We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hill Cottage Farm Camping & Caravan Park

Hill Cottage Farm Camping & Caravan Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fordingbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hill Cottage Farm Camping & Caravan Park
Save
You added Hill Cottage Farm Camping & Caravan Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Sandleheath Road, Alderholt, New Forest National Park, Fordingbridge SP6 3EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fab Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from a 2 weeks holiday rally with the caravan club which we marshalled and i must say what a fantastic site.The site was stop less, lovely hot showers every day,good recycling points,a snooker/pool room which the children enjoyed.We could order fresh hot croissants and baguettes daily which was a real treat.The site had changed hands whilst we were there and the new owners are really lovely people.I highly recommend this site and wish the new owners well in their new adventure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

As the title suggests, camping is not my favourite past time but as several other family members wanted to have a weekend under canvas I thought it only polite to join in! My brother, the man behind getting everything together, knew of my dislike of camping and so found this camp site and booked the Shepherd's Hut for me, my wife and dog!
The weather was mostly showers and very chilly in the evening so I thought I would have a really miserable weekend but was really surprised when I discovered I was actually enjoying myself! The check in was efficient and friendly and the hut was ready for us to get straight into. It has a few mod cons such as microwave, kettle and toaster along with a very comfortable double bed with extra bunk above it. My brother's tent was located right next to it so we were able to socialise easily without walking/staggering back too far.
The nearby hut of toilets, washing up and recycle areas were always clean and I only saw 1 spider and that seemed friendly enough. The main block at reception was better as it was a proper building but either way the facilities were top notch. The reception provides a few basic items in its shop but also sell daily papers and warm croissants etc in the mornings.
The location of the site is very good with Fordingbridge very nearby and the New Forest minutes away. There are some good walks in the area including a good dog walk leading from the site. The rest of our group spent their time in a tent and a caravan so we got to see all aspects of the park. The camping ground was well kept with short grass and a mix of powered and unpowered pitches. The other users were all very friendly and helped add to our enjoyment. The caravan pitches are all secluded behind 6 foot high hedges so privacy is good if needed. The hedges don't stop noise traveling at night and there is a 10.30 noise curfew. On one evening we were guilty of breaking it by 4 minutes and boy did the bloke next to the caravan let us know it. We respected his request to shut up and even apologise but his lack of thanks or courtesy in return was totally rude and unnecessary. He was the only blip on the trip.
Wonderful place to stay with a warm welcome and great facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed on a fully serviced pitch in our large single axle during May half term and the pitch was superb. Loads of room either side and behind our caravan with a large hedge separating us from the pitch eithe side and a very high hedge separating us from the camping field behind. As it was the Whitsun BH weekend, the camping field was full of tents and caravans/motorhomes and the 10.30pm quiet rule was NOT observed by the large group of campers sat ouside their tents till very, very late on (note: women and drink = inane cackling which carries at night). I pitied the poor people in the field next to them, however it was nothing some earplugs didn't sort out for me and it was only for a couple of nights ...

Sunday morning and I had to queue 5 deep for one of the 4 showers available which in my opinion is a silly amount for a site of this size and lets it down. Having said that, this only occured on the Sunday as most of the people packed up and went Monday afternoon so the site was very quiet again, but even so, a couple more showers wouldn't go amiss. Same comments as before, immaculately kept site, very friendly wardens who I believe have now left (shame, they were so helpful) and the overall look/ambience of the site was brilliant. Shop was a bit of a let down, as was the wifi but you are on holiday ... let it go! I wouldn't give it five stars because of the shower/loo situation, but very worthy of the 4 stars and we would come back as we can shower in our van ...

Lovely walk through the forest to Alderholt to the COOP which stocked pretty much everything. The dog walk around the meadow was lovely and seeing the cows and chickens would appeal to the younger children on this site. Their play area is very well kept and the whole site, well looked after.

Note: The Shepherds Hut could do with a bit of glamourising ... it's a bit of a mis-match furniture wise and a bit dated! However, it was very clean on arrival.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
407 reviews 407 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I and our dog arrived at the Hill Cottage Camping and Caravaning site on Friday 31st May for 10 nights in our new caravan. We were shown to our reserved space and saw that each granted a very spacious plot with full electricity, water hook up and a grey water outlet drain. Each space gave privacy as each was separated by hedgerows at least 6ft high without giving a feeling of closed in. The hard standings for the caravan and awnings were surrounded by grass on either side. The site itself offered toilets and showers which were immaculate and full laundry and cleaning facilities as well as a chemical dump for toilet waste. There was limited selection of grocery items and also daily newspapers in the office shop if ordered as well as hot baguettes and croissants again if ordered the night before. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again later in the year. One factor that does need dealing with is the fact that Wifi is available if you sit in the office or outside the office on a chair which is not always convenient, to truly round off this experience the purchase of a greater capacity router would in fact be all that was needed to make this site perfect.

Room Tip: This is not an hotel it is a caravan and camping site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I am not a big fan of camping but this site was great as the grass pitches were mown and the clippings collected which is a good start. Level large pitches, clean toilets and showers, easy re-cycling facilities and above all quiet after 10.30pm and no early morning noise. Great walk to the pub and you can take your dog with you as well. Our less able friends used the Shepherds hut and that was a real bonus for them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Fantastic welcome from the new wardens, they couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The site is in a great location with the new forest on it's door step. The site was very clean and had lovely facilities. I was especially impressed that they were able to accommodate one pitch electric and one not - next to each other. Not something every campsite with do so thank you. We had a wonderful time with 2 small children and will definately be returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a perfect holiday at Hill Cottage Farm where we received a very warm and friendly welcome from the new wardens. The facilities are spotless and the grounds well maintained, providing secluded fully serviced hardstanding pitches or plenty of open space on grass if preferred. Childrens play area, a couple of nice walks around the lakes or around the field where we wandered at dusk and spotted deer on more than one occasion. The site has chickens whose eggs are sold in shop and is well located for some great shopping in Southampton, Salisbury and Bournemouth, beautiful beaches at Bournemouth and Sandbanks and is right on the edge of the New Forest where we visited the motor museum at Beaulieu, hired bikes in Burley and went pony spotting. A great time, we will be back.

Room Tip: Their Shepherd's hut is ideal for a camping experience if you don't fancy tenting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hill Cottage Farm Camping & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Cottage Farm Camping & Caravan Park

Address: Sandleheath Road, Alderholt, New Forest National Park, Fordingbridge SP6 3EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Fordingbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Fordingbridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill Cottage Farm Camping & Caravan Park 4*
Also Known As:
Hill Cottage Farm Camping & Caravan Park Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park, Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill Cottage Farm Camping & Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.