We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bothy

The Bothy
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fordingbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bothy
Save
You added The Bothy to your Saves list
Abbotswell Road | Frogham, New Forest National Park, Fordingbridge SP6 2JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Fordingbridge B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our third or fourth visit and we always look forward to staying with Sue and Mark.
Very quietly situated in a lovely garden at the end of a private lane, The Bothy is an ideal base for a visit to the New Forest.
Rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts must surely be the best in Hampshire and an enjoyable holiday is virtually guaranteed.
Plenty to see and do within easy driving distance: we liked Exbury Gardens (not cheap) and especially the New Forest Lavender Farm. Sue and Mark can recommend pubs and eateries, though you may not feel the need for much of a lunch....
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Champagne has the best views of the garden and Chablis has a balcony for that evening glass of bubbl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBothy, Owner at The Bothy, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
It is always appreciated that someone takes the time and trouble to leave a review for the community at large. Your kinds words are heartwarming and motivate us to keep doing what we enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed at The Bothy three times in the last two years, as a couple and with our grown-up children. We have all enjoyed our stays very much. Mark and Sue go out of their way to be wonderful hosts.They provide an amazing and varied breakfast which can be tailored to meet everyone's needs. There is a guest lounge, the bedrooms are very comfortable and well appointed and everything is spotlessly clean.There is a well kept and extensive garden with views across the Heath.
We thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone who would a like a quiet break in The New Forest.

Alan and Elisabeth from Halifax, West Yorkshire

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sompting, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have visited The Bothy at Frogham several times now ( over a period of 5 years ) and the warmth and hospitality from Sue & Mark is exemplary. There is always a high standard of cleanliness and the location is perfect for a quiet long weekend. If you go out of season there are not so many tourists, and the New Forest is even lovelier. There is a sitting room / dining room for guests overlooking the pretty garden - which is visited by Deer and Badgers ( they are very noisy eating the windfall apples ! ). We usually walk to Fritham, it takes about 1 and a half hours each way but there is an excellent pub at the end. The locals are all very friendly and I wish I could live in this area. There is also a surprising number of activities - just ask Sue or Mark for details. Treat yourself :)

Room Tip: Choose the room with the balcony to see the Deer and hear the Badgers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We've just spent the most delightful weekend here. Having stayed in lots of 'posh' hotels over the years, I know what makes a place memorable - not many hotels manage this. But The Bothy is a wonderful escape, made special and memorable by Sue and Mark's attention to detail and warm hospitality. The welcome given to us was like being received as old friends. The house, and its setting, is beautiful and we stayed in the Chablis - our second stay in this room. This room comes with its own balcony where, in warmer weather, you can sit out and enjoy the view over the wonderful gardens...or take time to dip into the selection of books provided for you. Guests also have the use of a very comfortable lounge. Sue's breakfasts are a real highlight and she takes great trouble to ensure you start your day with a culinary treat. For example, we started today with a bowl of home-made fruit compote, topped with home-made granola and natural yoghurt. That was followed by porridge made with Mark's secret ingredient - you've got to have it! By the way, breakfast didn't end there...suffice to say that we certainly didn't need lunch. Part of me feels reluctant to recommend The Bothy, because a find like this feels too special to share - it's nice to keep secrets like this to yourself. But that would be selfish - give them a call and indulge yourself. It truly is one of the best B&Bs and deserves a wider audience. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bothy

Address: Abbotswell Road | Frogham, New Forest National Park, Fordingbridge SP6 2JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Fordingbridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Fordingbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury B&B within the New Forest. Legendary breakfasts. Very quiet and peaceful location at the end of a quiet lane. lovely views from garden. Walking distance of the local village pub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bothy Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park, Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bothy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.