We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-8-3 Marunouchi | Marunouchi Trust Tower Main, Chiyoda 100-8283, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

From the extremely helpful and courteous staff, to the beautiful and luxurious facilities and the excellent Horizon Lounge, the Shangri-La Tokyo was the best hotel experience I've ever had in over 40 years of travelling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    135
    45
    20
    8
See reviews for
196
248
59
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I'm usually not one to writ reviews ( this is my first), but after staying at this hotel, I must say that I was inspired to do so. I've traveled to a lot of countries, (I have even stayed at the Shangri- La before) and while many of them were very good, I have never felt as welcome as I did at the Shangri- La in Tokyo.

The hotel is beautiful and very conveniently located near the Tokyo railway station, which makes travel within the city extremely easy. The decor is classy and the room we stayed in was spacious and gorgeous, with a lovely view of the city outside. I am generally rather picky about the bathrooms in the places I stay in, and I have to say, that this one did not disappoint.

As nice as the rest of the hotel was, I was actually most impressed by the staff there. They were courteous and friendly and I have never met a more efficient group of employees. Whether it was our flight details, train tickets or information about the city, they took care of everything! We were even provided with an escort service to drop and pick us up at the station, whenever we needed to travel. From the concierge to those who assisted with our luggage, their efficiency is truly commendable.

All in all, I had a wonderful stay at this hotel and would definitely visit again, in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our room had a beautiful view of the city. The huge window provided us with an excellent view of the cityscape. We could look down on Tokyo Station and see the trains coming and going all day and night. The hotel itself was 5 stars. Unbelievable class and attention to details. The best part of this hotel for me was the location to Tokyo Station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is 20 meter from main station, and 300 meter from imperial park. The view is superb. The staff service is excellent, like i never seen, and the rooms totally in perfection. Piano at the hotel bar, cooking excellent.

Room Tip: The curtains are amazing, night and day curtains. Shower pressure, better than anything I saw. The c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Gorgeous rooms and modern Asian design. All persons I encountered were exceptionally well informed, helpful, articulate, and they showed a high enthusiasm for their hotel and roles. Entering and leaving a hotel which begins at the 27th floor is a bit odd.

Room Tip: Easterly or South Easterly view is less than NorthEasterly view, but I think equally fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Words cannot describe how wonderful this hotel is. Our every need was attended to quickly and graciously. The food, service, rooms.....everything was perfect!!! This hotel goes far beyond any 5 star hotel that I've ever stayed at before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Luxury at it's finest - I couldn't fault Shangri-La from the moment I stepped into its entrance. I was lucky to be upgraded - and what a sight I was greeted with: the Tokyo Skytree was in view amongst the beautiful skyline of Tokyo.

The room was clean and spacious with a beautiful bathroom complete with a contemporary waterfall shower and in-built bath overseeing a spectacular panorama of the city skyline. Free wifi and a host of world channels on the TV made the stay that much more comfortable.

Breakfast was gorgeous and the menu quite varied - something for everyone. I was particularly enamoured with the various fruit juices and muesli!

My flight was relatively early in the morning and knowing the enormity of Tokyo station, decided to check out early. Although last minute, the concierge offered me to be escorted by a delightful bell boy all the way to my platform and carriage!

From the concierge to the beautiful king size beds and a spectacular view to boot, I enjoyed every second of my stay. My first and definitely not my last - will return when I am next back in Japan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Address: 1-8-3 Marunouchi | Marunouchi Trust Tower Main, Chiyoda 100-8283, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The splendid Shangri-La Hotel conveniently located adjacent to Tokyo Station. Guests will appreciate Shangri-La's unique brand of hospitality and service, as well as the very finest facilities and amenities while staying within the comfort and warmth of this luxurious Tokyo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Shangri La Tokyo
Shangri La Chiyoda
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.