We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business, with some caveats” 3 of 5 stars
Review of KKR Hotel Tokyo

Save Saved
You added KKR Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KKR Hotel Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-4-1 Otemachi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0004, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 58 hotels in Chiyoda
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good for business, with some caveats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed at the KKR for 8 nights out of 10 during a recent trip to Japan on a fellowship, so I got to know the hotel quite well. The place was certainly serviceable, and probably 3.5 stars would be more accurate, but a few minor problems keep me from bumping it up to the elusive four star "very good" category.

The location of the hotel is definitely a plus. It is located right near the Imperial Palace, and indeed from the restaurant on the 12th floor you can look right into the gardens. Definitely a nice view, and a great place to go walking/jogging in the morning. Located right beneath the hotel is the Tokyo Subway (Tozai line) so that you can easily hop on the metro and ride around town. There is a food court type area located around the hotel, and it's walking distance from nice restaurants (and karaoke, if that's your thing).

The staff was friendly and helpful. In another review someone complained about the English, but I (as someone who speaks no Japanese) was always able to find an employee to help me. The concierge staff was particularly pleasant, helping with everything from locating an ATM to finding out information on a baseball game to changing money.

Breakfast at the Fuyo restaurant was nice, although very repetitive. I think a little variety in the selection would have been nice, although I suppose they don't generally anticipate guests staying there for eight days at a time. Nonetheless, if you have extended business to do at the hotel, keep that in mind.

I found rooms to be somewhat small, although certainly workable. I would not, however, want to spend a lot of time inside. The beds were pretty hard; I normally like a more rigid mattress, but this was too much even for me.

One major problem was the lack of good Wifi, particularly on the 15th floor. For the first part of my trip (I checked out for two nights then checked back in) I was on the top floor and shut out of Wifi. I had to go all the way down to the lobby in order to get a signal, and that one was unsecured. My colleagues below me on the 14th floor had a signal. When I checked back in and was given a room on the 13th, I had a signal. It appears, therefore, that the 15th floor is a dead zone. This hotel seems to cater more as a business hotel (given room size and what-not, I'd struggle to use this as a tourist point) and therefore reliable Wifi seems extremely important. I think the hotel really needs to address this issue.

Overall, I did enjoy my stay here. Staff was nice, location pretty good, and food okay (while repetitive). However, after a few nights, you begin to pick up on a bunch of things that could be better.

Room Tip: Avoid the 15th floor if possible; it's a dead zone with no Wifi service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKR_Hotel_Tokyo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at KKR Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review.

We must apologise for the difficulties you experienced with the WiFi coverage.
Unfortunately, during your visit, we had recently installed a new WiFi network and we were experiencing teething problems. These have now been resolved and the WiFi network is now fully operational in all the guest rooms and the lobby on the 1st floor.

We would also like to thank you for your opinion regarding breakfast.
We try to make small changes to the breakfast menu every day, especially in order to cater for long-term guests. At present, we change ways to cook eggs and serve different Japanese dishes every day. However, as pointed out in your review, these changes can be quite subtle. This is now being reviewed by the management who are considering further changes.

Regarding beds, we use a brand which has excellent reputations to help you sleep well. However, if you have any difficulties, please contact the reception by 6pm. Our housekeepers will be happy to help you with this matter.

We are very pleased to hear your comments regarding services offered by our staff members. Most of our reception staff speak good English, and welcome the opportunity to assist guests with enquries.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at KKR Hotel Tokyo and taking time to post your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    57
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
12
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ibaraki, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good scenery , double bed with large width, clean room, adequate amenity goods, comfortable pajama, wired internet connection, blackout curtain. They scored high point.
Noise by air conditioner, close of almost restaurants & bar on Sat,Sun and national holiday.
They scored low points.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKR_Hotel_Tokyo, FRONT DESK at KKR Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

First of all, We apologise for the trouble you expenened with the air conditioner.
We will inspect the condition of the air conditioner in the room and make sure
that the problem will not happen again.

The restaurants in the hotel are used for wedding receptions at weekends.
however, the japanese restaurant is an exception and it is open at weekends as well .

Thenk you for staying at KKR HOTEL TOKYO.
We hope you enjoyed your stay , and we all look forward to seeing you again .

Thank you
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walvis Bay, Namibia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at the hotel booked through Agoda based on its description and the location - it is indeed handy for the Imperial Palace an dthe rooms are small but ok...and there it ends. Only the Japanese restaurant was open at the weekend (but it was ok!). Asked the staff to book a taxi to the airport for an early flight in the morning - concierge called at 2000 to say he had not managed to book one yet...what he did nto say was that he was giving up! luckily managed to get one in the morning but could have been different!
Give this one a miss and stay at the Prince just arounf the corner!
and no gym!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKR_Hotel_Tokyo, Front Desk at KKR Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir.

Thank you for your review.

First of all , we apologise for the inconvenience we caused you.The staff concerned did not
act appropnately and he has been informed of your comment.
We also have reminded all the staff members to help our guests in the best way they can.

The restaurants in the hotel are used for wedding receptions at weekends, and as you pointed out , the japanese resturant is an exception . we hope you enjoyed the meel .

Thank you for staying at the KKR hotel tokyo , we very much appreciate that you took time to write your comment.

Thank you

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I've used this hotel a number of times. The rooms aren't huge, but I love the views, on a clear day you can see Mount Fuji. The internet is free and reliable. I'm sure it's not the cheapest place in the city, but it's a good hotel for a business trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

PLUSES
1. Very quiet room. Also very nice and clean.
2. Shower was wonderful. Water was strong and hot enough
3. So many choices of snacks, drinks and food available on the vending machines
4. It was located just next to Metro so it was sort of convenient
5. Free internet access

MINUSES
1. Don't take metro to this hotel though if you will carry heavy luggage as there is no elavator at the exit of metro to this hotel
2. Communicating with staff was the most frustrating part throughout my stay. They didn't understand what I wanted. They could speak very little English.
3. Toilet paper was of poor quality.
4. The mattress was hard. My body, particularly the upper back, felt painful every morning when I woke up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The hotel is OK. Rooms are clean, not so spacious but good enough, and the comfort room is great and outfitted with bidets. This is good for business travelers as it is very near the central business district/area. The breakfast buffet can be improved though. There are only a few choice of food but the view outside from the dining area is great. The only drawback is that not all the hotel personnel, specifically the front desk, can speak and understand English so you have to budget more time when checking out as sometimes, they need to ask somebody who speaks/understands English to deal with you. The hotel personnel though are very polite and helpful.

It's good if your room is facing the Imperial Palace grounds as it gives you a nice early morning and early evening view of the palace grounds and the moat surrounding the palace. On your free time, you can walk to the Imperial palace grounds as it is very near the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk along the vast grounds, get some sun, or just idle away. It's a good place to relax, meet other people/tourists, and learn more on Japan's royal family.

Another good thing with Japan is that they have a very organized public transportation system, e.g train, from my limited experience that is. Also, I must say the discipline of the people/citizen is something to look up to, eg. traffic rules, simple road courtesies, crossing the road, riding an escalator, etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is a great central location for Tokyo, with a subway (Takabashi) for the Tozai line at the door (get a Suica Card- it saved alot of time and made things very simple). Inexpensive eating 10 min walk away toward Kanda Station, and a 7-11, McDonalds, and approx 15 good restaurants one block away toward the Imperial Palace Gate (Tababashi Bridge Exit). Clean, and good value at Y18,000 something per night. Central to get to many locations and walkable fromTokyo Station.
Some rooms over look the Imperial Palace Gardens. Highly recommend. Internet connection in room, adapter plugs etc available at reception.
It is a business Hotel but I think it offers great value (very tidy/high standard) compared to tourist-specific hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KKR Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KKR Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-4-1 Otemachi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0004, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 hotels in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KKR Hotel Tokyo 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, Venere and Otel so you can book your KKR Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kkr Hotel Chiyoda
KKR Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KKR Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.