We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel and magnificently attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-8 Sekiguchi, Bunkyo 112-8667, Tokyo Prefecture (Ikebukuro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels / Ryokan in Bunkyo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb hotel and magnificently attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had the impression we were the only non-Japanese in the hotel but were made to feel very welcome during our entire stay. The staff were wonderfully friendly and professional and the hotel itself is spotless, beautiful and the garden is a tranquil getaway in this mega-capital which is constantly busy. If you go just north of the hotel you can find quaint shops and small local restaurants that do not cost a fortune (the hotel restaurants are wonderful but pricey). But I do recommend the Japanese Grill restaurant. Outstanding food and service and a unique experience. We would both go again any time we visit Tokyo.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    100
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
96
83
18
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Hotel used to be Four Seasons years ago. Very effective check in and friendly staff guide you to your room. Large room with all you need. Large bathroom with comfy shower. Also comfy bed. Liked the gym too in the second floor. Will be back!

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm fortunate enough to have stayed at a number of supposedly upmarket hotels. They often fail to live up to expectations. A superficial veneer of 'luxury' typically overlays poor service, incompetent staff and inadequate maintenance. The Chinzanso was a welcome and refreshing exception to this rule and delivered in full on its five star promise. Very welcoming staff, comfortable room, excellent gym and an air of understated luxury throughout. Not very convenient for public transport and more than US$10 for a cup of coffee in the restaurant - but otherwise excellent, if expensive.

Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A perfect getaway during a recent business trip. Rooms were spacious, beautifully appointed, staff helpful with anything I needed (or forgot)...and the gardens were a perfect place to walk and unwind at the end of the day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchinzansotokyo0, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear ShariM03 Sama,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo and for leaving your review on TripAdvisor.
We were glad to see that you used the terms “Excellent” and “Perfect” in the review of our hotel. It is our mission to provide a perfect getaway for all our guests and we are more than happy that we could accomplish that for you. The garden is indeed a great place to relax and while strolling through it you almost forget that you are in the middle of Tokyo. We hope we can welcome you back, maybe in another season when the garden has a different charm.

With warm regards,

Yuichiro Maeno
Front Office Manager
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Excellent service in a great hotel. Beautiful garden. Expect no half measures at this hotel. Even the breakfast is a sit down affair with no buffet. A great place for a romantic 1-2 days away. Staying with children is fine but without adds a special touch. Not a great location though. About a 10-15 min walk up or down quite a steep hill unless you can enter/exit the gate in the hotel garden before 9pm. Then about a 10 min walk to Edogawabashi Stn on the Yurakucho Line.

Room Tip: The garden view room is a nice touch, albeit more expensive. However if it is your first trip to Tok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchinzansotokyo0, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this review, January 9, 2015
Dear Middleclass1kid-Sama,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay and another thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to find that you titled it “Wonderful”. Our aim is to provide high standard service and we do our utmost to satisfy guests with and without children. The garden is always beautiful for a romantic stroll, but is especially nice at night when it is illuminated. The nearest subway station is indeed a 10 minute walk, but there are plenty of other options for a convenient transport. The rooms with garden view are something special in a metropolis like Tokyo, but as you mentioned a bit more expensive. During the day we do have a guest lounge on the 12th floor though, which offers a wonderful view of the garden (and complimentary espresso or normal coffee and all kinds of tea) which is especially nice for guests staying in rooms with a city view.

Please visit us again for another romantic stay!

With warm regards,

Yuichiro Maeno
Front Office Manager
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

What a lovely bit of relaxation and charm away from the hustle of Tokyo. The rooms were the most luxurious of our entire Japan trip. The lobby was a never-ending enjoyment of interesting people, many in traditional kimonos. There were also beautiful paintings and exquisite porcelain vases. The outside gardens were spectacular. One night we walked to the soba restaurant on the grounds of the hotel.
The concierge service was friendly and helpful with suggestions for touring.
The drawback was that the hotel was a bit for from restaurants in the area.
The breakfast was delicious (a welcome sit down service, not buffet) and was included as part of our room rate.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchinzansotokyo0, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this review, January 9, 2015
Dear Quarterdeck-Sama,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving your review here on TripAdvisor. It is so nice to read that you enjoyed the rooms, lobby, garden, interior and basically everything in our hotel. We are indeed not right next to a subway or train station (the nearest is approximately a ten minute walk) because we are surrounded by our Japanese garden, a river and lots of green. However, there are taxis, public buses and our shuttle bus on weekends and national holidays to bring you to Ikebukuro, Shinjuku or other tourist attractions easily.
The breakfast is a real good start of the day. You can enjoy either the Japanese or Western breakfast, which will keep you satisfied until well after lunch time.

Please come and stay with us the next time you are in Tokyo!

With warm regards,
Yuichiro Maeno

Front Office Manager
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I stayed here with my family during the Christmas Holiday. A great hotel with nice rooms, lobby, restaurant and breathtaking garden. But one thing I want to point out is the service, the staff were very helpful and attentive! Staff service is more than excellent! The only down side is the location of the hotel, it is quite far from the city center and the nearest train station is quite far. But overall a great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchinzansotokyo0, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this review, January 9, 2015
Dear Werdcam-Sama,

Thank you for staying with us during the Christmas Holidays. We were happy to read that you liked the rooms, lobby, restaurants and especially the garden. Furthermore, you mentioned that you considered the service level high, even more than excellent. We are continuously trying to improve our services and pay a lot of attention to a thorough training and education. Your comment will definitely encourage the staff to keep on doing their utmost.
The hotel is surrounded by a large Japanese traditional garden, a river and lots of green and therefore we are not right next to a subway or train station. The nearest subway is a 10 minute walk and on weekends and national holidays we run a free shuttle bus to Ikebukuro, a bustling shopping, business and tourist center.
We do hope we will see you again in the near future!

With warm regards,
Yuichiro Maeno

Front Office Manager
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo

Address: 2-10-8 Sekiguchi, Bunkyo 112-8667, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Bunkyo > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bunkyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo is located uptown in Mejiro. While it is in the heart of Tokyo, the hotel is surrounded by our spacious scenic green garden, which gives the hotel an aura of quiet serenity. The property consists of three buildings: the hotel, the plaza and the tower; and a traditional-style Japanese garden. The hotel has 260 rooms, 36 banquet halls, 5 wedding facilities and 12 restaurants. The garden lets our guests experience the four seasons through its changing colors: camellias bloom in the winter, cherry trees bloom in the spring, fireflies fill the garden in the summer and the leaves change colors in the autumn. Please come and see why so many of our guests are awed by the changes of the seasons in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Odigeo and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Tokyo At Chinzan-So
Four Seasons Bunkyo
Four Seasons Hotel Bunkyo
Four Seasons Tokyo
Bunkyo Four Seasons
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.