO TOILETS (a must see) an effective earthquake absortion structure (a medium quake on our first night woke us Up-just tokyo saying Hello)-Friendly staff, they went out of their way to accomodate us in everyway-like everyone else in tokyo they speak english but are not fluent-but they aim to please .Massage chairs on the 3rd floor were a must see. Located off the main streets, it was very relaxing to come home everynight to the very zen like decorated space that gave you some tranquility on this bustling city that never sleeps-great view from our room on the 14th floor.Wifi and cable LAN was perfect for keeping in touch with family and friends.Considering Tokyo is the 2nd Most expensive city in the world, this hotel was very cost effective , with all the service of a 5 star hotel and a 3 star price tag!CONS: breakfast was very expensive and we never ate there/ we could only check in at 3 pm , having arrived at 11 AM , after 14 hour flight, typical japanese in-the-box / by-the-book thinking.BUT a great experience and a must go Hotel for all Tokyo visitors on a real person budget !would go there again!

Forget the hotel breakfast at 23 dollars a piece, go to CHOCO CRO (a cafe/bakery) , 5 min walk from the hotel going towards suidobashi station (7 min walk form the hotel), and 2 persons can eat a very delicious coffee and croisssants (3 of them-and Big) for under 10 Dollars !And the staff is great!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comment, se are located near the JR Train station, we are so happy that you had a good time with us.
When you visit Tokyo next time, please stay with us.
We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Address: 1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Niwa Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.