We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dreyeroord

Hotel Dreyeroord
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oosterbeek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dreyeroord
Save
You added Hotel Dreyeroord to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Graaf van Rechterenweg 12 | Oosterbeek, 6861 BR Oosterbeek, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oosterbeek
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
886 helpful votes 886 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Turned up after a long tiring motorcycle trip to discover no bar (we needed a beer!),and no restaurant ! Room 6 is ok but the bathroom is incredibly small. Breakfast was let down after our German breakfasts. Staff when visible were charming and the gardens are pretty.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great location for visiting the sites associated with Operation Market Garden. Easy walking distance to the Arnhem Oosterbeek War Cemetery and the Airborne Museum Hartenstein. Other sites and memorials are within a short car ride.

The hotel is welcoming and hospitable. It is run by the family van der Straaten. In winter, it is not so busy. On this valentine's weekend, there were only a few rooms booked. The rooms are clean and warm and comfortable. The common areas are great for relaxing.

The family were very helpful in making restaurant recommendations and other advise.

Now if you are hoping to book here for the 70th anniversary in September, I would not give you much encouragement. They have been booked full for over 3 years. But I would recommend this hotel any time you can get a room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo Montenotte, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

First of all, I would like to speak about Dreyeroord considering it just an hotel. Afterwards I will also explain how I love this hotel.
The staff is composed by the kindest persons I ever meet in my life, they are ready at anytime(and without extra costs) to offer you a cup of coffee and to make conversation as well to support you for any need...
The building is part of the history: it served, during the WWII as headquarter of a Scottish Division (the hotel is also known as "White House" as the Scottish renamed it). It is possible to feel the history by walking inside the hotel.
Rooms are big and confortable, maybe bathroom not so big but everything inside works in the good way!
The hotel has several parking facilities and it is 2 min far from the train station and bus/tram station. 5 minutes far from Airbone Cemetry , 5 min far from Oosterbeek downtown, with its shops, café and restaurants and 5 min from Airborne Museum and the Hartenstein park. Arnhem, Burgers'zoo and all other touristics sites can be reached by bus.

Now it's time to be sentimental.
This hotel is definitely my second home because I spent a total of two months there due to several business trips over two years.
When I missed home, I just have a walk inside the beatiful and relaxing park of Dreyeroord and all my homesick went down....and please trust me, my business trips in the Netherlands are now finished but sometimes I miss Dreyeroord Hotel, even when I'm at home....

Daniele from Italy

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in order to visit the Arnhem and Oosterbeck area and take part in the annual Airborne walk commemorating Operation Market Garden which took place in 1944.
The Hotel is a lovely building less than 5 minutes walk fom the local railway station and bus stop from where you can easily get to Amsterdam etc.
The Hotel is charming, combining attentiveness with a relaxed approach. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff helpful.
Having stayed on my own this time I intend to return next year with my family.
I would recommend this establishment to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this charming little hotel while cycling in the Oosterbeek and Arnhem area, and would happily visit again. We loved the location with access to the train stop, the Airborne Museum, war cemetery and outlying cycle trails.

This is a small hotel with a limited number of rooms, but the benefit was evident in our ability to get to know most of the staff and the owner. Their attention to customer service throughout our stay was exceptional, and several times went 'above and beyond' normal service. Breakfasts were excellent and substantial, allowing us to properly start our daily 50 km cycling journeys. Twice we enjoyed the 'Chefs special' evening meals in the hotel as well.

We accessed rental bikes through the hotel, and while they were adequate for our needs they were clearly geared to a more casual use than what we intended. The free WiFi throughout the hotel was much appreciated, as was the unlimited free coffee and tea in the room and lounge throughout our stay.

Not surprising for an older European hotel, the bathroom was a little tight! But then again, we didn't book this expecting the 'formula' accommodations available in larger chain hotels. We wanted comfortable beds, good food, good location, free WiFi, and an authentic European experience, and the Dreyeroord delivered. It has character!

If I could suggest a couple improvements, I would like to see an improved website and a little more attention to housekeeping (for example the coffee service in the room didn't look like it had been moved or cleaned in a while). But these were minor concerns and wouldn't stop me from booking again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My daughter and i flew to Amsterdam to see the Airborn Museum and my daughter to go to a concert. Hotel Dreyerood was a great place to stay, Staff very friendly and helpful, The meals were great and plenty of TV channels in your room to watch.
This hotel has plenty of History from WW2 and is walking distance to the Airborn Cemetary and Museum.
We stayed Saturday and left on a Monday. The only thing that was strange i thought was the nearby shops were all closed on Sunday so not much variety apart from a Petrol station to buy food. So lunch was na problem but the breakfasts and dinners at the hotel were fantastic so why look for somewhere else to go.

Room Tip: We had a connecting room and both of these were pretty good. The only thing that i could possibly sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was over in Arnhem/Oosterbeek this weekend to launch Revisting Theirs is the Glory and a run a battlefield walk. I wanted to stay in a hotel where the legacy was 100% and this is what I got- exactly. Used as the HQ of the KOSB during the battle it oozes nostalgia and just when I was imagining what it was like to dig in just beneath the fire exit armed with a Bren a veteran of the battle was on my shoulder to put it in slightly clearer context. The hotel has been in the current owners hands for generations and now William holds the manager's role and is working hard to ensure the hotel delivers on accomodation standard's as well as its already legendary legacy standards.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Dreyeroord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dreyeroord

Address: Graaf van Rechterenweg 12 | Oosterbeek, 6861 BR Oosterbeek, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Oosterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oosterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dreyeroord 3*
Number of rooms: 27

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dreyeroord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.