We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Laguna Mar

Restaurant Laguna Mar
Hotel Laguna Mar | Javilla, Playa San Miguel, Costa Rica
2655-8181
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: International, Central American, Bar, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Full Service Restaurant Y Lounge 7 Days a week Breakfast - Lunch - Dinner - Bocas - Deserts and Snacks. Full Bar
2 reviews
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

A friend referred us to this very cool new place close to Playa San Miguel and we could not have been happier! The hotel grounds were creative and inviting and it was great to have a clean, cool freshwater pool to dip into after enjoying the local beaches. The staff was eager to please and the chef created a masterpiece with the fresh fish we caught while fishing with one of the local fishermen. Internet was reliable, a necessary evil for us while on vacation, and the air conditioned rooms were a welcome respite after horse back riding, surfing, and zip-lining in the area. Big thanks to Michael for his exceptional service ( at any hour! ) and to the owner, Drew, for a complimentary welcome cocktail that got our stay in Guanacaste off to a great start. And don't miss the homemade pizza next door at Pizza Tree!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    31
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marinette, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a gem in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

On Sunday Jan 6, 2013 we visited the restaurant for dinner- everything was 1/2 price-- it should not have been. it was one of the best meals any of our group of 6, including 4 from the USA and two ticos have ever had.

The owner Drew was our waiter and the Chef Pablo visited us to describe each course, make suggestions and get critique.

This was a delight that was very well worth the 30 minute drive from Punta Islita.

This experience was 5 star in every respect

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Porvenir, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A delightful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I live in the area and was told about this new restaurant with a chef trained in Denmark. We went with family from the U.S. and we were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was at reasonable prices. The chef came to speak with us at our table and thanked us for coming. Everyone was very accommodating and the service was excellent. The restaurant and service is definitely a cut above the usual fare in the area and closer to what international travelers expect. A excellent choice for dinner!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A culinary delight in pristine Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

In early December I spent a week at the Hotel Laguna Mar with three other friends and we were thrilled by the meals, which I would easily rate as five star. Trained in Denmark and Italy, Chef Pablo prepared the most delicious dishes enhancing the freshest ingredients (think sea bass caught that morning) with creative touches reflecting a combination of his Costa Rican background and high end culinary training. (See photos below). Like many of his fellow countrymen, Chef Pablo is charming. He greeted diners in the evening, inquiring about their tastes and describing his specials of the day, which he was willing to modify based on individual preferences or food allergies. While the food is high end, the atmosphere is casual and relaxed with many guests stopping by each other's tables to chat. Expats in the area fill up the bar seating as well, and dinner is a long, relaxing affair punctuated by laughter. Even if you're not staying at the hotel, I'd highly recommend making time for dinner here. You won't be disappointed! And you might even make some new friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Laguna Mar Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My friends and I spent a week at Hotel Laguna Mar in December. We experienced many wonderful things especially the FANTASTIC food prepared by Chef Pablo. The food was the BEST I have ever had! It is a long winter here in New England and even longer now missing the warm weather, beautiful beaches and scrumptious food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Laguna Mar also viewed

Playa San Miguel, Province of Guanacaste
Playa San Miguel, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa San Miguel, Province of Guanacaste

Been to Restaurant Laguna Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Laguna Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.