We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOTALLY RELAXING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balbirnie House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Balbirnie House to your Saves list
Balbirnie House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balbirnie Park, Markinch KY7 6NE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markinch
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“TOTALLY RELAXING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed on Friday 13th January (not for the first time) We had a fantastic room with great views. Afternoon cream tea was delicious. Dinner was superb. Plenty to choose from at breakfast. If you are looking for a nice quiet time this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello EFB Scotland, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. On behalf of all at Balbirnie, our sincere gratitude for your 5 Star Review.

Noted as well, you stayed on Friday 13th, a night which can sometimes be a tricky one with which to guarantee consistency :-) !!!

Thank you so much. And you are right, these occasional more peaceful nights at this time of year can be just lovely...

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    82
    41
    15
    6
See reviews for
74
158
1
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a perfect place to stay when in the Fife area. Easy to get to, fantastic seating areas and library bars throughout. Multiple dining choices on site.

This is a beautiful and delightful 18th century Georgian mansion nestled amidst acres of rolling parkland in the heart of Fife. It's a small luxury country house hotel which combines fine food, lovely surroundings and sense of friendly Scottish hospitality.

With 2 restaurants and 8 different private rooms seating small to large groups. Balbirnie offered a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello FCord, and our gratitude for such a lovely and kind set of comments, noted from a Senior Reviewer. Thank you so much for your 5 Star review.

'Fabtastic' you say. Well that is totally our new favourite word for 2013!!! Fabulous!

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was at this hotel for a family wedding along with family. The hotel was set of the main road in a very quiet setting making you think you were in the country. The staff could not have done any more for us, they were fantastic. Food was of a high quality and the hotel left us all feeling very relaxed. I would stay at this hotel again if visiting this part of the world

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello Irish Rambler, many thanks indeed for your kind comments. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding.

I would mention in passing, it is always lovely for anyone to visit Balbirnie when we are unusually 'Tranquill' - that can happen sometimes, but as a hotel we can also very routinely be catering for 300 to 400 in-house guests on any given evening, using multiple areas, Bistro, Orangery, Ballroom, private Special Event rooms etc

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent New Year at Balbirnie, it was an excellent break and we were very well looked after from arrival on 31st December throught to our departure on 2nd January. The staff in the bars and restaurants were terrific.
We had a standard room on the third floor which was very nice with everything we needed(no lift)
We arrived to find an invite to afternoon tea which was lovely sitting in one of the lounge areas in front of the fire. The Hogmanay Gala Ball was a great night (apart from the running our of canapes before they got to us, the waitresses kept going back to the same people) and the meal was excellent, drinks reasonably priced and good band and disco got everyone up dancing.
We decided against breakfast on New Years day and went for a nice walk in the park followed by the gala lunch, so much to eat again (loved the roast beef and banofi creme brulees) we needed a sleep before dinner at night another 4 course affair. Very relaxed day with plenty of lounges and seating areas and a great breakfast on the 2nd before we departed. Some board games for guests to play would have been good. The treasure hunt was very difficult and almost impossible to answer the majority of ther questions.
We would recommend this type of break. I wish we'd know you could take your dog as we would have done this.
The only negative thing upon checkout was the mess made about bills including trying to overcharge and charge us for things already paid for, they need to sort this out.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb loads of stairs ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello BuddieGirl, and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed The New Year stay. On behalf of all at Balbirnie, our gratitude for your kind comments, and 5 Star review.

The New Year Ball is certainly a particular highlight, that is lovely to hear that you enjoyed. That event always sold out well in advance, same as New Year Gala lunch, what a busy time.

I fully agree with you about the Treasure Hunt being challenging!!!

And our apologies for the error on the bill on check-out.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

May wife booked a one night stay with dinner at the Bilbirnie Hotel in Fife. She had heard about it from friends who had been there for weddings. It was all that people had said with a great room both comfortable and with ambience especially the four poster bed and a large spa bath. We had a lovely dinner with high quality well prepared food although maybe too much of it but served by attentive staff. It also had lovely gardens although when we were there it was too cold and wet to venture forth. Also if you are that way inclined there is also a golf course. You should certainly try it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello EGD 44, many thanks for your kind comments, and so very happy - on behalf of all at Balbirnie, to hear that we fulfilled your expectations. Our gratitude for your comments.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We booked a Festive Break at the Balbirnie which is excellent value and enough to tempt us out on a cold December evening. This is not the first time we have stayed so we knew what to expect and had high expectations.
On arrival we were given a reasonably warm welcome then handed a key and waved vaguely in the direction of our room which turned out to be the Balfour Suite. The bathroom was small and a little shabby but they had made the best of it. The bedroom was warm with a wonderfully eclectic mix of furnishings and there was a vast adjoining sitting room. All a little “shabby chic” but charming in its own way.
This is not a soulless chain hotel so don’t expect high end style and uniformity. Every guest room is different in size, shape and style and throughout there is a mix of old and antique furniture and chintz in the country house style, except for in the more contemporary restaurants. The flower arrangements are always beautiful and being Christmas the hotel was decorated for the holiday season.
The festive package included a glass of mulled wine and mince pies which was served in front of the fire. It was below freezing outside so this was a welcome treat and set the tone for our evening. The dinner menu was brought to us by a young man (Turkish) who was both professional and efficient but at the same time chatty and welcoming. Undecided as to which wine to choose we asked for a recommendation, he went off to consult and returned to us with a wine recommendation and canapés.( The wine was excellent and a perfect temperature)
The hotel was full on the night we stayed but most of the guests were on business and chose to dine in the less formal Bistro. We were almost alone in the large Orangery which spoilt the atmosphere but the tables were dressed in crisp white linen and beautifully set with the added touch of silver Christmas crackers.
Our food was superb, beautifully presented and impeccably served. The set menu which is canapés and four courses ( for £39 I think) offered plenty of choice and is excellent value for the quality of the food. After dinner we retired back to the fire for coffee and a glass of port to round off the meal.
Despite the freezing weather I found our room to be a little warm overnight. The bed was not the most comfortable but the sheets crisp and well pressed. The pillows were not to be recommended. There was a small kettle in the room to make tea / coffee but no drinking water and it was impossible to get cold water from the bathroom tap. Small points but a bottle of water, a turn down service, perhaps some magazines in the sitting room and a morning newspaper would have made it 5 star.
Breakfast is a self service buffet in the Orangery. There is a good selection of both hot and cold choices. Unfortunately the hot food is in heated chafing dishes so is tepid, wet from the condensation and more canteen than luxury hotel. We did get fresh toast and tea but although the choice was great the quality was disappointing.
The Balbirnie is a lovely country house hotel and is our escape of choice as we live in easy driving distance. The staff are warm and welcoming, the bedrooms vary as some are bigger than others and I believe that not all have been refurbished, the public rooms lovely and the quality of the food in the Orangery excellent. We do go when they have an offer on and it is excellent value but as it happens this time we were over charged by over £100 which I did not notice until I got home. I called and this was quickly and efficiently remedied. As hotels in the UK go we think that this is among the best.

Room Tip: One of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello Loanhead, What a comprehensive review from a Senior Reviewer, and thank you for denoting as 5 Stars. The festive season at Balbirnie is certainly one of the most special times of year, I just love these few weeks.

You finished your comments with 'As Hotels in the UK go, we think that this is among the best'. That is praise indeed. On behalf of the entire brigade, our gratitude.

We are always very keen to instill in those who are new to the company, and indeed to the hotel trade, that it isn't me - as the owner - who pays the wages. Rather it is you, Loanhead, who does that, the customer!!! Thank you so much for your trade.

Next time you visit please drop me an email, so I can arrange a bottle of complimentary champagne, as a small gesture for your kindness, and your thorough review.

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

From 1st contact, then visit, evening meal, Bed & Breakfast - one word superb. Couldn't fault the service, the food or the room. For a lovely romantic break away I have and will continue to recommend Balbirnie House Hotel my advice is look no further. I bought a groupon deal and just as it should be I received 1st class service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello yPrentice, many thanks for your kind and thoughtful review. If the one word you choose to use is 'superb', well that is certainly a compliment indeed. On behalf of all at Balbirnie, our gratitude.

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit on that special deal. We shall be continuing to offer those on certain months of the year. Many hotels - when offering such deals - reduce their service and provision, we don't - different price but same delivery!

To read a further selection of our monthly guestbook comments and reviews, from guests known to have stayed in our hotel, or who have visited as a guest, please do take just a few moments to visit our web site.

From the many lovely emails, cards and letters which we receive, and in tandem with our guestbook records, every month we take a selection of those additional comments and place them on our latest news sections. As always, our thanks to Donna Reid from our reception team, who takes the time every month to collate all of those very lovely comments and reviews. These can of course be fully trusted, and accepted as reality.

If there is ever any element of guest dissatisfaction whatsoever, then I would always ask please that any guest with any complaint, no matter how small, contacts me personally to discuss.

Best wishes, Nicholas Russell/ General Manager/ Balbirnie House - 1992 – Present
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balbirnie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balbirnie House

Address: Balbirnie Park, Markinch KY7 6NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Markinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balbirnie House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balbirnie House is a quite unique multi-award winning country house hotel which combines understated luxury with superb service and outstanding value. Widely acknowledged as one of the finest of the privately owned small luxury hotels in Scotland, Balbirnie offers a wonderful experience, whatever the occasion of your visit. Fine food, lovely surroundings and above all a real sense of friendly Scottish hospitality combine to create quite a unique setting for today’s house guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balbirnie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balbirnie House Hotel Markinch
Balbirnie House Markinch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balbirnie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.