We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like coming home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Portal Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Portal Inn to your Saves list
El Portal Inn
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   56 Belderol St, Tagbilaran City 6300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
The netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Just like coming home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It,s nice when you come back after 1 year and they recognise you .
And the waiter told me , that he did some things atill as i told him last year .
Nice people , good breakfast and coffee,
easy going to mall with trycicle for a few peso.
Free pickk up from pier or airport

Room Tip: It,s only 16 rooms , first floor , no elevator . Wi-Fi in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    40
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
33
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I have been to many places all over the Philippines and when we were in Bohol and stayed at this quaint hotel, we decided it was one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. The place is very pretty, very clean, very quiet and is located right in the heart of Tagbiliaran City. It's 5 minutes away from the airport and fastfood restos, the market and a couple of small malls/dept stores were within walking distance. It is also just 20 minutes away from Panglao Island by car. I love El Portal Inn! For all these you'd think it's expensive, right? Well, think again! Our huge bedroom with tv, fridge, and spacious bathroom only cost 900 pesos a night!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Thank you very much Mr. Jose Gallardo and staff for making our bohol vacation unforgettable. We stayed at this hotel last january 2012 and we really enjoyed our 2 nights stay. We had a family room and a deluxe room with fridge, very comfortable and very very clean especially the bathroom. Fast wifi was also available in our room. They offer free pick up from port to hotel as well as drop off to port. They arranged our countryside tour and panglao island tour. In all, service and staff were really amazing. If we happen to return next year we will surely stay here again. I highly recommend this hotel for those who are planning to have a hassle free vacation!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Rizal, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family had our first vacation in Bohol. we stayed at El Portal Inn for 2 nights. The staff are great from the service driver up to the waiter. Thank you Ms Mila (morning shifft front desk) and Jed (the waiter) for a very good treatment to my family. Near the mall and airport. Free pick up and drop off. Tour were arranged by them just ask when you want to avail it.We really do had a wonderful experience in Bohol. I recommend this hotel if you want a stress free vacation, cheap room rate and very accommodating staff and owner Mr Jose Gallardo. You can email your inquiry and surely he will reply to you the soonest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

As many before i found the place on the internet and due to favorable reviews i decided to give it a shot during my 3-night stay in Tagbilaran. The hotel is located very close to both the airport and the pier so you can get there in matter of minutes with the free of charge pickup provided by the hotel. The accomodation itself is basic, but clean, comfy and pleasant and the staff is just fantastic, responding well to any inquiry or help request. Overally the price you pay is just fantastic compared to the offered services and everything, the working free internet is justba nice bonus on top of that.

Very close to the hotel are very good restaurants like Chicken Ati-Atihan or STK and just in walking distance is small supermarket in Marcela plaza. ATM just around the corner too in safe area so really everything you need for your stay in Tagbilaran is within grasp close by to the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

El portal inn is recommended for a budget conscious like me.good thing about El portal inn they have a reasonable price but the quality of service is superb. the front desk was nice to assist me for my EAT Danao Adventure.I find the place comfy and safe since I travel alone.the food that they serve is also reasonable.The place was near at the airport and major establishments its very convenient.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

thanks to tripadvisor for I was able to find this Inn. It was a comfortable place to stay, quite, clean and affordable. Booking was easy because they responded well to the emailed inquiries that I sent them. They also have tour packages, just book it before hand (I think). However, I did the bookings of our tour on the day we arrived in Bohol because I met this nice tour guide at the port. He made suggestions on where to go and was also very open to suggestions from us. We did customized our tour and he was willing enough to take us to the places we wanted to go (a little haggling of prices would be helpful). And because he was very warm and helpful, we gave him some extra tip! All in all, we had a nice time at El Portal Inn! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Portal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Inn

Address: 56 Belderol St, Tagbilaran City 6300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island > Tagbilaran City
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tagbilaran City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Inn located in the heart of Tagbilaran City conveniently located within one kilometer from both airport and pier. Offering the best value and comfort for your money is what we aim for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your El Portal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Hotel Tagbilaran City
El Portal Inn Tagbilaran City, Bohol Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Portal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.