We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great food and friendly atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surma Valley Restaurant

Surma Valley Restaurant
Salisbury Road | Burgate, New Forest National Park, Fordingbridge, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great food and friendly atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

10 of us visited the Surma Valley for a leaving meal for one of our colleagues.
They accommodated us at short notice after our original choice fell through, but we were very glad they had.
Service was excellent, very friendly and polite.
The menu is more extensive than a lot of Indian restaurants, but the old favourites are also there.
The food was very good, I had a beautiful spicy lamb shank which I enjoyed very much. Everyone was very pleased with their choices and we had a very good evening, the waiters joining in with our chat and laughter.
I would thoroughly recommend a visit to the Surma Valley if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    57
    20
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went to this restaurant on the off chance it would still be open after trying two other restaurants which were closed but suggested we give it a try. What a surprise! We were a little dubious when we saw it was a thatched building and thought we might get pseudo Indian food but no, it was the pukka thing. Staff were friendly and helpful and didn't mind one of our group sharing a meal as they had only arrived from India that morning and were suffering from jet lag. The vegetarian member of the party enjoyed her meal and the choice that was available to her. If we're in the area again it'll definitely be on our list of places to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience twice in a row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been driving passed this restaurant on the A338 for years now, but had never stopped to sample the food until a month ago. The restaurant is next to the main road, but is in the most serenely quaint position with an enormous hassle-free car park. The interior is pretty and has plenty of character. The service was excellent as the waiting staff are extremely keen and attentive; they seemed to have a sixth sense and instinctively knew when we needed something. The food arrived and it was excellent; beautifully presented and carefully flavoured.

I visited with friends on Friday - having told them of my positive experience a month ago - and Surma Valley did not dissappoint. The food was perhaps even better!

If you're looking for a nice, relaxing stress-free Indian meal - even if you have to drive out from as far as Salisbury like me - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had heard good things about this restaurant and we weren't disappointed. The food was lovely- great flavours and very fresh tasting. There is a huge range of dishes for veggies too- any of the mains can be adapted. The staff are very friendly and attentive. I will definitely be eating there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Came across this restuarant by chance after having taking a wrong turn. What a gem!! We booked for that evening. There were six of us. We all ordered something different to eat and every meal from fish to lamb and chicken was very tasty. The service was friendly and efficient. Definitely will visit again when in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surma Valley Restaurant also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Surma Valley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surma Valley Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.