We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Laguna Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Mar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Between Coyote and Playa San Miguel | Front of the School Javilla, Playa San Miguel 5301-48, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Lodi, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Unfortunately I was only able to stay a few days, but the owner and staff made me feel right at home. They definitely knew the area very well and were able to give me and my friends great suggestions on what to do and where to go in the area. They even helped me find my way to to San Jose so that I could catch my flight, even though my schedule was not the easiest to work with. The rooms were very clean and the whole place was very well kept. The food the served in the restaurant/bar area was incredibly delicious and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
46
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escazu, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at Laguna Mar in Playa San Miguel. I was surprised to be introduced to a beach in Costa Rica yet undiscovered and so long and beautiful! If you are looking for an affordable excelente experience I recommend Laguna Mar hotel. The hotel is tastefully designed with a very comfortable social area. The staff is friendly and helpful, the chef is gourmet, and the owner always enthusiastic and welcoming! Give it a try and you will be telling your friends about it!

Room Tip: Room 9 is on the second floor in the corner so it has more privacy than some of the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake Shores, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I didn't actually stay at this hotel, but while waiting for our puddle jumper the owner, Drew was dropping a client off and was so kind to take us to hit hotel to use the bathroom and grab a coffee and cookies. It was greatly appreciated after being in the car for 2 hours.
I did get to see several guests enjoying breakfast in the shade by the pool. The place has a very serene feeling and if the rooms are anything like the lobby and main gathering place, they are top notch!
Drew told us about some great surf spots nearby which next time down will be on our list.
Hope to visit Costa Rica again soon and stay in this lovely area!
Candace

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Laguna Mar is a slice of heaven; imagine a white, spacious, art- deco, modern hotel with a flare of South Beach, Florida. The entire Costa Rican staff is gracious and accommodating from the beginning to end of your stay. Prepare to receive a cold, citrus drink upon your arrival followed by assistance with your luggage, delivered to your room. The body care products, towels, bed, room and sheets are top-notch quality! During your stay, you will talk with and make friends with the outstanding chef, Pablo! His meals are fresh, flavorful, creative and delicious. This is not the time to rush – take time to enjoy the food, atmosphere and ‘Ticos’. Drew, the owner treats his guests like VIP; he’s always smiling, delivering for his guests, and providing any resources that are needed. He's an exceptional host.

There is also a strong degree-of networking in Javilla – take advantage of speaking with the Laguna Mar staff, including, the Lovely Angelica and Drew to learn more about ‘Must Do’ while exploring beautiful Guanacaste, San Miguel.

My personal favorite excursions were: visiting Michael’s impressive, outdoor butterfly and honey farm; Ed and Gwen’s bed & breakfast with Costa Rican coffee, homemade hot sticky buns and therapeutic horse back rides overlooking gorgeous scenic views; and experiencing the thrill of zip-lining at Punta Islita.

For an even MORE authentic experience, hire 'Tico' brothers, Milton and Nelson to drive you and your family on the unpaved roads of Guanacaste and explore the area like you’ve never experienced; these brothers are intelligent, funny, friendly and bilingual.

Enjoy your stay at Laguna Mar!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was my first stay at the hotel laguna mar and i was very impressed with the hotel.... the layout is amazing it has a very tropical feel with a very modern and attractive design.. the staff and owner are nice and there to help you at any way they can... the food there is deserves an A+ at the least, the chef Pablo is very talented and personable to the customers.. constantly checking to see their food meets the expectations.... there is plenty to do in the area around the hotel and the owner is more then knowledgable of the area in where to go what activities to do, places to go and sights to see there is even a rental car/ transportation business right across the street which is very convenient ... I throughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and definitely would stop at it again next time I'm in costa rica

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This small boutique hotel is just the perfect place to relax. The staff is attentive without being bothersome. Michael greeted us with a cocktail and took our suitcases to the rooms. The chef, Pablo is a shinning star. I have gluten issues and he pull together a shrimp rice noodle recipe right out of his hat especially for me! I had the penthouse room and the views were spectacular. Alvaro mixed great drinks and my glass was never empty! The hotel was spotless, sheets and towels top of the line. Definitely, I will be back!

Room Tip: I loved the penthouse but some might find it a bit loud. I happened to enjoy waking up to howler mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This has been a wonderful experience and things really connected and started happening when we arrived the the Laguna Mar Hotel in Jabilla. This is absolutely the most friendly and helpful staff and everyone works to make your stay exceptional. World class food by a talented chef. We met several very enjoyable travelers while staying here. The rooms are comfortable, very well maintained, truly good beds and pillows. All you can ask for at a good price. We will return again in the future to this rural setting along the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Laguna Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Mar

Address: Between Coyote and Playa San Miguel | Front of the School Javilla, Playa San Miguel 5301-48, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Playa San Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laguna Mar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Javilla's premiere boutique hotel. Located along the Pacific Coast in Costa Rica, Hotel Laguna Mar offers the best of both worlds — an exotic, tropical environment and the service of a fine four star hotel. Visit the real Costa Rica where the ocean water is warm nature completely surrounds you. Hotel Laguna Mar awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Laguna Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Mar Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.