We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cristal Azul

Save Saved
You added Cristal Azul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cristal Azul
1KM Norte Entrada de Residencias San Miguel, Playa San Miguel, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had picked Cristal Azul because of the great reviews. I had never been to Costa Rica before so really had no idea where to stay. I had definitely made the right choice. After being there for a few days I checked out some of the other places we were maybe going to stay. Nothing really compares. Cristal Azul gives you a very personal experience and you really get a chance to feel like you are part of Costa Rica not just a tourist in a hotel. You wake up and walk out your door to the best ocean view and the jungle. The host and staff were so great and made you feel like family. Great food as well! Cristal Azul offers you an authentic experience that is really hard to get anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
78
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mapleville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Cristal Azul is a quiet retreat, high on a hillside over Playa San Miguel. Views from Nosara to Punta Coyote are amazing.
With only four rooms, it was not crowded. Dinning in the ranchito and bar area with wonderful food and service is peaceful and romantic. Yoga deck is perfect for meditation and expercise, while over looking the blue Pacific, and beaches below. Floating lazily at the infinity edge of the large pool and watching the sun go down is spectacular. Often we sit at home in the frigid north country and dream about a tropical paradise like this one. Often those dreams and reality never quite meet. After visiting Cristal Azul in Playa San Miguel, Cost Rica, we now have an even better dream, and an address we can actually return to for a repeat performance. This place IS what heaven looks like.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had a great trip up to cristal azul with my two friends over Columbus day week end. Over all it was a great time. We ate mountains of sushi and hung out at the spectacular pool table there. The amazing infinity pool sure didn't hurt either. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a great time in paradise!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Cristal Azul was our favorite place we visited in our two week trip to Costa Rica. The infinity pool over looking the ocean and the jungle, the monkeys, geckos, puzzles and games, and access to beautiful Playa San Miguel all make this a phenomenal place to stay for awhile. It is off the beaten path and requires a lot of time on dirt roads to get there, but it was well worth it. Our three young children had a great time - playing games, swimming, boogie boarding, helping release baby turtles, visiting Mike's butterfly farm, and much more. They had boogie boards and beach umbrellas for us to use and were incredible hosts with advice on what to do and help getting around. The food was absolutely delicious! This is an amazing B&B that we hope to return to some day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

What an amazing little pocket of paradise! My boyfriend and I went for a week and we can't stop talking about it and wondering when we can go back! It's hard to choose a favorite memory at Cristal Azul: the infinity pool on top of the world looking out at the ocean, the Rancho full of fun, great company, and delicious beer, the comfy cabinas secluded away complete with an outdoor shower, (so incredible) or the monkeys and toucans playing in the jungle-type landscape surrounding you while you bath in the sun enjoy fresh fruit? "Pura Vida" is sort of the motto in Costa Rica, and if anything lives up to this "pure life" lifestyle, it's Cristal Azul. Zene and Henner (the owners) really have something special here. They make you feel completely at home, with your every need tended to in the heavenly tropical getaway. It's a perfect romantic getaway or a fun, adventures family trip. Words can't describe this paradise and it's absolutely not to be missed!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

What struck me was when looking out from the Costa Rican mountains over the infinity pool at the pacific coastline.. That the owner distracted me by saying-- 'over here is the bar, make what you want whenever you want; just pencil it on your tab-- it's the honor system here,, when your here you're family..'
It really is like staying with relatives that happen to own a resort.. And the service is unrivaled. The owners literally make all the phone calls and drive you to where you want to be. I also found it very cool to not feel like a tourist,, this place is much off the beaten path which adds greatly to the character and romance of Cristal Azul. Amazing value and trip.
Oh and the food is spectacular!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

"Cristal Azul" provides you with an ambience of peace and relaxation very difficult to find elsewhere. The sight of the ocean, together with the jungle that surrounds the place creates a frame of a masterpiece scenario! As soon as you start climbing the mountain to reach this wonderful resort, you start feeling something magical and adventurous...The flora and fauna, the winding road, the welcoming smiles are clear clues of great things to come… The ranch has a deck, a bar, hammocks, sofas, pool table, kitchen and bathroom. Here you can spend hours just watching the spectacular ocean view, listening to music, taking a nap, playing board games, chatting with friends, and/or enjoying first class food. The infinity pool is just what the doctor ordered! Wow, you can spend hours and hours just daydreaming.....while getting a suntan. Sunsets are pure gifts, a marvelous miracle to experience… Henner and Zene are a perfect match, and the cherry on top! Both are passionate about the paradise they live in. They take care of every little detail and beyond...personalized menus, candle light dinners, music selection, sightseeing recommendations, interesting conversations, helpful tips for traveling around Costa Rica... A+ hospitality! It's a hotel that feels as home! The cabins are a mix of romance, simplicity and good taste. They have comfortable beds with delicate linings, air conditioning, wall to floor windows that allow an incredible view of San Miguel beach, and an outdoor shower that makes you feel totally integrated with nature. During the day you can spend the time at the San Miguel beach, drive to other nearby beaches and towns, go horseback riding, mountain bike(if you have your bikes with you), visit a Butterfly Farm or Pretoma to watch the turtles, an if you are lucky, you can even watch a bullfight. “Cristal Azul” is a place to return again and again…

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cristal Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Azul

Address: 1KM Norte Entrada de Residencias San Miguel, Playa San Miguel, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa San Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristal Azul Boutique Retreat offers discerning travelers a perfect touch of luxury off the beaten path. Stunning views and simple elegance await the adventurous spirit looking for the ultimate in privacy, comfort and tranquility in a pristine and remote tropical setting. Private Chef, Farm to Table/Mar a Mesa Typical Cuisine. 4WD and love of adventure required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cristal Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Azul Hotel Playa San Miguel
Cristal Azul Costa Rica/Playa San Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cristal Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.