We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great half day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alligator Bay

Alligator Bay
62 Route Mont St Michel, 50170 Beauvoir, France
+33 (0)2 33 68 11 18
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Beauvoir
Type: Water Parks
Attraction Details
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great half day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stopped here after going to Mont St Michel (that was a horrible experience). This was a backup just-in-case it rained.

We had no expectations of what to see and to do. Parking was easy around the site, plenty of places when we were there. Paid the entrance fee, no idea how much it was, but suspect it wasn't cheap.

First things we saw were around 20 large alligators resting. You are on a platform around six feed above them, with a protruding ledge to stop any alligators jumping up. I understand that they can actually get high in the air :)

Anyway, its quite an awesome sight, some of these animals are big. Enough to make your toes curl just looking at them, I have no idea why some people were unimpressed, I was fascinated as were my two girls (six and four). There are a wide variety and large number of alligators and crocs including two albino ones. Very impressive. We came back to watch some french lunatic feed the crocs by hand. He tapped them on the nose and hand fed them meat. Words fail me.
Anyway if you do want to watch him feed the crocs make sure you get their in good time and take camera. Mind you he might have been eaten by them when you read this :)

As well as the crocs, there are terrapins by the gazillion which are nice to watch. The centre keeps tame rabbits to keep the grass down which was nice. I assume the rabbits don't go near to the crocs and alligators.

We loved the giant tortoises. We were there at feeding and the man dojng the talking was very, very knowledgeable and from the UK. He was very happy to do it all again in English as well as perfect French. We spent over an hour just watching the tortoises and the girls stroking the backs of them. Very peaceful.

We also saw the other reptiles and snakes. Again no idea why people weren't impressed. We've seen most zoos on most continents and this reptile section was better than most. Once nice feature is the children have clear tunnels that go through the boa section. You can have pictures of the kids in the middle of a Boa curled around the perspex viewing cube. Great fun.

Food prices were average, it is France so don't expect anything cheap. We only tried ice lollies. Toilets were clean and easy to find. I recall we filled water bottles from a drinking water tap.

Overall we were very pleased with our visit and would certainly go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    49
    17
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“suprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spotted this attraction on our way to Mont-st-michel and so promised the kids if they were good we'd go on the way back-in hindsight i would give the historic site a miss and just go here instead! We were a bit dubious as to how many animals would be in the bay as we had not seen any advertising for the attratction, we needn't have worried there were hundreds of alligators and crocs and reptiles and tortoises and turtles. We went in the afternoon and saw the feeding of the alligators which consisted of a man with a trolley of dead fluffy things moving his way through the crowds and throwing them at the waiting alligators amazing to see. It was really hot in the enclosure though and a bit smelly but worth it. The kids also spotted snakes eating rats which facinated them. A really good place for adults and kids alike.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Noticed place on way to mont st Michel and decided to go.......was amazing to get close to alligators and arrived just in time to see them being fed.........lots of other animals, tortoises and reptiles to see...the snakes were fantastic and the viewing pods for kids (and adults) helped the kids see them close up.......great value for money too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More Gators please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Ten year old bored stiff until we got to the alligators. All a bit pricey. But a good day out, take a picnic, although food was good. Think only really worth going if your children are into reptiles or you want to see the alligators fed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was the second time we ad visited Alligator Bay after visiting Mont-Saint-Michel. (It's only about 5 minutes down the road) We had to queue, again, for about 20 minutes before being served. Feeding time of the crocodiles/Alligtors was at 16:30 so we decided to go and see the reptiles and turtles first. Lots of variety of snakes and lizards-some more active than others! The turtles enclosures are well thought out and allow for a good number of close ups. The giant turtle area has a section for everyone to enter. In the enclosure you are able to touch and feed the turtles. At 16:30 we headed back to the alligator enclosure to watch them being fed. I would definitely recommend this if you are visiting the attraction. Rather than the alligators/crocodiles just basking in the sun, they were very lively, not surprising considering the amount of food they are given! If you are in the area I would definitely recommend s visit, especially of you have children!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alligator Bay also viewed

 
Saint-Martin-de-Landelles, Manche
 

Been to Alligator Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alligator Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alligator Bay to your Saves list