We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am not impressed, it is still not the best!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-8-3 Marunouchi | Marunouchi Trust Tower Main, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-8283, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I am not impressed, it is still not the best!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I happen to stay here for a week on a business trip and the experience is good..not the best as it is made out in other reviews.

The hotel location is superb located right on top of Tokyo station. Rooms are nice, well designed keeping human comfort in mind.

Breakfast is nice and has lot of variety.

The service is just about okay, it does not boast par excellence as it is made out to be. I happen to extend my stay here. My initial stay was paid by my organisation, so while checking out I asked them of the remaining amount. The reception said all is taken care and no need to pay. Once i am back to Mumbai I get a email saying I have not paid for the trip. They asked for email asking to debit my card, which they did. However they have sent the receipts via ordinary post and are yet to reach me (even after 1.5 months)..I was suppose to get it reimbused, which does not look to be a case now. I have sent them reminders but they were very quick to respond when the money was to be debited, now they are not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLTY2012, 支配人 at Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear VWOpines

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo, and for taking the time to share your comments with us. I do regret that you had an unpleasant experience during your stay. Should you have any further comments regarding your experience, please feel free to contact me directly via: socialmedia.sltyl@shangri-la.com as I would be happy to gain more information from you.
In the meantime I thank you again for your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

With kind regards

Jens Moesker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    98
    35
    14
    5
See reviews for
131
185
49
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We (family of 4 with 2 young children) recently returned to the Shangri-La Hotel after a two year hiatus (stayed at the Tokyo Peninsula last year) and everything we originally enjoyed about the property is still intact.

Favorite characteristics remain the same: clean comfortable rooms, excellent service/hospitality, convenience (daimaru, tokyo station, ginza). I've nothing to add at this point other than we will continue to patronize for as long as they provide this level of excellence.

See you next year!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The attention detail is superb , simply the best hotel group and that includes the Four Seasons. I stayed for three nights and its in the perfect location for the business district. If I was a tourist I would probably consider the Palace hotel due to the location. ( on other occasions stayed at the imperial , outdated and still expensive)

The rest has been mentioned before !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed at the Shangri-La Tokyo for the first time last week for two nights on business.

Very impressive and alround enjoyable experience! The location is fantastic right next to Tokyo station, a short walk to the buzz of the Ginza strip and nearby a number of shopping centres and offices. I also enjoyed an early morning walk around the Imperial Palance one morning which is not far away.

My check in was very smooth and efficient - and I was very pleased to be offered an early check in at 530am without any charge or fuss (unlike my visit to the Conrad in Tokyo this week - review coming).

The rooms are classic Shangri-La - tasteful decor, very well equipped and nothing significant I could fault. The rooms are spacious as is the shower/tub area, the beds are heavenly, the desk and chair very practical, nice tv with bose sound system and the automated toilet was a quirky reminder i was in Tokyo!

I only had breakfast at the cafe - service is great, food ok, but the buffet spread a bit limited which was surprising and disappointing. Room service breakfast was also very good and well presented.

The pool is a little small but has a nice view, same with the gym which has several cardio machines and small selection of weights. It was a bit crowded one morning with 6-7 people in there at the same time but does the job. The locker rooms with sauna, spa etc were well outfitted.

Finally, I really want to highlight the service - every single member of staff was extremely polite and I've walked a huge fan of this hotel!


Room service is efficient, food is very good

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the Imperial Palace, the room is more interested than the Ginza facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This is - as many other reviews already say - an excellent place to stay. You are lucky if you are able to stay here because of the overall highest level of service and infrastructure. The views are really breathtaking but so are the rooms: large with beyond-the-ordinary amenities and comfort.

Definitely among the top hotels in the world, also if you have seen a lot of places before!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I travel a lot with my job and have stayed in lots of hotels around the globe, but particularly in the Middle East and Asia. This hotel is probably one of the greatest in the world, in terms of its standard of service and the amenities available.
Situated right next to Tokyo station, around 45 minutes from Narita airport, and about 25 from Haneda, the hotel is right in the centre of the action.
From the moment you arrive, nothing is too much trouble for the fantastic staff, who are incredibly polite, charming and attentive.I would recommend the not cheap, but excellent ,car service from either airport, which saves a lot of hassle and whisks you in some style to the hotel. The lobby on the 28th floor has an excellent bar, with great views over the city. The 'standard' rooms are all really modern and sizeable, offering every comfort - Bathrobes,slippers,pyjamas are all standard offerings of course.Free internet,decent flat screen TV with plenty of fantastic bed, great decor and another great view over the Tokyo skyline (my room was on the 35th floor). The bathroom is huge, with a separate wet room, with the biggest rainfall shower I have seen certainly.
Only ate breakfast on my first visit last year, which was a buffet style, but huge choice of offering and excellent service again.
I was in Asia for two weeks,visiting several different countries, and this was the finest hotel I stayed in by far - This was my second visit but will definitely be my regular stop from now on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I use top of the line omazz & sealy mattress at my house . So I know what it is like to sleep in a good bed .

At shangri-la is definitely better ! Maybe the best in the world. Of all hotel that I ve been to in the past 20 years.

One of best amenities, best bathrobe , also given to use best pajamas , slippers

Only bad thing is rate is high for tokyo.. And when rate is high in tokyo... It is highest in the world

But if u prefer good sleep & good location... This is it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Address: 1-8-3 Marunouchi | Marunouchi Trust Tower Main, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-8283, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The splendid Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo is the newest Tokyo luxury hotel, with a convenient location adjacent to Tokyo Station. Guests will appreciate Shangri-La’s unique brand of hospitality and service, as well as the very finest facilities and amenities while staying within the comfort and warmth of this luxurious Tokyo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Shangri La Tokyo
Shangri La Chiyoda
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.