We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of the b ochanomizu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added the b ochanomizu to your Saves list
the b ochanomizu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-7-5 Kandaawajicho, Chiyoda 101-0063, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #40 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
4.0 of 5 stars 77 Reviews
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Had 4 night stays in this hotel. We reserve a non-smoking room online but end up still getting a smoking room instead. They compensate by upgrading into bigger room. The size of our room very comfortable. Not sure about other room. So I guess this is a common problem for this hotel for giving a smoking room too. Wi-fi not available in our room and lobby area and not so convenient for us.

Our room is at the top floor and at the corner, not sure why there is some sort of machine noise coming from next buildng but just a minor bearable sound on and off. Still manage to get a good night sleep for us.

Basically room is clean , looks new and they change the bedsheets daily.
The location is just 2 mins walk from Awajichio station and very convenient and quite centralised to all places of interest in Tokyo rather than to stay in Shinjuku area. This saves a lot of travelling time from point to point. But if you are more keen to visit Ameyoko Street ,Ueno Park, Zoo, Asakura-Odaiba (specially Sakura season, stay nearby Ueno Station is better. Ueno is easily acessible from Narita Airport thru Keisei Ueno. ( Direct and hassle free and cheaper mode of transport too). Staying near Ueno,Ginza line to avoid the need to transfer train is a good idea too.

Airport bus will just drop us at North Entrance of Marunuochi Line and we have to take to Awajichio, 2 stops away. (Just walk across the main road towards JR line and take the underpass to Marunuochi line(red)). The hotel just behind Tully , take the small lane and turn left.
I suggest a 24 inches luggage bag for mobility and easier to store in their locker in the train station at Y500.

We can walk around 22 mins to Ameyoko street and Ueno Park as well from this hotel.
Breakfast quite decent, scramble eggs are good but same daily menu.
The Aunty that served the breakfast was very friendly.
Good Cofee machine on the lobby area and free flow anytime.

Locker available if you wanna leave your bag and check out earlier and return for luggage later.

I can say this hotel value for money allthough it might not be cheapest alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room or non smoking room. Ask for Air - refresherner spray if no choice and op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ochanomizu, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear SakuraMadness

Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts about the b ochanomizu. We sincerely apologize that we were not able to get you a non-smoking room. We do not know where the noise you mentioned came from so we will investigate to improve the situation. As you mentioned, our location is very close to Awajicho station and the Tokyo Metro Subway Lines and the JR lines are very convenient to access many of the popular Tokyo sights. Thank you for your kudos about the coffee complimentarily available in the lobby and the b breakfast. We will try to improve and change the selection. We do hope you will be back for a longer stay next time! Thanks again for your review!

Sincerely,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    25
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
18
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The "b" chain includes a number of hotels in Tokyo, and a few dotted around the country. They're business hotels, but up to date, efficient, and clean. They're well marketed, and you pay a small premium over a non-branded hotel, so they won't be the cheapest, but still good value for money.

Finding the hotel the first time was a challenge. Not only is it on a side street, but it's set back from the street. Even with a full address and GPS, the taxi took a couple of passes to find it. Print out and bring the location map on the website! Apart from that, the location is good if you're going to be travelling widely around Tokyo - it's close to 3 or 4 subway lines and a couple of JR train lines, so accessibility is excellent. Note that you're slightly closer to Ueno than Tokyo station, so for the airport, use the Keisei Ueno line not the JR Narita Express, as it's faster.

Check was efficient and easy. They were offering discounts through some loyalty card, which I didn't have, so adjusted the room rate instead. I didn't test the staff's English but a non-Japanese speaker would be welcomed just as well I suspect. They have maps and area information available.

I booked a double room for more space, but it was still, as expected, quite compact. It was in a corner so an odd shape which I liked, tho' I'm not sure what a feng shui master would have thought! It had all the standard features of a business hotel: wired internet (free and fast), kettle, fridge, good quality unit bath... nothing remarkable, all clean, all in good working order. The desk was a reasonable size for working, although the lighting could have been better. There was no view (well, there was, but it was of a wall...) but then in a budget city hotel I wasn't expecting a view. The bed was comfortable and I slept well.

There's no gym, and you're in the middle of built-up Tokyo, so your morning run will be along city streets. The only peripheral facility was a public computer in the lobby, and an espresso machine (very welcome!). There is only one elevator, so at peak times (mostly first thing in the morning) expect a bit of a wait.

Breakfast was included in the price, but to be honest wasn't great. I'd have preferred to pay JPY1,000 less, and go out for a coffee shop breakfast. There was white bread, blister-pack jams, 2-3 unappealing hot items, and so-so coffee. It wasn't bad, and I've often had worse, but just nothing to get excited about.

Check out was fine, and they provide free luggage storage lockers if you need to leave your things.

If you're on a modest budget, want somewhere clean and reliable to sleep, and will be visiting different areas of Tokyo (or need to be in Kanda!), this is ideal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b ochanomizu, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear hoboesque
Thank you for taking the time to post your response on your stay at the b ochanomizu. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again.
It really is a wonderful area, close to the ski shop area, book shops of Kanda and the music centres. There are many sales to be had in the area and it is always a great place to pick up a bargain - and so much variety.
In addition to this there is easy to access the whole of Tokyo with the subway lines and JR station nearby.
We look forward to your return visit to the b ochanomizu.
Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

Place was great :) all the staff were very friendly and helpful! Always got a nice warm welcome when you entered the hotel. Room v clean and had everything you needed. Breakfast was basic but hit the spot in the morning. Location was perfect ! V close to the underground. Felt v safe in this area. Would definitely stay again!
Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ochanomizu, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear key-eat

Thank you for staying at the b ochanomizu and for taking some time to write a review for us. We' re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We try our best to provide the best customer service and the clean and comfortable room so we're happy to know you are satisfied.
Thank you again for your comment. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We booked this hotel as it was a reasonable price and was located very close to the Tokyo underground system.

When we arrived the four of us were jet lagged and incredibly culture shocked so the warm and friendly greeting when we walked through the door was really appreciated. In fact, the staff at the hotel were incredible throughout the stay. Every morning, afternoon and evening we were greeted by the staff and when we had questions these were answered instantly and in perfect English.

This hotel was a bargain given that we had wifi and breakfast included. The breakfast was one of the best buffet style breakfasts I have had in a business hotel. It is also located very close to a number of restaurants, bars and convenience stores, which made it a good base for us.

I should point out that this hotel is designed for business people. This means that the rooms are relatively small. However it was perfect for our stay and we would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideyuki_Yanagi, フロント オフィス マネージャー at the b ochanomizu, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam Laurasbobbins

Thank you for comments and for choosing to stay at the b ochanomizu on your recent visit.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the good location and the service from the team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them.

The hotel is within walking distance to several trains and subway stations making it easy to get all around Tokyo.
But as you know, there is also so much close-by – including a variety of restaurants and the famous book-shop, music stores and the ski and sports shops of Kanda.

It is our goal at the hotel to meet and exceed our guest expectations, and we are pleased to have succeeded by delivering excellent hospitality during your visit.

Please feel free to contact me if I can assist you in the future.
Once again thank-you and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Front Office Manager
the b ochanomizu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The staff at this small hotel were wonderful - reception staff couldn't do enough for us. We had a double bedroom; they are small however they have everthing you need including a trouser press! The Japanese just seem to be very smart and efficient about putting things together and making it all work - the small, very clean and efficient bath/shower/toilet room is a good example.
The housekeeping service in the hotel was very, very good - everything was spotlessly clean. All in all I would certainly recommend this hotel - we loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideyuki_Yanagi, フロント オフィス マネージャー at the b ochanomizu, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam penepolly

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit and for taking time to send your valuable comments.
We are glad you appreciated the housekeeping service provided by the team and the efforts of the Reception Team - they certainly take great pride in hotel and make sure our guests are always satisfied. We will be sure to pass your comment on to them and will continue to provide excellent hospitality.
Once again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Front Office Manager
the b ochanomizu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

The hotel is a little tricky to find, closer to Awajicho station than Ochanomizu stn. Get familiar with the map before you show up! I found a pocket compass helpful in the Tokyo subway! The hotel is a small place with mostly business travellers. The room was a reasonable size (considering we were expecting something really tiny) no problems moving around with our big luggage! The breakfast is pretty good, with a decent selection. Try the salad, but I'd skip the eggs. They have good coffee in the lobby, internet, and a really handy luggage store for day tripping after you check out. Really good value for a place like Tokyo!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Hotel had no fancy amenities but did have a laundry (which we didn't look at) and a free computer in the lobby as well as wifi. The room was small but clean and bright, with a very comfortable bed, modern bathroom and flat-screen TV. Staff spoke OK English. Very handy to several metro stations and eateries and a 10-minute walk to Electric City. Breakfast was nothing special but very handy as there were no obvious alternatives nearby. We arrived early and, unlike other hotels we have stayed at, they charged us extra for the early check-in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to the b ochanomizu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b ochanomizu

Address: 1-7-5 Kandaawajicho, Chiyoda 101-0063, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b ochanomizu 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your the b ochanomizu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Ochanomizu Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the b ochanomizu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.