We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A traditional ryokan that lives up to expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homeikan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Homeikan to your Saves list
Homeikan
Ryokan
  |   5-10-5 Hongo, Bunkyo 113-0033, Tokyo Prefecture (Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels / Ryokan in Bunkyo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A traditional ryokan that lives up to expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a traditional ryokan, built of wood and stone. Great care has gone into the placement of stones, the shape of wood, the welcome offered the guest. The garden is gorgeous. The rooms vary, but all have tatami mats. As you'd expect, you take your shoes off at the door.

The staff is helpful - some have more English than others, but all go out of their way to be of service. The only comparable experience I've had has been at a small ryokan in Kyoto ... and that was more than 20-years ago. How refreshing to find this ryokan in Tokyo.

Nearby are two different subway stops, several reasonably priced restaurants of good quality, and all kinds of shops. But the ryokan itself is in a largely residential neighborhood, quiet and very Japanese. This is not a western experience, and it's a really good thing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    33
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
35
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as a female alone and I felt happy and safe the whole time. It was a bit of a difficult place to find, after walking up a massive hill with my 20kg suitcase I finally found it (by chance!). Turn right at the dry cleaners then walk up the hill opposite the mochi shop and its straight ahead.

Lovely rooms, very spacious. As to be expected walls are thin so take earplugs - there was a baby in the room next to me, and a group of girls in the room down the hall so I found it hard to get to sleep, but the tatami mats are so comfy.

The neighbourhood was quiet and the ryokan is adorable, the garden is beautiful and tranquil. The owners are so kind, she helped me arrange my bus trip home and told me what stations to go to and the best sights to see.

Stay at this ryokan for an authentic Japanese experience in a lovely neighbourhood. Definitely have their Japanese breakfast once for the home cooked food experience, it's great value for money, I could hardly eat all of it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just could not make my mind clear since I was so addicted by their atmosphere.

I was on business trip in late October, 2011, Half year after the earthquake and tsunami attached North East of Japan.

They have three branches and I stayed with their Hon Kan branch.

Was check in very late at night, their manager posted a very detailed guide on the window of the entrance enable me find my room, for every steps I move, there is always clear clue customer could find, Japanese traditional hospitality always put the customer at the first place, Where should change the shoes, how to use the bathroom, Time of the breakfast, everything is in black and white with really warm tones.

Their room is super clean and the tatami mat with the smell of real history, No, not the bad smell, they do clean the room everyday.

Their breakfast is also very rich, I could not name all of them, but I know it is the combination of rice, pickled vegetables, etc,

All in all, I like Homeikan,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Then this is your place! Leave your shoes at the door and wear slippers inside... be sure to change into the bathroom slippers when you go to the toilet - isolate those germs! The rooms are rice mats, cot on the floor, traditional house robe is provided for you to walk to and from the bath/toilet. Bathing should be done in the evening - Japanese style. You sit on a stool and wash yourself with water, then relax in a hot-tub like bath, then soap and rinse on the stool, then you can either relax more, or towel off and go. Both private and public options. The traditional breakfast is AMAZING, definitely go with that option! Also, full tea set and hot-water pitcher for green tea (in bags or in a "raw" in a can) at a moment's notice. Beautiful garden between 2nd floor windows and street.

Room Tip: It can be tricky to get from Hongo-sanchome and back. You need to head North from the station up Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

My family of 5, 3 boys 14, 8 and 5 loved the huge room. Wonderful old world feel in the heart of Tokyo. From nearby Kasunga Station we could get everywhere. Ueno, Asakusa, Harajuku, Tsukiji were all within easy reach. The boys got a little tired one night and we got takeouts within 5 minutes walk from the ryokan. The staff were friendly and helpful especially Ito San. She was really warm and friendly with loads of great advice. The rooms were rich in details and the family bath was a wet and wild blast as we had the entire bath to ourselves. We would definitely come back. Great value too!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Staying here was a highlight of our trip to Japan. Homeikan was a wonderful base for Tokyo. The rooms were very clean, the bath was comfortable, and the hosts were kind and attentive. It's in a nice area of Tokyo, with easy access to friendly local restaurants and the subway. Our guide in Tokyo was very impressed, noting that were very few traditional guesthouses like it left in Tokyo. We found it to be excellent value for money, being one of the cheaper places we stayed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Decent decor for one who respects and enjoys Japanese traditional style accommodations. I love the pebble corridors with beautiful lacquered wooden steps. Tooth-brushing and face-washing tubs also reminds me of what I've only seen in comic books! The neighbourhood has many beautiful cafes and eateries catered to the Tokyo University just beside it.

Facilities are fine. 24-hour public bath and a nice private family bath (though I had only myself using it) helps you unwind after a long day of activities. Tatami and futon is always a comfort. Essentially different from a metropolitan hotel, this will give you a fuller Japanese experience at a good value. Only down side was that the wifi extenders didn't work, so I had to go near the computer room for internet -- not inside because it appears to be also a smoking room.

Staff are very friendly and helpful, making my stay quite a memorable one. Open yourself to the culture, and you will gain much friendship in return. This is a piece of Tokyo that is less commercial and less cold. Originally thought I'd do hotel-hopping, but at the end I chose to spend all my tokyo sleeps here.

By the way, four days into my stay, when wearing my shoes on my way out, I noticed the sakura tree in the opposite residence blossomed!! A lovely surprise!

Room Tip: If you need wifi, stay near the computer room where the router is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homeikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeikan

Address: 5-10-5 Hongo, Bunkyo 113-0033, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Bunkyo > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bunkyo
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bunkyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Rakuten so you can book your Homeikan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeikan Hotel Bunkyo
Homeikan Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homeikan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.