We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Heaven On Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Laguna Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Mar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Between Coyote and Playa San Miguel | Front of the School Javilla, Playa San Miguel 5301-48, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise Heaven On Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Superior Luxury 7 Star Hotel With Genuine Above & Beyond Best Customer Service Care! Ian Schrager Tico Fusion Design Throughout, Quality Detailed Sophistication & Honored Tico Tradition.
Farm To Table James Beard Cuisine.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
47
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pomfret, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I happened upon Laguna Mar quite by accident late one night while traveling along the Pacific coast of Guanacaste in CR- This is a new hotel with a beautiful swimming pool, bar area, and dining room- The owner,
Mr. Andrew Callahan is very accommodating and takes all of the steps to make sure that your room is comfortable, the cuisine is to your liking and your drink glass is properly filled. There is a good mix of locals,hotel guests,and expats dropping in for food and drinks. My days were occupied around the pool, at the beach, and taking tours recommended by the hotel staff.
All in all a nice time and I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler in this part of the country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had the absolute best time at Laguna Mar! We stayed here while dropping off our daughter for a long term internship with Pertoma.org. She was accepted to be a research assistance for the group's sea turtle conservation project, and was kicking off on a 3 month stint. While at Laguna Mar, we experienced the most dedicated, and attentive staff! The hotel is BEAUTIFUL, super clean, super relaxing and the food is absolutely wonderful. The nights are casual, with locals and ex-Pats wondering by for food, drink, and good company. We were lucky to be there on a weekend night were there was music and dancing - so much fun! We felt like part of the wonderful local neighborhood, which is an experience you will not get at many places! Highly recommend this wonderful hotel - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozalito, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was introduced to this hotel because I live in the area working with a sea turtle project, so all of us in the project are quite familiar with the coast of Guanacaste in Costa Rica. We were so happy when we stumbled upon Hotel Laguna Mar. The food, staff, pool, atmosphere, hotel design, and location truly make this place a gem in the middle of paradise. We return there often to pass the day, swimming, eating, and sometimes staying the night. It's simply one of those places where you want to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I were introduced to Hotel Laguna Mar as we were searching for a honeymoon spot near the beach, with equal parts adventure and relaxation. We have wanted to go to Costa Rica for some and were thrilled when we started to learn more about the south-west / Pacific side of Nicoya Peninsula and we were introduced to Hotel Laguna Mar. We did not want to be in the middle of Tourist Central, and we loved the idea that this spot was near to adventure (surfing, fishing, ziplining, golf, hikes, etc) but even closer to relaxation (Playa Coyote, Costa de Oro, Playa San Miguel, Playa Islita). When we arrived, Drew and Angelica met us with open arms and a drink ready. We immediately fell in love with our room and the full staff at the hotel. Since we got there late, we decided to grab a bit in the hotel restaurant and we ate almost every meal there the entire week. Pablo (Chef) was top-notch...trained in Europe and adding the little extra that we didn't expect being in such a tiny wonderful coastal town. From our first day, Hotel Laguna Mar was our wonderful oasis to come home to, relax in the pool or hottub and enjoy an amazing meal at even more amazing/reasonable prices. This place is truly a gem. We woke up to howler monkeys and parrots outside our windows, and fell asleep to crickets and stars. Each day, Pablo or Angelica helped offer suggestions for what we had in mind - fishing with a local fisherman and purchasing our lobsters directly off the boat from the lobsterdiver, golf, zip lining, directions to the beautiful and most serene beaches I've ever walked. The estuary was 100% ours for the time we were there - at high tide it will be your own private saltwater swimming pool and was absolutely magnificent.

In all, I can't express how incredible the hotel and staff made us feel on our honeymoon. We can't wait to visit again. Thanks Drew, Angelica, Pablo, Micheal and Alvero! We love you guys!

Room Tip: The hotel has 9 rooms and we stayed in the penthouse. Each had plenty of room, a hot shower and a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew C, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mar, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review! We really enjoyed having you stay with us at Laguna Mar!

From all of us at Laguna Mar,
"Happy Holidays"

Drew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We came to Costa Rica in low season and desided to stay on playa San Miguel without any previous booking. When we came there all hotels listed in our guide book were closed without any sign of life. Luckily we stopped at local store and they have directed us to Laguna Mar.
The hotel is brand new and greatly disigned for comfortable stay. They have only 9 rooms and as it was low season we were only guests. Stuff was so frindly and welcoming that we never met before. Onsite restarant serves great food we reasonable rates and considering low season room rate is just a steal - 60 USD per room.
They also offer bunch of local tour to get deeper into community life. There are three great grey beaches nearby with waves good for surfing but it is better to have a car to explore them.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything about this place is Five-STAR! I first heard of this Hotel which is only @ 1 year old now, from friends/family and and via the website. This place is even better in person than it shows on the web. The rooms are extremely clean and very well appointed with all the luxuries and comfortable beds you would expect to find in a typical 5-star resort. I originally booked 2 nights here and liked so much I extended my stay to 5 nights. The Owner (Drew) is wonderful and his entire staff from the Manager Micheal, to the cooks and bartenders were extremely accommodating. I could not have asked for better service! Every night there was a very fun mix of locals, travelers and ex-pats to converse with at the bar and pool. This area (Playa San Miguel - Coyote - Costa del Oro) is one of the most beautiful beach areas of Costa Rica and Laguna Mar is perfectly situated with great views and easy access to surrounding attractions. I am already planning my next trip and plan to stay longer.

Room Tip: I stayed in ground floor and top floor rooms, and both were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Laguna Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Mar

Address: Between Coyote and Playa San Miguel | Front of the School Javilla, Playa San Miguel 5301-48, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Playa San Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laguna Mar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Javilla's premiere boutique hotel. Located along the Pacific Coast in Costa Rica, Hotel Laguna Mar offers the best of both worlds — an exotic, tropical environment and the service of a fine four star hotel. Visit the real Costa Rica where the ocean water is warm nature completely surrounds you. Hotel Laguna Mar awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Laguna Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Mar Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.