We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town House Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Markinch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Town House Hotel
Save
You added Town House Hotel to your Saves list
1 High Street | Markinch, Markinch, Glenrothes KY7 6DQ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Markinch B&B and Inns
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights earlier this month. The hotel has a warm and friendly atmosphere with friendly staff and owners who clearly take a pride in their business. The room was very clean and well laid out, and the bed very comfortable with crisp clean linen. The food was superb, with ample and tasty portions.

Overall, I can highly recommend this hotel - it is ideally located for a myriad of local attractions locations in Fife, and is well placed, and very well priced for the business and holiday traveller alike.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    5
    3
    13
See reviews for
12
7
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed in the Town House for 2 nights, mid week, on business and found it to be delightful. I chose it for convenience more than anything, as I was working a few minutes drive away in the Glenrothes industrial estate, and as it's across the road from the railway station (having travelled up from Yorkshire by train).

The room was comfortable, spacious and clean, with all the usual facilities, including free wireless internet, plus a small carafe of sherry, which I thought was a very nice little touch!

The staff were mostly young and seemed a little over-worked, but were friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. No sign of the rude women reported by other reviewers!

The evening meals were of a decent quality and obviously home made. They wouldn't win any Michelin stars but for the price it was perfectly acceptable and the menu included a few imaginative choices. The restaurant was clearly a popular place to eat and was pretty much full, largely with non-residents, which is unusual for Tue/Wed evenings these days. (Not that there's a great deal of other places to eat in Markinch).

They do only seem to take bookings up to about 8-30 (mid-week anyway) so if you want to explore the local area after work it doesn't give a great deal of time. The whole place (the bar) then closes once the restaurant is cleared so not a good place if you want to stay up late drinking. You do get a front door key though, if you do want to go out on the town, such as it is. (Jimmy's bar across the road, and that's about it!)

Breakfast is cooked to order and, again, of a good quality but they don't start serving till 7-30 which does make things a bit of a rush if you have to get to work.

Markinch itself is typical of the area and a rather dreary little town, although the fact that it rained non-stop while I was there possibly didn't help give the best impression! There are, apparently, some lovely fishing villages on the coast a short drive away, but I didn't get the chance to visit them.

All in all, a very pleasant little hotel and very good value for money. I expect I'll stay there again next time I have cause to visit the area.

Room Tip: My room overlooked hte main street but no noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed two nights in a double en suite room which overlooked the town's main road and near the station but both were quite quiet. The room was spacious, newly decorated, clean and very comfortable, with two easy chairs in the bay window, good television, and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good (full Scottish one day, smoked haddock and poached egg on the other) and we had an evening meal here as well, which was delicious - recommended. The owners were very friendly and gave good info on where to visit - particularly the small fishing villages around the coast (St Monans, Crail), St Andrews (of course) and the Falkland Palace. Also, I left my phone charger and they did not hesitate to send it on, refusing my offer to pay postage.
Parking is on the local roads but not a problem. Markinch itself does not have much to see and do, but this was a good base for the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I've been reading some of the reviews and wonder if I am staying in the same place!

This is about my 5th stay, all business and normally for a whole week. The food is excellent, with a good choice on the main menu and at least one special for each course and the prices (c. £5 for starters/deserts and about £11 for mains) are exceptional. I can heartily recommend the Caesar Salad and am tempted to order a double portion as a main next time. There is always a salad bar as an option to mixed veg.

People I am working with have said the Townhouse is well known for excellent lunches, although I cannot comment on this.

The rooms are clean, well furnished and even provide a decanter of sherry if you feel in need of a nightcap. The ensuites are clean and the showers are bigger than some (you can turn around without getting stuck, always a good sign!) There is free WiFi so no internet problems.

Breakfast is excellent, with a mixed grill that can set you up for the whole day, and probably the day after!

The location is excellent, a stones throw from the railway station, so if you don't want to drive, train is a viable option.

Price-wise, the Townhouse is quite reasonable (£50 for a single room) so, combined with a 3 course dinner and a couple of drinks, you won't go over £75 to £80 for the night.

The staff have been invariably polite and friendly, and "mine host" is always happy to stop for a chat.

All in all, I think the Townhouse is one of the best small hotels I have stayed in for quite some time and the value for money is superb.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I have stayed at the Townhouse on a number of occasions this year and have always found it to be clean, tidy and warm, I find the owners to be very friendly and helpful, they always have a cheerful word, and the staff are some of the most pleasant people I have come across. The restaurant is very comfortable and the menu is varied to suit most tastes. The rooms are warm and comfortable (to warm sometimes) Tea/coffee and biscuits are provided along with freeview on TV and free wifi. It is ideally located for transport and more importantly it is quiet during the night. no traffic noises. Infact I like the place so much I will be staying there tonight

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
purgatory
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Staying over for work midweek, found this place via Laterooms – where the reviews were excellent. Single occupancy rate for a double room - when I arrived, I was placed into a great street facing room, which had been decorated in a really nice style. Free internet too.

Parking was on the street, but wasn’t too hard to find. Village seemed a bit grim – but it could have been a mid-week thing. No bitter on hand-pump, but the food was nice enough – tasty & interesting. Good for a work trip!

Cheap as well (especially with the meal). Would stay here again if this way for work. Well worth it, corporate slaves – better than a Travelodge / Premier Inn, anyway!

Room Tip: Room one is fitted out well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markinch, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

food was basic but ok, owner can be rude, but other staff friendly. not a first choice eating place as to a "will do can't be bothered looking around", easy to get booked as every time i've passed its not busy.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House Hotel

Address: 1 High Street | Markinch, Markinch, Glenrothes KY7 6DQ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes > Markinch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Markinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Town House Hotel Markinch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.