We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elio Locanda Italiana

Elio Locanda Italiana
2-5-2 Kojimachi, Chiyoda 102-0083 , Tokyo Prefecture (Yotsuya / Iidabashi)
+81 3-3239-6771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4,488 Restaurants in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Yotsuya / Iidabashi
California
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We opted for the top shelf course menu... which was a bit over the top as we were really craving more traditional Italian, not SO gourmet (truffles, etc... was not what we had in mind for that night). Having said that; it was beautifully prepared and presented. The dishes were all very good.
What set the evening apart was the service.
The place was very busy. But, by the end of the meal, we were on a first name basis with our waiter, the manager and were exchanging jokes with the guys in the kitchen (visible from our table).
It was such a fun evening, and will not be forgotten. I don't get in to Tokyo as much as I used to, but I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    29
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic Italian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a last minute selection on our second last night in Tokyo and I spotted the raving reviews on TA so we rang up hoping for a reservation on the same night. We were lucky since it was a Saturday evening and when we turned up late after getting lost they kindly seated us in the super busy restaurants full of local and expat diners in a very convivial atmosphere.

We were swiftly seated and given welcome glasses of prosecco, followed by a basket of assorted breads. Whilst the menu looked delicious do not hesitate to take recommendations from the super professional waitstaff. For appetizer we shared a grilled stuffed squid of olives with roasted potatoes - highlight of our night, followed by special pastas of lamb ragout and porcini and mains of scampi and sea bream. The fish was unevenly cooked but well seasoned and the parts that were not overlooked melted in mouth. All portions that came out seemed to be similarly sized regardless of whether it was a main or appetizer so bring your appetites. We finished with desserts of blood orange sorbet and a liquorice mousse - both of which were excellent and if we weren't so stuffed we would have ordered something else from their substantial dessert wagon and probably dessert wines to boot!

We had such a lovely night at this very homely and honest to Italy flavours that we wouldn't hesitate to return. The staff are all amazing and really knowledgeable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We dined here for several years when we lived in Japan and for us it is the best in Tokyo. Great food, great service, and a family atmosphere. There are more expensive Italian restaurants in Tokyo but they are stuffy, impersonal, and just don't have the same atmosphere. Returned recently for dinner and everything was identical, the food and the atmosphere. Can't wait to return, maybe next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Elio was one of my favorite restaurants when I lived in Tokyo. I used to go there at least once a week if not more often. Now, I make a point of having at least one meal at Elio each time I am back in Tokyo on business or for pleasure.

Food is great and service is attentive but not intrusive. I know most of the people who work there and they treat me as a friend, not as a customer. That is what makes the difference between a good restaurant and a "your place."

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eating well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I found dinner at Elio Locanda Italiana restaurant to be a delicious and enjoyable affair. Service was excellent, the food even better.
A full green salad with lots of arugula and tomatoes, ricotta cheese with juicy tomatoes--to die for, sizzling pork topped with an anchovy sauce,
and the best tiramisu this side of the Rubicon. I'll look forward next dinner at Elio Locanda!! Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elio Locanda Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Elio Locanda Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elio Locanda Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.