We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Laguna Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Mar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Between Coyote and Playa San Miguel | Front of the School Javilla, Playa San Miguel 5301-48, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First rate experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I spent a week at Laguna Mar (first week of December 2012) and loved every minute of it. The hotel is nestled in a quiet neighborhood in the remote town of Javilla which is a beautiful, laidback, piece of paradise. We flew into Punta Islita airport via Nature Air from San Jose, CR. The airport is about a 30 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel owner, Drew, was kind enough to arange for transportation to the hotel but if you are going to rent a car, they can arrange to meet you at the airport. This is a very remote area but frankly, I found the signage easier to follow than the signage in N. Virgina:) The hotel has close access to some of the most beautiful virtually deserted beaches I have every seen. The hotel is a newly built, modern design - very comfortable rooms and a great pool to relax by when you aren't out and about exploring. I was originally planning to travel alone and was assured that it would be safe for a single women however I decided to invite three friends and it was a good choice as this is an experience to be shared with friends. It makes a great destination for a girls trip although I would have felt safe travelling alone in this area. The restaraunt is a real star (check out the reviews under Hotel Laguna Mar restaurant). The chef is very personable and chats with the patrons regarding different options to customize your meal. The food was so outstanding we considered it a foodie vacation and had difficultly transitioning back into our normal lives and living without Pablo's great cuisine. The hotel's owner is very attentive to the patrons and will make sure you are happy during your stay. Michael is also very attentive and will make sure you have what you need. I would advise you to rent an SUV as the roads are not paved and the location is remote so a vehicle will give you more choices for exploration. Playa San Miguel is only a 5 minute car ride. We walked there one day but it is not a stoll you'll want to take when the sun gets really hot because you will wilt before you make it back to the hotel. There are several other gorgeous beaches within an hours drive worth visiting - the first morning we were there I witnessed a sea turtle walk up the beach, dig a hole and lay her eggs! Increditble. Some of the tours we took include releasing rescued baby turtles that recently hatched onto the beach and watch them make their way into the ocean (via Turtle Trax), the mangrove tour with Freddie the boat guy, horseback riding in the mountains and watching the sunset, kayaking and snorkeling in Samara Beach. Angelica can assist in setting up the tours for you and suggesting others which can be done prior to your visit or on the fly during your visit. We also drove to the small town of Punta Islita which is about 45 minutes away - Stop by the non-profit art museum to view and purchase art made by some of the locals - it will make a great souviner to remind you of this wonderful part of the world. The town of Samara is also worth a trip. It is about a 90 minute drive. While there, check out Guptos restaurant. We spent 2 afternoons there lounging under the palm trees - this restaurant is situated on yet another gorgeous beach with calm waters. The restaurant has a private area to change in or out of your suit as well as wash off the sand. The food is also terrific and as you lounge in their chairs on the beach the staff (ask for Alan) will keep your glasses (and bellies) full. You can ride a horse on the beach - no need to schedule in advance- you'll see the guides on the beach ready to take you along. Samara also has shops and art worth checking out. I would schedule at least a day there to fit everthing in. On the way back to Javilla, stop at the public beach on the way out of town and pick up a fresh coconut w/straw and enjoy the coconut milk. By the time our week had ended, we felt rejuvinated and energized and we are working hard to hold onto all the great feelings and things we experienced in this tropical paradise. This is a great place for people who want to unplug, relax and breath. Hotel Laguna Mar made the perfect headquarters for the perfect vacation.

Room Tip: I had the room on the highest floor - it is large and has a private balcony. I loved waking up to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
50
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Superior Luxury 7 Star Hotel With Genuine Above & Beyond Best Customer Service Care! Ian Schrager Tico Fusion Design Throughout, Quality Detailed Sophistication & Honored Tico Tradition.
Farm To Table James Beard Cuisine.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomfret, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I happened upon Laguna Mar quite by accident late one night while traveling along the Pacific coast of Guanacaste in CR- This is a new hotel with a beautiful swimming pool, bar area, and dining room- The owner,
Mr. Andrew Callahan is very accommodating and takes all of the steps to make sure that your room is comfortable, the cuisine is to your liking and your drink glass is properly filled. There is a good mix of locals,hotel guests,and expats dropping in for food and drinks. My days were occupied around the pool, at the beach, and taking tours recommended by the hotel staff.
All in all a nice time and I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler in this part of the country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had the absolute best time at Laguna Mar! We stayed here while dropping off our daughter for a long term internship with Pertoma.org. She was accepted to be a research assistance for the group's sea turtle conservation project, and was kicking off on a 3 month stint. While at Laguna Mar, we experienced the most dedicated, and attentive staff! The hotel is BEAUTIFUL, super clean, super relaxing and the food is absolutely wonderful. The nights are casual, with locals and ex-Pats wondering by for food, drink, and good company. We were lucky to be there on a weekend night were there was music and dancing - so much fun! We felt like part of the wonderful local neighborhood, which is an experience you will not get at many places! Highly recommend this wonderful hotel - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozalito, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was introduced to this hotel because I live in the area working with a sea turtle project, so all of us in the project are quite familiar with the coast of Guanacaste in Costa Rica. We were so happy when we stumbled upon Hotel Laguna Mar. The food, staff, pool, atmosphere, hotel design, and location truly make this place a gem in the middle of paradise. We return there often to pass the day, swimming, eating, and sometimes staying the night. It's simply one of those places where you want to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I were introduced to Hotel Laguna Mar as we were searching for a honeymoon spot near the beach, with equal parts adventure and relaxation. We have wanted to go to Costa Rica for some and were thrilled when we started to learn more about the south-west / Pacific side of Nicoya Peninsula and we were introduced to Hotel Laguna Mar. We did not want to be in the middle of Tourist Central, and we loved the idea that this spot was near to adventure (surfing, fishing, ziplining, golf, hikes, etc) but even closer to relaxation (Playa Coyote, Costa de Oro, Playa San Miguel, Playa Islita). When we arrived, Drew and Angelica met us with open arms and a drink ready. We immediately fell in love with our room and the full staff at the hotel. Since we got there late, we decided to grab a bit in the hotel restaurant and we ate almost every meal there the entire week. Pablo (Chef) was top-notch...trained in Europe and adding the little extra that we didn't expect being in such a tiny wonderful coastal town. From our first day, Hotel Laguna Mar was our wonderful oasis to come home to, relax in the pool or hottub and enjoy an amazing meal at even more amazing/reasonable prices. This place is truly a gem. We woke up to howler monkeys and parrots outside our windows, and fell asleep to crickets and stars. Each day, Pablo or Angelica helped offer suggestions for what we had in mind - fishing with a local fisherman and purchasing our lobsters directly off the boat from the lobsterdiver, golf, zip lining, directions to the beautiful and most serene beaches I've ever walked. The estuary was 100% ours for the time we were there - at high tide it will be your own private saltwater swimming pool and was absolutely magnificent.

In all, I can't express how incredible the hotel and staff made us feel on our honeymoon. We can't wait to visit again. Thanks Drew, Angelica, Pablo, Micheal and Alvero! We love you guys!

Room Tip: The hotel has 9 rooms and we stayed in the penthouse. Each had plenty of room, a hot shower and a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew C, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review! We really enjoyed having you stay with us at Laguna Mar!

From all of us at Laguna Mar,
"Happy Holidays"

Drew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We came to Costa Rica in low season and desided to stay on playa San Miguel without any previous booking. When we came there all hotels listed in our guide book were closed without any sign of life. Luckily we stopped at local store and they have directed us to Laguna Mar.
The hotel is brand new and greatly disigned for comfortable stay. They have only 9 rooms and as it was low season we were only guests. Stuff was so frindly and welcoming that we never met before. Onsite restarant serves great food we reasonable rates and considering low season room rate is just a steal - 60 USD per room.
They also offer bunch of local tour to get deeper into community life. There are three great grey beaches nearby with waves good for surfing but it is better to have a car to explore them.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laguna Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Mar

Address: Between Coyote and Playa San Miguel | Front of the School Javilla, Playa San Miguel 5301-48, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa San Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laguna Mar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Javilla's premiere boutique hotel. Located along the Pacific Coast in Costa Rica, Hotel Laguna Mar offers the best of both worlds — an exotic, tropical environment and the service of a fine four star hotel. Visit the real Costa Rica where the ocean water is warm nature completely surrounds you. Hotel Laguna Mar awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Laguna Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Mar Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.