We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best quality of facilities and services in Tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-8-3 Marunouchi | Marunouchi Trust Tower Main, Chiyoda 100-8283, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Probably the best quality of facilities and services in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I ve stayed at many hotels in Tokyo but in terms of facilities inside it is the best I ve found so far.

Positive: great location in front of the tokyo station. Bed is super comforable, and the bathroom is nice. The gym offers gym clothes and shoes. The bar lounge is big and nice.

Negatives: you have to get raind on if its raining to go to a coffee shop or convenient store unlike Mandarin, Conrad or Grand Hyatte.

Like any other hotels in tokyo, it d be difficult to find a room not facing another building. Howeverit s not facing another building too close (but probably the train station) even in a lower floor. while if you stay at a Grand Hyatte in Roppongi you have to face another building right next to you unless you stay at the highest floors.

The view is better at Conrad as you can find a room not facing another building or the primarily the park or sea even in a lower floor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    149
    46
    20
    8
See reviews for
213
266
60
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

From the extremely helpful and courteous staff, to the beautiful and luxurious facilities and the excellent Horizon Lounge, the Shangri-La Tokyo was the best hotel experience I've ever had in over 40 years of travelling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I'm usually not one to writ reviews ( this is my first), but after staying at this hotel, I must say that I was inspired to do so. I've traveled to a lot of countries, (I have even stayed at the Shangri- La before) and while many of them were very good, I have never felt as welcome as I did at the Shangri- La in Tokyo.

The hotel is beautiful and very conveniently located near the Tokyo railway station, which makes travel within the city extremely easy. The decor is classy and the room we stayed in was spacious and gorgeous, with a lovely view of the city outside. I am generally rather picky about the bathrooms in the places I stay in, and I have to say, that this one did not disappoint.

As nice as the rest of the hotel was, I was actually most impressed by the staff there. They were courteous and friendly and I have never met a more efficient group of employees. Whether it was our flight details, train tickets or information about the city, they took care of everything! We were even provided with an escort service to drop and pick us up at the station, whenever we needed to travel. From the concierge to those who assisted with our luggage, their efficiency is truly commendable.

All in all, I had a wonderful stay at this hotel and would definitely visit again, in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our room had a beautiful view of the city. The huge window provided us with an excellent view of the cityscape. We could look down on Tokyo Station and see the trains coming and going all day and night. The hotel itself was 5 stars. Unbelievable class and attention to details. The best part of this hotel for me was the location to Tokyo Station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is 20 meter from main station, and 300 meter from imperial park. The view is superb. The staff service is excellent, like i never seen, and the rooms totally in perfection. Piano at the hotel bar, cooking excellent.

Room Tip: The curtains are amazing, night and day curtains. Shower pressure, better than anything I saw. The c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Gorgeous rooms and modern Asian design. All persons I encountered were exceptionally well informed, helpful, articulate, and they showed a high enthusiasm for their hotel and roles. Entering and leaving a hotel which begins at the 27th floor is a bit odd.

Room Tip: Easterly or South Easterly view is less than NorthEasterly view, but I think equally fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Words cannot describe how wonderful this hotel is. Our every need was attended to quickly and graciously. The food, service, rooms.....everything was perfect!!! This hotel goes far beyond any 5 star hotel that I've ever stayed at before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
The Tokyo Station Hotel
#4 of 65 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 98 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#9 of 65 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Address: 1-8-3 Marunouchi | Marunouchi Trust Tower Main, Chiyoda 100-8283, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The splendid Shangri-La Hotel conveniently located adjacent to Tokyo Station. Guests will appreciate Shangri-La's unique brand of hospitality and service, as well as the very finest facilities and amenities while staying within the comfort and warmth of this luxurious Tokyo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel, Hotel.de and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Shangri La Tokyo
Shangri La Chiyoda
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.