We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, rooms, and Gardens to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-8 Sekiguchi, Bunkyo 112-8667, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels / Ryokan in Bunkyo
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service, rooms, and Gardens to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A perfect getaway during a recent business trip. Rooms were spacious, beautifully appointed, staff helpful with anything I needed (or forgot)...and the gardens were a perfect place to walk and unwind at the end of the day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchinzansotokyo0, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear ShariM03 Sama,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo and for leaving your review on TripAdvisor.
We were glad to see that you used the terms “Excellent” and “Perfect” in the review of our hotel. It is our mission to provide a perfect getaway for all our guests and we are more than happy that we could accomplish that for you. The garden is indeed a great place to relax and while strolling through it you almost forget that you are in the middle of Tokyo. We hope we can welcome you back, maybe in another season when the garden has a different charm.

With warm regards,

Yuichiro Maeno
Front Office Manager
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    95
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
95
79
16
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent service in a great hotel. Beautiful garden. Expect no half measures at this hotel. Even the breakfast is a sit down affair with no buffet. A great place for a romantic 1-2 days away. Staying with children is fine but without adds a special touch. Not a great location though. About a 10-15 min walk up or down quite a steep hill unless you can enter/exit the gate in the hotel garden before 9pm. Then about a 10 min walk to Edogawabashi Stn on the Yurakucho Line.

Room Tip: The garden view room is a nice touch, albeit more expensive. However if it is your first trip to Tok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchinzansotokyo0, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Middleclass1kid-Sama,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay and another thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to find that you titled it “Wonderful”. Our aim is to provide high standard service and we do our utmost to satisfy guests with and without children. The garden is always beautiful for a romantic stroll, but is especially nice at night when it is illuminated. The nearest subway station is indeed a 10 minute walk, but there are plenty of other options for a convenient transport. The rooms with garden view are something special in a metropolis like Tokyo, but as you mentioned a bit more expensive. During the day we do have a guest lounge on the 12th floor though, which offers a wonderful view of the garden (and complimentary espresso or normal coffee and all kinds of tea) which is especially nice for guests staying in rooms with a city view.

Please visit us again for another romantic stay!

With warm regards,

Yuichiro Maeno
Front Office Manager
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a lovely bit of relaxation and charm away from the hustle of Tokyo. The rooms were the most luxurious of our entire Japan trip. The lobby was a never-ending enjoyment of interesting people, many in traditional kimonos. There were also beautiful paintings and exquisite porcelain vases. The outside gardens were spectacular. One night we walked to the soba restaurant on the grounds of the hotel.
The concierge service was friendly and helpful with suggestions for touring.
The drawback was that the hotel was a bit for from restaurants in the area.
The breakfast was delicious (a welcome sit down service, not buffet) and was included as part of our room rate.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchinzansotokyo0, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Quarterdeck-Sama,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving your review here on TripAdvisor. It is so nice to read that you enjoyed the rooms, lobby, garden, interior and basically everything in our hotel. We are indeed not right next to a subway or train station (the nearest is approximately a ten minute walk) because we are surrounded by our Japanese garden, a river and lots of green. However, there are taxis, public buses and our shuttle bus on weekends and national holidays to bring you to Ikebukuro, Shinjuku or other tourist attractions easily.
The breakfast is a real good start of the day. You can enjoy either the Japanese or Western breakfast, which will keep you satisfied until well after lunch time.

Please come and stay with us the next time you are in Tokyo!

With warm regards,
Yuichiro Maeno

Front Office Manager
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with my family during the Christmas Holiday. A great hotel with nice rooms, lobby, restaurant and breathtaking garden. But one thing I want to point out is the service, the staff were very helpful and attentive! Staff service is more than excellent! The only down side is the location of the hotel, it is quite far from the city center and the nearest train station is quite far. But overall a great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchinzansotokyo0, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Werdcam-Sama,

Thank you for staying with us during the Christmas Holidays. We were happy to read that you liked the rooms, lobby, restaurants and especially the garden. Furthermore, you mentioned that you considered the service level high, even more than excellent. We are continuously trying to improve our services and pay a lot of attention to a thorough training and education. Your comment will definitely encourage the staff to keep on doing their utmost.
The hotel is surrounded by a large Japanese traditional garden, a river and lots of green and therefore we are not right next to a subway or train station. The nearest subway is a 10 minute walk and on weekends and national holidays we run a free shuttle bus to Ikebukuro, a bustling shopping, business and tourist center.
We do hope we will see you again in the near future!

With warm regards,
Yuichiro Maeno

Front Office Manager
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone, england
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have never stayed in a hotel that is so beautiful, our stay here was perfect from the minute we walked into the hotels gardens to when we left. we had no problem finding the hotel from the tube station, and were met with a smile and a map from the very nice gentlemen by the start of the gardens who explained where we should go. On getting to the reception desk we were greeted with a smile and asked to wait, apologies for a small delay, and we were checked, we had two lovely ladies who took us to our room, one to carry our bags and the other who explained the hotel to us, and on getting to the room drew the curtains and explained the view which was truly amazing.

The bathroom was vast, a separate bath and huge shower, l'occitane products, razors, toothbrushes etc. There is a large wardrobe, slippers, bathrobes, safe, fridge and mini bar, coffee machine. Huge TV, power points for charging iPads etc.

they turn down the beds, put out mats for you to step on chocolate, weather forecast for the next day. what more could you ask for. the bed was so comfortable pillows a dream.

the gardens are a joy to walk through, and the laser show in the evening was awesome.

Every member of staff was polite and helpful and always a smile on their faces. I would certainly stay here again if I ever get back to Tokyo. It was a dream stay from start to finish, A perfect hotel,

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchinzansotokyo0, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Annpan-Sama,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo.
We were so happy to read your review on TripAdvisor!
The staff is always trying to provide the best possible service and help our guests as much as possible.
Your review really shows your appreciation of the efforts they make and motivates them to keep on doing their utmost with a smile.
It seems you stayed in one of our newly renovated rooms.
Two floors have been finished and guests who stayed there are all very positive about the new interior, amenities and decorations.
Renovation of the other floors has been scheduled for this year.
The garden is indeed a joy to walk through in any season.
While you were here, we had the “Aurora” laser show, but for example early summer you can enjoy the fireflies at night.
Hopefully we can welcome you back for another “dream in heaven”.

With our gratitude and warm regards,

Yuichiro Maeno
Front Office Manager
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay in a quiet neighborhood. Options are limited outside of the hotel property but some late night restaurants are within a 10-15 minute walk. Massive complex with many restaurant options. Be prepared to pay for it. Lovely property and gardens. Service was spot-on. Rooms are very spacious and probably the largest you're going to find in Tokyo.

Massive disappointment for us was Expedia booking clearly showed "Spa Access Included". When we went to use the pool they told us it was an extra Y4300pp. They would allow us to use the treadmills but not the pool. Not sure if it was bait/switch or an Expedia mistake but still a let down for our experience at the Chinzanso. Restaurants also closed at 10pm on the nights we stayed there but it was during holiday season. I believe usual closing hours are 11pm. The hotel does offer 24h room service.

If you're looking for a relaxing time in Tokyo you should consider Chinzanso.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchinzansotokyo0, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Gogo30-Sama,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
We were happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel, service and garden. However, your comment about the “Spa Access Included” and having to pay the extra fee shocked us.
We are going to investigate what happened and see if we can find out whether it is a miss of Expedia or whether we are to blame.
If we can find out and it turns out to be that we made a mistake, then we should apologize sincerely and offer some kind of compensation.
Reservations made through booking sites are sometimes a bit complicated and/or special conditions are not easy to notice.
We really regret that this problem disappointed you, but do hope we can offer you free spa access next time, regardless of the plan you booked.
Please contact the Spa manager at that time.

With warm regards,

Yuichiro Maeno
Front Office Manager
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone. Close to public transport and friendly staff. Had a lovely meal in the hotel one night. Lovely bathroom with a lot of space. Comfortable beds. We had a room overlooking the gardens, and it was beautiful.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the gardens. Stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchinzansotokyo0, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Tamitoohey-Sama,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
The staff is really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the hotel facilities and the garden as well. We have carefully selected all our amenities, furniture and decorations and hope to provide the optimum comfort for our guests. There are a number of restaurants, both in the hotel and in the garden, and hope you can enjoy one of the other restaurants next time.
We are looking forward to serve you again!

With warm regards,

Yuichiro Maeno
Front Office Manager
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo

Address: 2-10-8 Sekiguchi, Bunkyo 112-8667, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Bunkyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bunkyo
#1 Family Hotel in Bunkyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo is located uptown in Mejiro. While it is in the heart of Tokyo, the hotel is surrounded by our spacious scenic green garden, which gives the hotel an aura of quiet serenity. The property consists of three buildings: the hotel, the plaza and the tower; and a traditional-style Japanese garden. The hotel has 260 rooms, 36 banquet halls, 5 wedding facilities and 12 restaurants. The garden lets our guests experience the four seasons through its changing colors: camellias bloom in the winter, cherry trees bloom in the spring, fireflies fill the garden in the summer and the leaves change colors in the autumn. Please come and see why so many of our guests are awed by the changes of the seasons in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Tokyo At Chinzan-So
Four Seasons Bunkyo
Four Seasons Hotel Bunkyo
Four Seasons Tokyo
Bunkyo Four Seasons
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.