We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-8 Sekiguchi, Bunkyo, Tokyo Prefecture 112-8667, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels / Ryokan in Bunkyo
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I lived in Chinzanso on July 4-11 2013 as my last stay in the trip to Toyko. I rate it "excellent" is not because I look for a modernized hotel. I look for a service + quality hotel that can make you feel your are in holiday.

Though a lot of people said this hotel is old and no longer under the name of Four Seasons, honestly, I think it is a worth to try hotel. Hotel breakfast (Japanese Style) has seafood congee. No 1 taste! Rooms are large and western style. You can also choose Japanese Style. The garden is large and special.

Only drawback is transportation. If you take bus nos 61, it can stop in front of hotel. But you have to meet the last bs schedule in downtown area. (Around 9:40pm) it is not bad as you can have bus and subway ( can take the last train after 12:00am and take a taxi ~980¥ only back to hotel.

Hot spring is also good and impressive. Why not try?

Room Tip: City view or garden view are good also!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    87
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
88
72
16
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

the rooms are huge by Tokyo standards, the gym is really impressive, the pool area like a roman bath. altough not located centrally it was nice to be away frmo the bussle of Tokyo. the gardens are beautiful

Room Tip: try for garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Chinzanso in June, for 5 days. This hotel was great.
It has wonderful picteresque garden, where you can even get lost. We got lucky and saw the fireflies at nigth in this graden. This sight was unforgottable.
This hotel is situated on very cosy and calm Mejiro street. This street became our new disovery of Tokyo. At the same time is rather close to the city center. There is a bus stop near the hotel and it takes only 10 minutes to get to Mejiro JR station.
The room was very spacious, cosy and elegant. The beds are the softest, it is just a pleasure to sleep on them.
As to the breakfasts, they are served a la carte. You have choice between japanese and western restaurants, Breakfasts in both restaurants are rich and various.
The staff is very friendly and always ready to help. In addition, they speak english fluently.
This hotel has old traditions, it is true 5-star hotel, that worth staying in Tokyo, The stay was rather expensive, but it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous and is located in a relatively quiet residential area. It may not be the most handy location if you are sight-seeing in Tokyo but the Metro station is in walking distance and there are buses stopping at the hotel door. The hotel room is spacious with quality finish though a little dated and tired. There is a nice Japanese garden attached and you can see Hotaru(glowworm) between late May and July. At the end of the garden, there is an exit (closes at 9pm) to a walking path along the river to Edogawabashi metro station (takes about 5 minutes). The path is more or less flat and shady if you wish to avoid the uphill walk. If you do not wish to walk at all, there is a community bus service from the station every 20 minutes with the fare of only 100 yen. Also, the hotel runs hourly free shuttle bus service to Ikebukuro station on Sat. and Sundays. There is a shuttle service (3000 yen) from Narita Airport, too, but it only runs every few hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

No longer the Four Seasons we used to love

The Four Seasons at Chinsanzo was one of our favourite hotels. I used to tell friends that during my first stay in 1996 the hotel gym instructor loan me his personal sneakers so I could work out at the hotel gym and gave me a pair of disposable trunks so I can swim. My wife and I were engaged during our stay 9 years ago.

The hotel was rebranded Chinsanzo Hotel in 2013. We thought the excellent service we came to love would continue, and decided to stay here.

It was not so. We were left sorely disappointed.

The disappointment started upon arrival. No bell staff to take our luggage. I had to go to the concierge to get trolley and help.

Next come all the hidden charges.
Want a garden view? USD30 a night - no more complimentary upgrades. More ridiculous is the charge of USD42 a person a night for the use of the swimming pool. Which five+ star hotel does that? Complimentary taxi to the train or subway station? Gone. The concierge used to help get Disneyland tickets with no charge - no longer.

The hotel remains the same cleanliness, but you can see subtle cost cuts and compromises. Example: The stationary at the desk were of lower grade. Even the smiles and calling you by name are now less frequent. You just feel that the perfectionist Four Seasons quality is gone.

Shame.

At this rate, this would likely be our last stay.

This used to be a special place for me and my wife. Now it is just another hotel.

So long Four Seasons at Chinsanzo. You shall be missed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Chinsanzo on our first night in Tokyo before going to Osaka. We took the Narita Express to Ikebukuro then a taxi to the hotel. About 1.5 hours to get there but the travel was worth it..the hotel check in was smooth, the beds were clean and extremely comfortable especially after a 12 hour flight. The nearest subway station is about 10 minutes walk down a hill and a further 5-10 minutes to restaurants and shops. The hotel gardens with water features are worth a walk through for some lovely pics. Customer service was also excellent. We would definitely stay at the Chinsanzo again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A beautiful property, set in lovely gardens, we had a 5 night stay here for business. Room was large, spacious, but not clean. The hotel is not cheap, and they charge you for every tiny incremental thing. We had breakfast included in our room rate for 3,000 yen each day. In selecting the american breakfast, I asked to have a little cheese scrambled in my eggwhites. After consuming the breakfast, they came by with a charge slip for an additional 330 Yen for adding cheese. They don't refill the toiletries voluntarily. You may be completely out of shampoo, but need to always request, as they seem pretty tight on refilling anything. While I confirmed at the time of checkin the rate for the room was inclusive of two adults they tried to charge me extra when I checked out. Upon check out, examine your bill closely. It took them 30 minutes to resolve the bill that they had added an addtional $80 USD / night in charges from the originally contracted rate. They operate by strict rules and hierarchy, so the service is not what I would consider 5 star, they do not operate with the customer experience in mind, but rather their P&L/balane sheet. I would not stay here again. Value for money is just not there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchinzansotokyo0, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Flashpacker08

We were naturally disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations.
I want to express my deepest apology and regret if corrective actions did not adequately take place to your satisfaction during your stay. We will immediately and seriously delve into this.

We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to make the necessary changes in the service we provide.

Please feel free to contact me directly and we look forward to the opportunity to regain your confidence.


Regards,
Yasuhiro Hashimoto
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo

Address: 2-10-8 Sekiguchi, Bunkyo, Tokyo Prefecture 112-8667, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Bunkyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bunkyo
#1 Business Hotel in Bunkyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo is located uptown in Mejiro. While it is in the heart of Tokyo, the hotel is surrounded by our spacious scenic green garden, which gives the hotel an aura of quiet serenity. The property consists of three buildings: the hotel, the plaza and the tower; and a traditional-style Japanese garden. The hotel has 260 rooms, 36 banquet halls, 5 wedding facilities and 12 restaurants. The garden lets our guests experience the four seasons through its changing colors: camellias bloom in the winter, cherry trees bloom in the spring, fireflies fill the garden in the summer and the leaves change colors in the autumn. Please come and see why so many of our guests are awed by the changes of the seasons in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Tokyo At Chinzan-So
Four Seasons Bunkyo
Four Seasons Hotel Bunkyo
Four Seasons Tokyo
Bunkyo Four Seasons
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.