We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balbirnie House

Save Saved
You added Balbirnie House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balbirnie House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balbirnie Park, Markinch KY7 6NE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Markinch
Cardiff Wales
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Balbirnie House for a close friends wedding and was very impressed with the hotel. The rooms were fantastic, staff were lovely and helpful and the food was excellent. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Kate, We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Balbirnie House so much. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated.

Many thanks for denoting a 5 Star review for your friend's wedding.

We are really happy with our wedding offering this year, indeed our wedding literature in base format these days is some 64 A4 pages! Additionally, I have to say we are really overjoyed to see the reaction from so many clients to our new Midweek all-inclusive deals, based upon 70 guests. At the point of writing we also have just a handful of remaining 'Bonanza' dates - the best value in the country - for late this year and early next year, please do get in touch for more info, a great excuse to get married!

We've now had the first proper few days of Spring, and our gardens are now coming to life, cannot wait to see the level of presentation for external photography this summer season.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news Guest Comment sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    71
    36
    12
    5
See reviews for
54
139
1
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

l recentley attended a wedding at Balbinie House Hotel, a beautiful building, the setting truly made for a great wedding with great service and fab staff, the food was excellent and everything ran smoothly and according to the running order, with no hiccups or delays.
We stayed two nights and our room was good, but maybe needed some updating, no minibar, but l wouldnt let that put anyone off, but at £120 a night you usually get a mini bar.
Breakfast was superb and they catered for the wedding party the day after with ease and outstanding service.
l would definately stay again, and would recommend it for anyone who fancies a romantic weekend away, and only a short trip to St Andrews or Edinburgh, to visit the sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello Grizz, and many thanks for your kind review. I note that you are with BaxterStorey, 'Britain's leading independent food service provider'... It is always very nice to receive complimentary comments from any individual who is involved in our wonderful industry. Great to hear then that the wedding was fantastic!

You are certainly correct is mentioning that the setting truly makes for a great wedding. One of our most memorable quotes in history: from a Mrs Ellis, who said 'Balbirnie is like a Merchant Ivory film set'. Lovely!

All the best.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news Guest Comment sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have dined here alot with my partner at the bistro and orangery. I cannot fault it, fantastic food and service recieved each time.
Sunday lunch in the orangery is fantastic. It is so clean and the food was fantastic I definitely recomend the balbirnie. So worth a try.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Kim, We are absolutely delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your visits to Balbirnie House so much. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated.

Thank you so much for your 5 star review.

We've just launched our brand new season menus - in The Balbirnie Bistro, and The Orangery -, so will hopefully look forward to welcoming you back to Balbirnie in the not-too-distant future.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news Guest Comment sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We purchased a two night stay via Itison and stayed 7th-9th April. To be honest, the deal seemed almost too good to be true but having read all the many excellent reviews, I was very optimistic about our stay.

I can honestly say it was one of the best mini breaks we have had. From the moment we arrived we were extremely impressed. They gave us a complimentary upgrade to a four poster room (amazing!) and the room was very unique. Yes the furniture is old and a little worn but we felt it added wonderful charm and character and anything else would have looked out of place. I loved it! The bathroom was so charming. The room itself was huge and had 2 large wardrobes amongst many drawers and overlooked their lovely gardens.

The meals were out of this world. They went out of their way to accommodate my gluten free diet and the waiters and waitresses (particularly Laura in the Bistro) were always helpful, friendly and polite. The mussels are a must have for any seafood fan!!

Breakfast was served until 10 and even if we came down closer to 10, there was still lots of choice.

We were so impressed overall and would definitely go back.

The staff at Balbirnie should be very proud of themselves. It's the little things that make all the difference and ensure Balbirnie stands out as one of the best 4 star hotels we've visited.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello LL_Apple, many thanks for your 5 star review, and delighted to hear that you enjoyed the ITISON offer. Many hotels, when offering such an offer, restrain their services, not so at Balbirnie - it is very much business as usual. Such has been the success of these deals which we have featured from time to time over the last couple of years, we shall certainly intend repeating.

That was so kind of you to single out the very lovely Laura Docherty, who will be just over the moon to read your comments. We're also very happy to read your comments about the dining aspects, these days in the Bistro we're certainly focussed on Mussels, hot smoked fish from our in-house hot smoker, speciality steaks - my gratitude as always to David Smith and all at local Henderson's butchers, best Aberdeen Angus steaks in the land - and our own in-house factory-made ice creams and sorbets.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Balbirnie House so much. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated. You are certainly correct in saying some pieces of furniture are worn, we are very proud indeed to have such a magnificent collection of antiques, indeed from a new Insurer report which has just arrived on my desk this morning, we have just recently added a further 70 grand's worth!!! A collection now truly befitting the Grade A Listed status of the original Georgian 1777 mansion, and a measure of how our board of directors continue to re-invest back into Balbirnie - part explains why the hotel is so very unique.

Please email me direct next time you are visiting, and remind me of your review. I shall be delighted to organise a bottle of champagne for your arrival, compliments of the house.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news Guest Comment sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Service very good food 10/10 beware bar dear ,overall great meal.
Staff very helpful in restaurant. Did not stay only meal Hotel .Sitting in nice parkland great for walk before or after meal.All restaurant staff spot on

Room Tip: Good food well presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Mr Postman 1957. Many thanks for your kind comments and 5 Star review for The Orangery.
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Balbirnie House so much. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated.

Brand new season menus start tomorrow, very exciting. These are also now fully aligned to dinner in The West Room, and The Garden Room too, with choices on courses for groups above 12, of 4/2/4/4, even further enhancing the scope for commemorative celebrations at Balbirnie.

The Orangery is certainly well aligned to a complete experience, as you have so clearly outlined. What we're seeking to provide is a relaxed evening, simple and fabulous food, and a wonderful atmosphere with a real sense of occasion. That is, in any event, the aim!
Please do let me know when you are next in for dinner, as I will intend pre-dinner Cocktails on the house. I have noted your comment about bar pricing, however would point out that our bar pricing is significantly underneath many properties which in any way compare to Balbirnie, a pint, as an example, is currently £3.40 ... and our classic cocktails are even all priced very significantly lower than the prices I was myself charged in Edinburgh city centre bars a few weeks ago.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.
From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.
If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

There was a large group of family and friends who travelled up on the Tuesday for my step-daughter's wedding on the 3rd April. From the moment you walk into the reception, nothing is too much trouble, the staff are extremely helpful, friendly and polite. The Hotel is wonderful and the rooms are very comfortable. Ours was a standard room, but was well above what I would call 'standard'. We would not hesitate to travel back up from Leeds to have another break away. The grounds are impressive too if you fancy a walk. Incase you are wondering, the wedding went perfectly and once again staff were great, nothing was too much trouble and you always had service with a smile. Thank you Balbirnie, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: There is no lift in this hotel and quite a lot of stairs, something to bear in mind when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Gail, many thanks for posting your kind comments, it is very kind of you to denote a 5 star review, and we are simply over the moon to hear that the wedding ran perfectly. So it should, as I am always keen to point out, 'today is never a dress rehearsal for tomorrow'.

We've just had phase 1 judging process for this year's Hotel of the Year Awards ceremony. The judge (previous GM of one of Scotland's 5 AA Red Star hotels), told us that 'in terms of weddings, Balbirnie is now without doubt an iconic destination'. What a truly lovely comment to be received by our team.

For future weddings, we've just had our busiest 3 months ever for forward bookings, in history! And if anything, future bookings seem to just keep getting larger in scope, and larger too in the expressed desire and capacity to stage simply fabulous celebrations!!! Looking ahead, we are so very much looking forward to seeing how our gardens are looking for this spring and summer's wedding photographs.

All the best, and please do contact me personally to arrange a future visit to Balbirnie, so I can ensure everything is as it should be.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Balbirnie House so much. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news Guest Comment sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

great hotel. Stayed for 2 days using a voucher. Treated like first class guests. Would go back.

Our room was lovely needed a room on ground floor as husband disabled. We were given a deluxe room. thank you Balbirnie

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello Maggros,
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Balbirnie House so much. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated.

Many thanks for your 5 Star review, that is lovely to hear you had a Great 2 Days, and that you were treated as First Class guests. That in any event is always the endeavour.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news Guest Comment sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balbirnie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balbirnie House

Address: Balbirnie Park, Markinch KY7 6NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Markinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Markinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balbirnie House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balbirnie House is a quite unique multi-award winning country house hotel which combines understated luxury with superb service and outstanding value. Widely acknowledged as one of the finest of the privately owned small luxury hotels in Scotland, Balbirnie offers a wonderful experience, whatever the occasion of your visit. Fine food, lovely surroundings and above all a real sense of friendly Scottish hospitality combine to create quite a unique setting for today’s house guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Balbirnie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balbirnie House Hotel Markinch
Balbirnie House Markinch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balbirnie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.