We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairy tale cottage...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferme Saint Joseph

Save Saved
You added Ferme Saint Joseph to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com
Ferme Saint Joseph
Polders Saint Joseph, 50170 Beauvoir, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Beauvoir
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fairy tale cottage...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

...with a view of the castle. This is a magical place, just a few minutes drive away from the main road to Mont St Michel, but surrounded by rural peace. My husband and I, and my parents, stayed one night in two ground-floor rooms looking straight out at the Mont. The rooms were attractively furnished, clean and comfortable, with the added convenience of access to a small kitchen from our room. Bathrooms very clean and modern, which isn't always the case in b&bs. Our hostess was welcoming but not overbearing. Outside, there were picnic tables which would have been perfect for dinner except that it was unusually cold in early July, No worries--we had a nice table for four in our room, so after a rainy visit to Mont St Michel we had a cozy dinner of take-out followed by coffee and old Calvados that we'd bought in Beauvoir--all while watching the illumination of Mont St Michel after dark. We all wished we were staying longer than the one night.

Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and tasty, and we enjoyed strolling around the farm looking at the chickens and playing with the dog before reluctantly packing up to leave. Would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: There are many different kinds of rooms here so if you want something specific you should ask in ema...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is the closest you can get to Mont St Michel - we saw it from our room and often had dinner outside watching the sunset and lights turn on in the monastery. It's a short walk to the bus that takes you to MSM. Mont St Michel was definitely one of the highlights of our visit in Normandy and it is a must visit. The room was nice, the breakfast good and the hostess was very friendly and efficient. This is a great B&B to explore the area and to come back to the great view of MSM.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Awesome location off the main tourist strip.
Clean, quiet rooms perfect for families. We had our own suite (the kids had their own bedroom but were separated from the rest of the guests' rooms with us).
Fantastic view of Mont Saint Michel from our bedroom window.
Heated, indoor pool.
Friendly, helpful service.
Good breakfast.
Front yard had a play area for the kids.
This place was absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a lovely view...you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this B&B--the atmosphere was very rural and yet the farm is very close to Mont St. Michel and the village of Beauvoir. Mont St. Michel is definitely worth seeing, though it, like the town, is a bit Disneyfied--it's a major tourist attraction. At the end of the day, it's nice to get away to this French farmhouse. We particularly enjoyed borrowing the bikes and going for a bike ride down the country lanes, seeing the farmers do their thing. There are chickens in the yard and a nice big dog. The room we stayed in was nice, large enough for 3, with some nice antiques, and the view from our window was simply awesome. We would have been sharing a bathroom with another room, but it was vacant at the time. It had a shower, no bath, but hey, it was not too pricy. Madame speaks little English, but it's a well-run place, and she's very thoughtful and hard-working. The breakfast was good, with homemade jam and bread. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

If you are traveling to Mont Saint-Michel you cannot go wrong with this B and B. Simply a fantastic location with views of MSM directly from the room. It was clean and the hostess was warm and friendly. If you enjoy the B and B experience, you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Ferme St. Joseph is one of the very few that would take us for only one night. We had a wonderful view of Mont St. Michel from our window. We reserved the family room, as we were 2 girlfriends travelling and wanted our own space. We had a closet divider between the king size bed and the twin beds. There was also a twin in the king room as well as a pack and play in the closet, so it could potentially sleep a family of 6. Bathroom facilities were very efficient, with a modern hairdryer, always a plus. The decor was spare, but spotless, and the beds very comfortable. We were given a key to our upstairs suite that opened onto a common space with a living area and kitchen. Breakfast included homemade breads, jams, yogurt, fruit, juices, coffee or tea. The hostess had very little English, but was friendly, warm, and somehow we managed to understand just enough and to be understood. All of this for 50 euros/night! If you are in the area to visit Mont St. Michel as we were, the drive is about 5-10 mins. and direct. It could be a nice bike ride. This was an excellent value, I highly recommend Ferme Saint Joseph.

Room Tip: This b and b was very spacious, I can only imagine all rooms are fine...all have a view of the Abbey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

What a perfect location with a magnicificent view of the castle from each room. While I speak no French, I had no problems communicating with the very gracious hostess. She put beautiful fresh cut flowers in the room, made exquisite breads for breakfast, and allowed us to roam around the farm and relax in the wonderful gardens. I loved all of the various critters too!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ferme Saint Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferme Saint Joseph

Address: Polders Saint Joseph, 50170 Beauvoir, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Beauvoir
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Beauvoir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ferme Saint Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferme Saint Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.