We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BesteBakken

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added BesteBakken to your Saves list
BesteBakken
Mobakken 11, 6869, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A perfect place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Hafslo in late September 2012 and spent a weekend in BesteBakken where the wedding of our son took place. This place was perfect:

- Situated on top of a hill offering a most beautiful view on the village, the lake and the surrounding mountains
- The rooms are perfectly clean and comfortably furnished. Beds are excellent. Modern, large bathrooms with home made natural beauty products. Each room is individually decorated with much taste and beautiful original paintings.
- The main building offers two rooms for meetings or ceremonies, but furniture and decoration are so cosy that it is also a perfect place for sitting alone, sipping a coffee or quietly reading a book.
- Delicious food: Excellent dinner with a choice of good wines. The breakfast was enhanced by home made breads, sausages, comfitures, and freshly prepared juices.
- Great service and attention by Lindis and her husband (owners) and their professional and smiling staff
- In the garden, you can watch birds and admire graceful alpagas. The surroundings of the property offer nature at it’s best !
- Good access road, sufficient parking space.

Our only regret, shared by many wedding guests: We did not have enough time to try out the spa, Jacuzzi, massages and plenty of outdoor activities which can be organized by Lindis and her husband.

Bestebakken is a jewel of a property, not only perfect for weddings or other ceremonies, but also for spending comfortable, restful vacations in perfect nature

We will definitely come back !

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a celebration stay with 12 other friends for a
80th birthday. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, our every whim and
desire was met. Breakfast was just rhe most fabulous with something to tempt each one
of us - as we were all different nationalities - norwegian, dutch, english and french. The rooms
are delightful and very comfortable, and all in different styles.
The owner takes great pride in her property and hernpassion for what she does shines
thru everything she does. Lindis also produces her own skin care line and sells it in her little shop. All the products are in every room to be sampled. Our dinners were planned and the food and wine just all delicious. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent a wonderfull day together with Lindis and her family. The dinner was cozy and nice. Homemade fish-grateng with a local blueberry dessert. The breakfast was made of homemade norwegian food. The best breakfast I ever have had in Norway. The rooms have the best beds in any hotel in Norway. Feel the hospitallity of a true Norwegian family. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Os Municipality, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Bestebakken is special, the rooms, the atmosphere, the homemade food, and the personal hospitality from Lindis, her husband and the rest of the staff. If you want a relaxing place sourronded by attractions? Bestebakken is the place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BesteBakken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BesteBakken

Address: Mobakken 11, 6869, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Luster Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Epicurean Experience BesteBakken is a boutique hotel. BesteBakken is an exclusive, charming place where new experiences, culture, and memorable food are focal points. Here you will find a traditional and cozy atmosphere as well as modern and comfortable rooms. We strive to stimulate the senses by offering a totality of gratifying experiences - creativity and development, serenity and peace, food and drink, wellness, overnighting, and activities. You'll find us at Hafslo, in the county of Luster, furthest inland in the world-renowned Sognefjord. Welcome to an epicurean experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BesteBakken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BesteBakken Norway/Sogn Og Fjordane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BesteBakken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.