We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hung Up On The Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Scorpion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa San Miguel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Scorpion
Save
You added The Flying Scorpion to your Saves list
Playa San Miguel, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hung Up On The Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Hard to keep this short. Burgers second to none. "Marbeth's salad". Pasta Arrabiata. Meatballs. Chicken parm. Veal parm. Penne with sun-dried tomatoes and artichokes. Pizzas! And to quote my wife: "We had to come all the way to Costa Rica for great sushi". Oh...and home-made ice cream. 'Nuff said.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
68
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed here for four nights, and had a great time. All we wanted was a beautiful, empty beach, good food, and a clean room, and this more than delivered. The hotel is across the road from San Miguel: the other reviews explain what an amazing beach this is. Amanda and Rossi (the owners/managers) really made us feel at home. Food was excellent: sushi, pasta, ice cream, fish tacos...I could keep going. We didn't even think about eating anywhere else for any meal. It was also the best breakfast we had in CR. One thing to note is that the restaurant runs on Tico time, so it's best to bring a book or meet some new friends. The rooms are good: the shower had hot water, they cleaned it every day, and the bed was comfortable. And for $50 a night, that's a great deal.

Overall, this was an amazing place to just veg out for a while. (They do have wifi if you can't fully disconnect). Besides deciding what to eat, all we did was choose between sitting on the beach or in the hammocks. I can't say much about setting up other tours, but Rossi is really helpful so I'm sure it isn't a problem. Highly recommended!

One final note: the roads to San Miguel are not that bad. The signage and potholes are better than those on the road to Monteverde.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Simple yet spotless and charming cabinas - warm water, great bed, good fan, no bugs
Great, generous and fun owner and staff
Adorable pack of 7 Weimaraner dogs living in the place
Excellent restaurant with Italian Food (owner has Italian heritage) and sushi (best sushi in CR) with very reasonable prices

We had planned to stay three nights and ended up staying for 7. And we would have stayed even longer if we didn't have other places we really wanted to see). However, we found that no other place was as good value for money and fun as the Scorpion in the whole of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omarseyal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

I'm almost hesitant to review this place -- I don't want anyone to discover this "secret spot" -- but because I had such a great experience, and because the owner/manager is so endearing, I figured I should put in a few good words.

This is a phenomenal surf spot, with great food, a friendly staff, and tons of interesting / cool passers by to get to know. If you're aiming to avoid the tourists but still enjoy the beauty of Costa Rica, this is your scene.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

The Flying Scorpion is one of those places that you want to rave about and keep all to yourself at the same time. The perfect place to relax, meet some amazing people, enjoy outstanding home cooking, listen to great music, and soak in a little slice of paradise.

After picking my cousin and I up at the Punta Islita airport, Rossi (the owner) pulled over about 20 minutes later and asked us to get out. We were at the top of a cliff overlooking an absolute picturesque Playa San Miguel. "That's my beach," said Rossi with an ear to ear grin. And so began an amazing week.

The Scorpion is a perfect mix of laid back and detail oriented. Situated essentially right on the beach (which you basically have to yourself except for the extreme busy seasons and major holidays) you can come and go as you please, lounge in the hammocks, read from the community book shelf, listen to Rossi's amazing music selection, surf the web, surf the waves, or simply use it as a way point for adventures around the region. It is the perfect place to just soak in the sun and unwind.

The second half of the equation, the part that paradoxically enhances the care-free atmosphere, is the attention to details, the ones that matter -- that embrace the experience of vacationing in Costa Rica, not supplant it with overzealous gimmicks and faux luxury . The rooms are clean and comfortable, the common areas are open and welcoming, the food is simple yet absolutely delicious, and the bar is well-stocked!! :)

I stayed for a little over a week and honestly felt spoiled by Rossi and his entire staff throughout. Whether you are looking for a place to get away to, or want to build in a little downtime after seeing San Jose and traversing around CR, I would highly recommend checking out The Flying Scorpion.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Flying Scorpion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Scorpion

Address: Playa San Miguel, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa San Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of Costa Rica's most beautiful beaches, Playa San Miguel. Wake early to welcome the dawn with yoga. Spend lazy days reading in one of our hammocks or sunbathing. Or be active! Epic surfing, surf lessons, guided waterfall tours, horseback riding, and world-class fishing await you. The Flying Scorpion includes six houses, five seaside cabinas, a studio apartment, a fully stocked bar and restaurant on the Pacific Ocean, and a wildlife-filled estuary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Flying Scorpion Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Scorpion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.