We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Community Atmosphere, very relaxing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anezina Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Anezina Village to your Saves list
Anezina Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anezina Village | Drios, Drios 84400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Drios
Madcity Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Community Atmosphere, very relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

The service at the Village cafe was great, Anna Maria was always willing to get us anything we desired with a friendly smile. Stavos arranged multi island tours and atv/scooter rentals right to the front door of the village. WiFi was available for a small weekly fee. Maria made some excellent meals when we felt like staying in for a meal. Some of the days had community style events, a BBQ, Greek Cooking ect. This really encouraged the guests to make acquaintances and fostered a great open community vibe while we were there. tables were set on certain nights for community seating.

The units were clean, mostly tile, good AC but not all windows had screens if you wanted to do without. They have the basic kitchen, pots pans, small serving sets, full fridge/freezer. Bed in the master bedroom was very firm (to firm for my tastes). Clothes lines on patios. Pool was not large but that was fine with the beach so near. Our room was very quiet at night, sleeping was easy. A pair of small super markets are available not 100ft down the main road. Prices were fair at them and we used them almost daily. Anna's sits across the intersection from the markets, offers a family kitchen feel while dinning in as well as take out. Invited us into the kitchen to look around and see what was on the menu that night.

Not much night life in May other than in Naussa and thats a fair drive from Dryos. We were still up past midnight most nights chatting with other guests. South road to Punta and Anti Paros has much less traffic than the north from the port. Dryos beach was a decent snorkel but watch it there are many urchins there past waist deep if you are wading. There were a few sea side restaurants along the beach though we drove down to Pisa Lavida for that. Easy walk to gold beach or short drive to most other sites on the island.

We will be back again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

This hotel is what we would call rustic. This is not a hotel that you would want to stay in if you expect luxury, however our time here was fantastic. Stavros, at the front, was very welcoming and friendly. The entire staff were friendly and they made our stay extremely comfortable. It is a bit of an overused adage but they welcomed us like family and when we left a few days before Easter we felt like we were leaving family. The location requires a vehicle to really enjoy it and the best bet is to pick one up in Pireaus. Anna's restaurant - just adjacent to Anezina is a real treat and again a place where you felt like you were walking into your mom's house. Highly recommend the stay here and the time spent in Paros was great. One caution, hot water only works at certain times of the day so you need to be prepared for that.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Anezina Village is made up of lovely whitewashed cottages, each with its own bougainvillea or rose-adorned patio. The accommodations, bedding, kitchen, etc. are basic and the rooms can feel a bit dark. But the warm hospitality and helpful guidance of Stavros, Maria and their family are extraordinary. Organized walks, Greek Night on Tuesday and, in our case, New Years Eve party were all wonderful. You are only a few blocks from a beach, but you really need a car to see the island of Paros and take a few side trips to Naxos and Antiparos

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We had a timeshare exchange here. It is in a great location with outstanding views. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our apartment was clean and serviced well. The furniture was basic Greek which means not a lot of padding. Paros and its easily reached neighbor Antiparos are fantastic and well worth the trip. This is a well run place. Only one loud night when several other American couples stayed outside until 230 for a last night on Paros party.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I would like to say first of all that are room was at Anezina hotel which was at the same place with Anezina village (the owners are sisters).
Our double room was very little, perhaps only for one person because the bed wasn't a double one. The room was on the roadside which meant a lot of noise during the night.
Of course no breakfast was included.
The tv remote was broken and they didn't have another to replace it, in case someone wanted to hear some news.
We were really disappointed and left two days after our arrival.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

This is a great place for those who love the Greek islands, but hate the mass tourism which has ruined so much of their heritage and beauty. Drios is on the East coast of Paros, where development consists of low-key and low-rise villas and apartments rather than large hotels – and all built in the classic Cycladic white cubist style. Anezina Village is a particularly good example, as it conforms to strict ecological standards, and local Parian marble is a feature throughout. There are only nine villas, surrounding a small garden, each with one bedroom and sleeping a maximum of four. Ours, called Eva, had a large living room and roof-top balcony with sea views. The facilities were impressive for Greece: a well-provided kitchen with fridge, full oven (no microwave), satellite TV with BBC World, air conditioning and firm but comfortable beds. Linen and towels are changed every two days.

Stavros gave us a warm welcome and much excellent advice on places to visit, scenic walks, good tavernas etc. Their own café serves a limited number of snacks and a dish of the day, but on Mondays they organise a ‘welcome dinner’ for 20 Euros including wine. This has been variously described by other reviewers, here and elsewhere, as either a ‘rip-off’ or great fun. I suppose it depends on how much wine you drink. We would certainly recommend it as a way of meeting your fellow guests, even though the food could best be described as basic. Most nights we ate at Kosta's Taverna just two minutes’ walk away, where the delightful, English-speaking Anna invites you into her kitchen and offers an excellent range of local dishes. The other restaurants in Drios were closed out of season, but there are two good ones in nearby Marpissa (five minutes’ drive) and one in Prodromos (seven minutes) which are open all year round.

Although the Paros bus service is reliable, we would advise you to hire a car if you wish to explore the island thoroughly. It is really worth getting off the beaten track and enjoying the scenery and stunning views. Lefkes if a lovely mountain village and Naoussa is a picturesque fishing port which has managed to welcome tourism without ruining itself. Even Parikia, the main port, is worth a visit in low season, before the hoards arrive. Paros is a great island to visit for a week, or as part of an island-hop. All the Cycladics are easily reached from here - Naxos being the nearest.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

We stayed at Anezina for a week as part of a time-share exchange, and it was a wonderful experience.

Our hostess, Georgia, was very effusive and her English was quite good (as was, apparently, her French and German judging by how well she communicated with her other guests). Other than Georgia, however, many of the staff spoke very limited English. They were very friendly and did their best to understand my hand signals and broken Greek, and we worked it out.

The village is actually a compound with several small houses and apartments. There's a central courtyard connecting all of these buildings together and leading to the Reception House/ Club House. Inside the "Club House" is a bar and cafe (offering simple faire such as sandwiches, crepes and deserts), two Internet Terminals (1 Euro per half hour), and a pool.

At the beginning of each week the village has a barbecue to welcome new guests - it was a pricey evening (20 Euros per person), but we're glad we participated. We met a lot of our fellow guests and had a great time getting to know them and our hostess. Georgia really does strive to make everyone staying there "family," and several times introduced us to other people staying in the village to help us interact.

The house we stayed in was very comfortable - we never had to use the air conditioner, in fact. The construction of this traditional Greek house was such that we were always plenty cool by just opening the windows. The sitting area was quite comfortable, as was the bed. There's a small back-porch area behind each of the houses which is also a great place to pass the time (don't expect ocean views, though; our back porch overlooked some olive trees and grass. The village is within walking distance to the sea, but you can't see it from there).

There is no satelite television, just Greek broadcast tv that comes in fitfully from the arial antenna on top of the house. Don't expect to get your CNN or BBC World Service here... we didn't mind, since we were there to relax.

One great feature of our stay at Anezina was the wildlife - specifically the many cats that call the village their home. They don't seem to belong to anyone; rather they wander back and forth from porch to porch or through the fence at will. We made the acquaintance of a mother and her two kittens and got to know them very well during our stay.

The area of Paros the village is located in, Drios, was once a mighty port city fought over by the Phoenicians and Athenians. Now, however, it's a sleepy little town with a lot of hotels and a few people still in the fishing industry. There's a couple of markets near the village and a shop or two, but if you're looking for more cosmopolitan night-life or high-end shopping you'll have to look elsewhere on the island.

We had a very pleasant stay, and would recommend Anezina to anyone who's looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy the sun.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, location, quiet place to relax
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anezina Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anezina Village

Address: Anezina Village | Drios, Drios 84400, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Paros > Drios
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Drios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anezina Village 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Anezina Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anezina Village Drios
Anezina Village Paros, Greece - Drios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anezina Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.