We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Tartine

Bistro Tartine
Hima Plaza 1, Suite 102 | 500 Avenida Degetau, Caguas 00725, Puerto Rico
787 961 4044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Caguas
Price range: $19 - $55
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too expensive ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you want to spend a few hundred bucks to eat tapas that taste bland, this is the place to go. Of course, there's nothing else worth eating in the area it is located. I have to say the place looks good and the service and ambiance is great but not enough for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best place at HIMA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The idea of establishing this concept inside a medical facility was exceptional. Sometimes, when you are visiting relatives and needs some lunch, we have to settle for fast food places or the hospital café. Bistro Tartine is a fantastic place to get relax; nice atmosphere, excellent tapas and nice bar. Pricey, yes it is, however I don't mind to pay for a nice time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Worth taking the autopista from San Juan to Caguas to eat at this bistrot where you will feel welcome and eat great food no matter if it is lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Take the time to find this hidden gem! We came to PR on business and booked / prepaid for a hotel in Caguas. This wasn't the plan but the mistake ended up providing us with a fantastic dining experience.

The restaurant is in the lobby of Hima Plaza 1 next door to the Caguas Hospital (no GPS or American mapping software will take you here but it is a must find if you are in the area or coming down from San Juan). Once you find the bistro take advantage of the complementary valet and prepare yourself for a top notch meal.

The restaurant is so clean I thought it was newly opened not a five year staple of the area. We were warmly greeted by the French owner and maitre"d and offered a seat anywhere we liked. We were expertly serviced by Severine and a team of servers who timely delivered our food and cleaned our areas without hesitation. As English only speaking patrons we were put at ease immediately as the menu is in several languages including English. The specials were in Spanish, but the staff spent the time to personally interpret the offerings and highlight the fresh choices. In fact, once my wife ordered the fresh cod it was removed from the daily menu.

Paired with the house Cab and Merlot, the cod and skirt steak respectively were fantastic and at $7 a glass an absolute bargain. We finished with the special praline soufflé and discussed how amazing the dinner was. If we are ever in the area again, we surely will stop back in.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excelent French restaurant in Caguas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Outstanding food and service. Chef Daniel and his staff always offer great quality dishes. Don't be fooled by it's location.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Tartine also viewed

Caguas, Puerto Rico
Caguas, Puerto Rico
 
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Caguas, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bistro Tartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Tartine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.