We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop on a busy business schedule” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refugio de Santiago

Save Saved
You added Refugio de Santiago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Refugio de Santiago
Calle Real 33 Paullo, Lunahuana 41, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
San Pedro Cholula, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent stop on a busy business schedule”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

During a business trip to Peru I spent a weekend at Refugio Santiago. I wanted something different from the hectic pace of Lima and was not disappointed. I travel extensively throughout all of Latin America which gives me the opportunity to sample many different accommodations. If you are looking to disconnect from a busy schedule or just get away and relax -- this is the place. The food & drinks are excellent. Right from the start Fernando and his staff make you feel comfortable and right at home. The rooms are clean and there is no prepackaged hotel feel to be encountered anywhere.

As has been mentioned in other reviews, Fernando is very knowledgeable on many subjects -- Peruvian cuisine, native plants and historical/medicinal uses of those plants.

Below is a link to some pictures from this trip -- the one picture with the pool is Refugio Santiago and there are a few of the valley.

http://irazu.smugmug.com/organize/Travel/Peru-Lima-Lunauana-Marcona

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recently spent a five day stay at this most charming, hospitable and tranquil oasis only 2.5 hours from Lima up the Cañete Valley just a few kilometers from Lunahuana. The owner Fernando and his lovely family make you feel "en casa" (at home) from the first moment you are greeted. An engineer, reinvented as botanist, historian and chef guarantees that you will eat wonderful combinations of local products seasoned from their own herb garden. We feasted at every meal and pretty much ate our way through the entire menu...we now have our favorites but were never disappointed.

The staff are very friendly and willing to attend to you in such way to make your stay a complete joy.

While there is a myriad of activities one can engage in with the Refugio being your base, we choose to completely rest and relax and do nada. Can't think of a better place to do just that. Even with a goodly number of children around on the weekend we were able to read and rest at our leisure.

If you live in Lima or a just visiting Peru this is an ideal place to wind down from your hectic schedule...this find goes in our gem book of places to get away to.

Fernando sells some all natural home made bug repellant...an excellent choice as the Peruvian version of no seem's can be pesky but the house potion helps them find other targets of opportunity.

As General MacArthur said: Regresaremos!! (We shall return!!)

Thanks Fernando for helping us celebrate a memorable birthday!

Room Tip: Our room was perfect and I believe it was #2. It has a small colored glass window which when opened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Overnight at Refugio de Santiago is like travelling to another quiet, slower and more beautiful world. The rooms are very comfortable with just the right mix of rustic ambiance with modern amenities. The restored hacienda is charming, furnished with antiques and curiousities for a western/spanish vibe. Most doors and ironwork is original and many touches throughout show its history.

This is a romantic, quiet and lovely small hotel. Well worth it and highly recommended. Overnight here was restorative and memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place is a must stay and see -- the owner Fernando is an expert on herbs, plants, and cuisine, and the food is as amazing as the physical layout and tourist spaces are lovely!! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We went to Lunahuana on a day trip to see the Inca ruins, Incahuasy, in the vicinity, visit the little Lunahuana town, with its horse rides, merchants, the river views; the valley and enjoyed eating at Refugio de Santiago. It is a rustic hotel, with large gardens, with edible and ornamental plants, for walks and pure natural enjoyment. There is a swiming pool to enjoy in the great outdoor weather. The food was excellent! delicious! very well prepared and served, excellent, very tasty. I had fish, cooked to perfection and tried a friend's pork dish, oh boy that was really good. Worth going all the way to Lunahuana, just to eat it. The owners were not there when we went but the cook who came to greet us was very nice and helpful. El Piloto is another very good restaurant that is close to Lunahuana, in Canete that I really enjoiy but having lunch at the Refugio de Santiago was a real treat. Very relaxing place. Best time of the year to go is from June to September where there are more activities during the winter months there but we went in February (summer) and still enjoyed the outing. No wheelchair access and long stairs to go up and down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I mean: no TV, cellphone signal, internet, etc. This could be a unique experience for you, it´s all about your attitude.

The place is very nice, you can actually listen to nature here. The food is cooked and served by the owner himself: a very kind and interesting guy dedicated to ancestral studies on food, myth, etc.

They grow their own ingredients, lots of them can´t be found in a supermarket you know, so be ready to try unique, healty, things (nothing extreme, don´t worry). They also sell what they produce, including Pisco. (packaged, but not mass produced of course)

During the night, fire, conversation, pisco, maybe tea... it´s just a unique experience that depends a lot on your attitude.

I can´t tell much about sleeping there because I didn´t stayed there but I will definitely do it soon.

Oh, they are building a nice pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Refugio de Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio de Santiago

Address: Calle Real 33 Paullo, Lunahuana 41, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lunahuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Lunahuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio de Santiago is an old house from early twentieth century, restored for rural tourism is not a traditional hotel, the house is rustic, built in adobe, recycled wood and stone, the rooms have electricity and hot water, do not have TV, cable or jacuzzi. the intention of the shelter is to escape from the city routine, contact nature and eat great food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Refugio de Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refugio de Santiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.