We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is true.. This is HEAVEN on Earth!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cristal Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cristal Azul to your Saves list
Cristal Azul
1KM Norte Entrada de Residencias San Miguel, Playa San Miguel, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It is true.. This is HEAVEN on Earth!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I do not write reviews but am now going too! Cristal Azul impressed me so much I became a member of TA to help spread the word about what an amazing place it is and how Zene & Henner have created something very unique & upscale, yet not out of reach to many travelers…yet??!! We were not looking for a five star resort because we find them impersonal and a bit tacky. We prefer “hidden gems” such as this that allow you to immerse yourself in the true character and culture of the area visiting. In this case, we wanted to be in a very tropical setting, small, a bit luxe for those much needed creature comforts and at a resort having minimal impact on the area and again, that feeling of immersion. Henner and Zene have not missed a beat at CA and you cannot go wrong here, worth every penny! Rooms are perfectly appointed and have the most amazing ocean view we have ever seen in many years of travel. There are not many views like that left in the world so we spent most of our mornings and evenings just taking it all in. Queen beds were very comfy, sheets crisp and high thread count but my favorite thing was the super soft, fresh smelling towels. The only ones we had in our entire three weeks in CR. Beach and pool towels provided/huge/and changed daily. (Along with everything you would want to take to the beach…even Badminton…we are planning a Round Robin Tournament when we return with friends!). More than ample space for belongings in the cabinas and bathroom, gorgeous teak furniture that we learned was made locally and the highlight for us was the outdoor shower! I will never look at mine the same again. We also really liked the retractable laundry line that allowed us to leave our wet bathing suits outside to dry and not have them lingering damp inside our bathroom. And the screen doors were genius! We spent a few nights in AC until we realized that with the screens open, we could fall asleep and wake up the sound of the waves below, monkeys and parrots! But…..trust us you will only use your room to sleep and shower because you have the rancho and pool area; your personal heaven on earth and very hard to leave. Overall, photos do not do this place justice…the views literally take your breath away! And if you like to hike or bird, the grounds are loaded with wildlife and you have access to excellent places to hike! Food, best we had on our trip but take advice of your hosts and check out the places they recommend for lunch. Eat dinner in! Every meal was planned for us, with us. Very nice touch. We appreciated greatly the care that went into making sure we tried all the delicacies they had to offer and also the attention to what we could not or chose not to try. The hill up to reach the resort was not as tough as we anticipated and we actually saw lots of wildlife on each drive so...our vote is thumbs up! You can’t get a view like that without working a little! Best part – apart from everything Henner and Zene have created at Cristal Azul was the privacy and the views!!!! Nice note: CA is only hotel in town where you wont have other tourists stopping by to see rooms or locals crowding the bar. This is the real Costa Rica folks and I have to admit, leaving mad me very very sad. That view will be with me always. Bravo & Cheers to you both, we will be back for sure, keep the hot sauce bowl full Henner and guard that family recipe!

Overall about San Miguel:

We spent five days in San Miguel and three weeks in Costa Rica. This is an area of Costa Rica absolutely worth visiting if you want to see what the country probably was like before the world arrived. Having now spent time in SM, and dined at the two other hotel restaurants and seen the options to stay at, we offer this to travelers: If you are an experienced traveler expecting comfort and style, Cristal Azul is the only option. If you are looking to splurge and treat yourself, go for it, it is more than worth every penny we spent! Backpackers will find a hip spot on the beach that while in need of a some handy work, is perfectly suitable for young surfers looking for a good time, and a bargain. Only hotel in town right on the beach. Another hotel oddly located far off the beach had good food and an eager to please owner and staff. New, modern and cement it is perfect if you like the sterile, South Beach experience, not Costa Rican/tropical beach by any means. A third hotel with lovely looking grounds on the main road was closed but appeared very charming from what we could see from the road. Bottom line, as we realized one afternoon chatting in the rancho, Cristal Azul is the only Costa Rican owned hotel in town so if you want the real deal…stay there! Bring plenty of sunblock and a good hat, you won't need bug block surprisingly! Water was perfectly drinkable and delicious. Don't miss Mike's Butterfly Farm tour or lunch at Tanga's!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
91
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our family was fresh off the  dusty roads and crowds of Santa Teresa when we arrived at Cristal  azul. Its fair to say that although we had already been vacationing in costa rica for two weeks, we had yet to realize what real relaxation was all about. With help from Zene, Henner and the staff at Crystal Azul that was about to change. We found that this resort provided us with something truly unique from our previous traveling experiences. The solitude, outstanding menu, and accommodations; not to mention the breathtaking vistas were unparalleled. Although they have several cabinas, we were fortunate enough to be the only booking for three days, which not only allowed us to have the resort to ourselves, but gave us an opportunity to explore traditional costa rica as virtually untouched by the crowds in other locations. From the infinity pool, family dogs, and various games there was plenty to do for our kids (seven and nine) and  it was a needed break from the constant electronics that they are usually bombarded with.
Whether you want to reconnect with family, friends, your partner or simply just want to contemplate  away from life's  everyday distractions, the seclusion and relaxation that Crystal Azul offers is difficult to match.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enez, Owner at Cristal Azul, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you both so much for your kind words about Cristal Azul, we absolutely enjoyed having your family here and sharing this very special, untouched part of Costa Rica with you! It is a treat for us to watch guests of all ages detach from technology & "screens" and get back to old fashioned fun enjoying each others company be it in the pool, our rancho loaded with games, puzzles & the pool table, or any of the other activities available in the area! We have noticed a few guests comments about "Sleep Quality" and upon inquiry we were told that our orthopedic mattresses were too firm for their liking. We have since purchased Hypo Allergenic Feather Beds to add extra softness and comfort. Unfortunately the cover for the bed in your cabina, ( a matrimonial bed) was held up in customs so it was not in place during your stay. As of now, all beds are firm and extra comfy! I do apologize for this and hope that the morning views and smell of hot coffee from the rancho and anticipation of our two course breakfast eased any discomfort from the night before! Thank you for the compliments to our chefs, we take pride in serving fresh typical dishes and many are family recipes on my husbands side, like that awesome Chilero! We hope to see you again someday in paradise! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Cristal Azul is an oasis of calm. We started our Costa Rican travels with 3 nights here, and are so glad we did. We arrived pretty late (after dark!) but didn't find that to be much of a problem - even on the kilometers of dirt, hilly roads (a flight to La Islita may be a "wiser" choice, but it couldn't possibly be as interesting... and I bet the views are great during the daytime hours :)). Even though we got there well after dinner hour, Marco cooked us up a wonderful dish and we were able to relax within minutes of arrival. We decided right then that we would "dine in" the next two nights, too, and we were not disappointed. The relaxation didn't end the entire time we were there. It was hard to choose between lounging poolside, lounging in a hammock, or lounging at the beach (just a short drive down the hill). Breakfasts were incredible and the hospitality was wonderful (thanks Henner and Zene!). The views are simply stunning. The only (very minor) critique was with the A/C - it was really hot while we were there (more so than usually, apparently), so while it was nice to have the A/C to cool us off, it ran a bit loudly for my taste. One night we slept with doors open (screens on) and had the crash of the waves as background noise. Perfection. Oh, I also really liked the outdoor shower.

Bottom line: if you want the ziplining craziness of La Fortuna, this might not be the spot you're looking for. If you want to relax and unwind in complete peace, don't miss this spot! Cristal Azul will rank as a favorite among many well-liked places we have stayed!

One tip - that I'm pretty sure Zene gave us before we got there - be sure to have plenty of cash. The closest ATM is about 45 minutes away, and there are lots of good places to eat/things to do that are cash only in the Playa San Miguel/Coyote area. The area seemed very safe, and the cabina has a safe in it, so carrying cash isn't a concern.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Found Cristal Azul on tripadvisor and decided to book for out honeymoon and had a wonderful stay. Zene and Henner went above and beyond to make sure we were having a great time. Highly recommend and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Five stars is not enough stars to rate this stunningly beautiful oasis in Guanacaste!! Owners Henner and Zene are the best hosts you will ever meet: warm, fun, accomodating, and helpful. You immediately feel welcomed and relaxed. If needed both are knowledgeable about local events, tours, restaurants, customs, and directions.

It is an adventure getting up the steep, lengthy dirt road but once you make it you're in absolute paradise. The expansive ocean view is stunning, which you can view from both the pool area, restaurant seating area, and all 6 cabina rooms. The hotel is environmentally conscientious, built with minimal impact on the land and respectful of surrounding wildlife. Almost all food (breakfast, dinner, and much if requested) is local and prepared according to guests' taste and time preferences.

Private massages can be arranged overlooking the beautiful view with a fantastic, very reasonably priced local masseuse.

A special bonus for animal lovers: the 6 family dogs, all perfectly well behaved and each with their special talents including Churri the Dentist (a precocious Jack Russell with a penchant for cleaning the other dogs' teeth) and Susie who dances for treats.

Rooms are tasteful and clean with exceptional views of the valley and Playa San Miguel. You do have to be a particular type of traveler as this is not a chain-style resort atmosphere and you do feel the presence of the jungle: guests will see ants in the room and the occasional lizard. However, as long as this type of "true" experience doesn't bother you, you'll appreciate everything from the Mango and starfruit trees growing outside your door to the delicious local coffee Zene has ready every morning (probably the best we've ever tasted).

In short, Cristal Azul is simply the best. We had the hardest time leaving and are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I can't say enough of how relaxing this place is. Henner & Zene are terrific hosts from the minute we met them. First, the place is perched up on top of a huge hill, requiring 4WD to get to, with the most fabulous view of Playa San Miguel. The infinity pool and view from the covered tiki area are to die for. It reminded me of something you would see in Hawaii or in the South Pacific. There are only 4 cabinas so even if it's full, it's really quiet and you feel like you have the place to yourself. I highly recommend you don't go anywhere for dinner because Henner & Zene will get you the freshest catch of the day - we had red snapper and shrimp that was caught that morning. The shrimp tasted like lobster! The rooms are comfortable with a great outdoor shower. Wake up in the morning to relaxing by the pool or reading a book in a hammock before you have a typical Costa Rican breakfast. This place is off the beaten path, about 1 1/2 hours from Samara and totally worth it. Playa San Miguel is fantastic. If you are looking for a very relaxing place to stay, this should be at the top of your list. I highly recommend it....you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in Cristal Azul for 5 nights at the start of our honeymoon & what an amazing start it was.
Staying with Zene & Henner was like staying with family with nothing being too much trouble for them. The rancho is laid back with a honesty bar, an iPod dock you're encouraged to hijack with your own music and a pool table to waste away some hours in front of the sunset. The views from the sun loungers and pool are truly special.
Others have commented on the pack of hounds & we too worked on Zene & Henner until they let the dogs come and hang out - a lovely, well mannered pack of characters who endlessly entertained us and went some way to making our stay fabulous.
Zene & Henner themselves are big hearted and lovely & we had plenty of interesting chats about life, love & the universe.
The bungalows are simple, clean and well appointed winning (after much debate) the "most comfortable bed of our 3 week trip" award.
Something to note (in the interest of a fair review) is that the path to the bungalows runs across the front of them, so that you can have your privacy interrupted by other guests or staff passing your bungalow.
The food at Cristal Azul is plentiful & homemade, and Henner is on hand to recommend the perfect drink to accompany it but the stand out dish is the double caramelised French toast. I am still dreaming of this, a month later!!!
If we returned to Costa Rica we'd go and stay here again in a heartbeat - only next time we'd round up the troops & invade the whole place with friends & family, because this is what this place is perfect for... The facilities are nice, the food is nice but what makes this place excellent and well worth a stay is the warmth, hospitality and ambience created by its amazing hosts.

Room Tip: Get the bungalow at the end of the row furthest from the pool to be assured of total privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cristal Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Azul

Address: 1KM Norte Entrada de Residencias San Miguel, Playa San Miguel, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa San Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristal Azul Boutique Retreat offers discerning travelers a perfect touch of luxury off the beaten path. Stunning views and simple elegance await the adventurous spirit looking for the ultimate in privacy, comfort and tranquility in a pristine and remote tropical setting. Private Chef, Farm to Table/Mar a Mesa Typical Cuisine. 4WD and love of adventure required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Cristal Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Azul Hotel Playa San Miguel
Cristal Azul Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cristal Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.