We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful with easy access on the Yamanote line” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mystays Nippori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mystays Nippori to your Saves list
Hotel Mystays Nippori
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5-43-7, Higashi Nippori | (Former Flexstay Nippori Inn), Arakawa 116-0014, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
4.0 of 5 stars 107 Reviews
Concord, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful with easy access on the Yamanote line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Flexstay Nippori would have to be one of the cheapest options for a private room with ensuite in Tokyo. That's the great news. The other good news is that it is located within easy walking distance to the Keisei Skyliner line and the Yamanote line, linking you to all of the major parts of Tokyo within minutes.

The bad news? well apart from Nippori being only slightly interesting as far as tourist spots go, there really isn't any.

Sure the tiny rooms are a little bit on the old side, with quirky modular bathrooms that were made as a one piece unit by panasonic back when it was still called national, and room service isn't included, but for this price you are getting a whole heap of convenience, and you're only going to be sleeping there.

The bed was quite comfortable, but be warned that by semi double they mean large single. Two slim people will fit, but only just.

There is an interesting old shopping street over the other side of the Nippori station in the Yanaka area, and there is plenty to do in the surrounding areas like Ueno and Akihabara. The great thing about Nippori is that nowhere is really all that far away.

If you are looking at the cheaper end of the market, I'd say book here and out the savings towards your spending money (and don't despair, Japan isn't as expensive as everybody says).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fs-nippori, マネージャー at Hotel Mystays Nippori, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
"Thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your accommodation in Tokyo.
Also we appreciate your valuable feedback in terms of our location. As you mentioned, we are situated in a good location close the station, with easy access to tourist spots in Tokyo
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Thank you."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    52
    27
    6
    0
See reviews for
10
35
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I had stayed at Flexstay Nippori inn (Nippori sta. Tokyo) for 10 days&11 night in March,2012. I had a good time there :) Good location&Convenient ,not so far from JR Nippori station (which is direct link to Narita airport by JR Keisei Line) only 5-10 min for walking.The room is small but clean&comfortable for living. There are TV,microwave,refrigerator ,pot,hot plate etc. are ready for use in the room.Staff are good and service mind,they made me impressed :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fs-nippori, マネージャー at Hotel Mystays Nippori, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
"Thank you very much for staying with us the other day.
Also we appreciate your valuable feedback in terms of our location. As you mentioned, we are situated in a good location close the station, with easy access to tourist spots in Tokyo
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Thank you."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The Flexstay Nippori is part of the Weekly Mansion Tokyo chain, offering low-budget accommodation in quite a lot of places all over central Tokyo. I had already stayed in one of their properties some years ago and opted for the Nippori location this time. (Mainly because of its proximity to the Keisei-Skyliner connection to Narita airport.)

What you get is an apartment room that comes equipped with basically all you'll need. The room is admittedly small by western standards, but is on par with similar hotels in Tokyo and other major Japanese cities - in fact I think that it's even a bit more spacious than other similar priced business-hotels in Tokyo I stayed in before. There are even one or two clever additions that I haven't seen in other places: like a huge covered drawer below the bed, allowing you to store bulky luggage without blocking the available space.

Standard prices are on par with similar offers from other hotels in Tokyo, but bargain offers for those who book early or stay at least one week are available - I ended up paying just Yen 4.900,- per night, which is great value for money in Tokyo (and the likes of you wouldn't be able to find in other big metropolises like New York, London or Paris).

The hotels proximity to Nippori station gives you instant access to the Yamanote-line, and it also means that a bunch of restaurants are just around the corner... there's also a nice Irish Pub located just opposite of the station which even serves some special brands of beer from time to time - I'd recommend giving it a try! However, the real nightlife of Tokyo is some stations away and since public transport in Tokyo all but grinds to a halt at around 1:00am, the location is not the perfect choice for those who want to stay out a bit longer.

As expected, the hotel staff also was competent, friendly and always helpful.
Final verdict: A solid 4 out of 5! You won't be able to find that much value for money in any other big city outside of Japan, methinks!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fs-nippori, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Mystays Nippori, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you very much for the feedback.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Also we appreciate your compliment on the room,our staff and the price.

We have received good reviews in terms of good location.
Please come back again if you have another opportunity to visit Tokyo!
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Clean, comfortable, modern, quiet, private and professional. A 5 min walk from Nippori station, Ideal for the Keisei Skyliner from Nippori to Narita Airport. Quite a few places to eat and drink nearby too, saw an Irish pub and Steak house on way from station, and there is a 24hr drink/eat place opposite.Hotel is 24hr access too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fs-nippori, マネージャー at Hotel Mystays Nippori, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are glad that you are satisfied with our service and the price range.We refurbished all our rooms in 2011 and it has been well-received by many guests.
We are doing our best to offer good service and make your stay comfortable.
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

A good budget hotel, former Weekly Mansion. A five-ten minutes walk from Nippori Station, the gateway for Narita. JR Yamanote, Keihin-Tohoku, Joban lines stop here at Nippori. Just 1-2 Stations away from Ueno. Room was small-ish but quite normal for a budget hotel in Tokyo. Free wi-fi, a toothbrush, comb and razor, microwave oven, kettle, proper writing desk. The room was bright enough. Non-smoking standard was on offer at Jalan booking site for 4,900 yen/person.
What was great about the stay here is that right in front of the hotel across the street, there is a great cafeteria serving the best Japanese family food, where you can pick from what's on offer, open 24 hours ! I had fried fish, tuna salad, natto, shumai dumplings, sashimi, miso soup, rice there ... You can eat anything from curry to tonkatsu.
Definitely recommend staying here for a trip via Narita and eating your 3 meals in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Eat at the cafeteria in front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fs-nippori, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Mystays Nippori, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us this time.
Also, we appreciate your compliments on our location,facilities and the nearby restaurant.
As you mentioned, we are only about 5 minutes walking distance from Nippori station and
have good access from Narita airport as well.
The restaurant you recommended is also convenient for our guests as they are open 24 hours
a day! We sell their special voucher at the front desk. Please ask for details next time you have a chance to visit us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mystays Nippori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mystays Nippori

Address: 5-43-7, Higashi Nippori | (Former Flexstay Nippori Inn), Arakawa 116-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Arakawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels / Ryokan in Arakawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mystays Nippori 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Mystays Nippori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flexstay Nippori Hotel Arakawa
Hotel Mystays Nippori Tokyo, Japan - Arakawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mystays Nippori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.