We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Slice of Heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan to your Saves list
Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Km 175 | San Juan la Laguna, Atitlan, San Juan la Laguna 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little Slice of Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from spending four nights at Hotel Uxlabil on Lake Atitlan. At first, I was a little concerned about the isolation of the property, but the next day we learned that it's a nice 10-minute walk to town. The quiet (except for the early morning buses which honk their horns LOUDLY) and private location made up for this. The food was amazing (huge and delicious breakfast included with room price). We ate dinner there every night, and were delighted with the price and quality.

The kayaks were not the best, but we had a blast paddling to San Pedro and across the lake.

Juan, Luca, Eva and Angela were FANTASTIC. They each made us feel like we were with family. Juan’s knowledge of birding and hiking allowed us to experience the natural beauty of the area. Luca and his constant smile and laughter always make me happy (he was also very strong and helpful with our bags!). Eva and Angela ran the hotel and prepared amazing food – they took care of all the details.

Would definitely stay here again. Best if you can speak some Spanish, as English is not widely spoken. Also, Wifi is not great...but it was nice to unplug for a few days.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view. Top floor is brightest, and most isolated. Other floors have a hamm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 5 nights here and loved it. The hotel is in a very quiet, beautiful spot. Just a 10 minute walk to San Juan along a safe lake path, and about a 10 minute walk along the road to San Pedro, which is safe to do as well. The upstairs rooms are a bit brighter, but the lower rooms are bigger. There are hammocks and couches for chilling out on and the food at the restaurant is delicious! A big breakfast is included in the price and if you want to stay for dinner, you must tell them before hand.

Recommended.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

This was a very good stay for me. The night before I came to this hotel I stayed and Panajachel. It was loud and I couldn't sleep very well. Here is was so peaceful and the service was great. They also had a canoe and kayaks that you could take out for a spin. I enjoyed this place immensely and would recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet get away.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I stayed with a group of students from Michigan, and this is definitely a place you want to bring a group with. Kayaking on the lake is free, and there's a cooperative in San Juan where you can take lessons to make your own scarves, and Cafe la Vox isn't far. Uxlabil has their own garden, hammocks on ever balcony, solar panels to power electricity, and a peaceful atmosphere for a getaway on the lake. When I get the chance to come back to Guatemala, this is one of the places I will be returning to.

Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yev62Sc9RkQ&feature=youtu.be

Room Tip: As always, brig bug spray, and go before the rainy season (April- mid July) the lake level rises. Sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The hotel was in the middle of nowhere and there wasn´t any restaurant or possibility to eat in the hotel. So the only way to get food was to left to the village where wasn´t anything to eat for gluten-free/dairy-free/vegetarian person. And also the route from hotel to village was dangerous to walk in the dark because there wasn´t proper road. The room was really dark and cold and there wasn´t anybody in the reception after ~6pm. It felt like from the movie Shining that there were only two of us in the dark and cold hotel. And there was no Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eco Hoteles U, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan, responded to this review, March 25, 2015
Dear guest, we are very surprise about your comment because as you can see in other comments:
1. The hotel never stays alone and our staff is always aware of the guests and make them feel like home.
2. The restaurant is always open to our guests and we specialize in adapt our menu to what our guests needs.
3. Our hotel is distinguished because we are actually in a fairly quiet place; away from noisy. Reason that many of our guests look for us.

Normally, our staff make recommendations about little restaurants at the secure town of San Juan. The path is kind of messy because of the abrupt change of floods of the lake. We are doing everything in our power to maintain in the best conditions the path and we also trying to work with the mayors office to help us with the path that goes along to other owners lads.

Thank you for leaving you comment, we will be alert in everything that you said because we always try to do our best to have everyone happy in our hotels. Personally, I will be talking with the staff so this would not happen again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Absolutely loved this hotel! Hotel Uxlabil has an amazing view of the lake and mountains. The staff is extremely helpful and is available for whatever need arises. Breakfast and coffee are also great. There is a little bit of a hike to get into town but it is great exercise or you can use a Tuk-Tuk, which the staff will call for you. The town is a little noisy as well due to barking dogs and buses but most rooms aren't too noisy. The hotel itself is very peaceful and surrounded by beautiful scenery. Well worth the experience and can't beat the price! The people of San Juan are amazing and I can't wait to go back! If you can handle it, make sure to hike "the nose"!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the lake, interior rooms have less noise from the town. "C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eco Hoteles U, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear guest! Thank you for your comment and for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that other guest have a good experience with us. We are trying to add much other activities and promote health tourism. Hope that you visit us again and try our new services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Eco Hotel Uxlabil was one of our favorite places to stay in Guatemala. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Lucas, in particular, was always around and willing to lend a hand or offer advice on what to do in the area. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the property itself is gorgeous. There was abundant hot water and the included breakfast was delicious. The free kayaks were lovely for exploring the side of Lago de Atitlan where the hotel is located.

The hotel is located in between San Pedro and San Juan, both of which are walkable in less than 10 minutes during the day. A tuk-tuk from San Pedro after a night on the town costs 10 quetzales per person.

Overall, this is an extremely cute eco hotel that offers an incredible value. Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eco Hoteles U, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Guest, thank you for your lovely comment and for recognize our staff that give everything to have our guests happy. We are glad that you have a great experience and that you share it with us. Hope you visit us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan

Address: Km 175 | San Juan la Laguna, Atitlan, San Juan la Laguna 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Juan la Laguna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan la Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an eco hotel on the shores of lake Atitlan. A special hotel, with excellent view from every room, peaceful and with many activities inside the hotel and its surrounding; we are near a Mayan Tzutujil village called San Juan La Laguna, were you can learn about their interesting culture. We are specialized in bird watching and making different kind of tours (adventure, hiking, cultural, relaxing tours and more) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan Guatemala/Lake Atitlan - San Juan La Laguna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.