We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little green haven in Tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-8 Sekiguchi, Bunkyo, Tokyo Prefecture 112-8667, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Bunkyo
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little green haven in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let's start with the bad points:
1) Walking from the subway station can be a bit taxing, especially after the entrance through the garden is closed (around 10ish). We had no problems finding a taxi after getting out from the subway though, and there are always taxis waiting in front of the hotel, so no loss of time.

2) Communication with the spa is difficult. I wanted to offer my mother a treatment for her birthday, and despite several mails AND an offer to pay beforehand AND a visit in order to confirm that there should be no mention of the costs, the lady in charge of the treatment still had to tell her what the room would be charged. I did not like much the small envelope slid below the door to remind me either. Still, the treatment was good, and I guess that is all that matters.

Apart from that, the staff was wonderful and the beds are great (best sleep we had in Japan).

We only had the western breakfast and it was filling, despite being à-la-carte.

Will definetly stay there next time I go to Tokyo

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    72
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
73
59
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JAPAN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Not only registered guests also public people can enter and walk around the beautiful garden. This hotel is located in the central area of Tokyo, but, its garden is beautiful and leafy. Every weekend, many wedding parties are held in the hotel. So, you can see the traditional Japanese wedding suit here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a wonderful luxury hotel, from the moment you want in the you walk in the door, a wonderful experience. The room is comfortable, the service impeccable, the garden lovely. The hotel caters to a lot of weddings, so there is lot of amenities and expensive restaurants. The directions to the hotel are excellent, I took the bus from the airport which was convient and inexpensive.

The only caveat is that the hotel is located away from the busy active center of the city. This is great for people looking to get away from the crowds. Also, the style is classic but with elements of the traditional, but not the bright and modern style of Tokyo.

Enjoy the garden and the walk among the camelia's.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Finding a spot to "de-stress" in Tokyo can be a challenge. This hotel provides an oasis from the bee-hive of activity that is part of the energy and charm of Tokyo. The reception at the door, at the desk, and the escort to your room sets a new standard in service in my experience. The rooms are quite, clean, clean, and did I mention clean. The real treat of this hotel is its gardens and grounds that demand a walk and some quite time. The food and service at the restaurants in the hotel meet the same standard of excellence for the hotel.

It is not the least expensive hotel in Tokyo but the best value to what it does cost. You cannot put a price on service and tranquility.

Room Tip: Try to get a garden view room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Lambert, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here on our trip to Japan. The rooms are large and clean, there is very little noise from other rooms or the hallway. The food is good, and of course the staff was very attentive. The garden is spectacular and you get a lovely view from the breakfast restaurant. Tip: if you are ordering the "American Breakfast" get the crispy bacon - the "not crispy" version is something a little bizarre that I couldn't eat. The subway is a five minute walk and we found it relatively easy to navigate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed only for one night but it was spectacular. The gardens are beautiful, the rooms was very spacious and the service was off the chart - 7 stars. I was greeted by name as I got out of the car (still not sure how they knew it was me - never stayed there before). My sheet was ready for check-in at reception, when I picked up bags from the concierge they magically appeared in 15 seconds - amazing. Wifi was very functional (a pet peeve in many other hotels), bathrooms were generous. The hotel is somewhat removed from downtown Tokyo, but the hotel has generous shuttle services. Will definitely stay again. Obviously, getting a garden view room would be a plus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of April. We arrived very early and the hotel staff did everything they could to get us into our room before the check in time which we were very thankful for since we had just arrived from London on a 12 hour flight.

We had an executive suit with a view of the garden which was amazing. I'd recommend you ask for a high floor garden view when you make the booking. The executive suite was very comfortable and had a large bathroom. It was very clean and the house keeping staff did a great job of keeping the suite clean and tidy while we were out.

Breakfast in the hotel was nice enough, but be warned that there is usually a queue ( approx 25 mins wait )around 730am so i'd recommend going around these times if you don't want to wait. As an alternative you can pick up a free coffee and mini muffin in the hotel lobby between 5 and 8am which I took advantage of some mornings !

During the stay my partner made use of the spa for a back massage and was delighted with the experience.

Hotel bar is nice and relaxing with a decent selection of whiskys and cocktails, although do be aware that smoking is permitted in the bar.

Overall very pleased with the stay and as you expect in Japan the hotel staff were only too friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the garden !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo

Address: 2-10-8 Sekiguchi, Bunkyo, Tokyo Prefecture 112-8667, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Bunkyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Bunkyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo is located uptown in Mejiro. While it is in the heart of Tokyo, the hotel is surrounded by our spacious scenic green garden, which gives the hotel an aura of quiet serenity. The property consists of three buildings: the hotel, the plaza and the tower; and a traditional-style Japanese garden. The hotel has 260 rooms, 36 banquet halls, 5 wedding facilities and 12 restaurants. The garden lets our guests experience the four seasons through its changing colors: camellias bloom in the winter, cherry trees bloom in the spring, fireflies fill the garden in the summer and the leaves change colors in the autumn. Please come and see why so many of our guests are awed by the changes of the seasons in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Tokyo At Chinzan-So
Four Seasons Bunkyo
Four Seasons Hotel Bunkyo
Four Seasons Tokyo
Bunkyo Four Seasons
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.