We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence to your Saves list
Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Petit Cosquet, 56360 Bangor, Belle-Ile-en-Mer, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bangor
Gex, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed at La Desirade for two nights with my daughter. Although the room had a musty smell, the owners/staff were very pleasant and hospitable and the separate restaurant lovely. It's also a great spot to be away from the towns and bike or walk along the rugged coast. It's also right next to a bus stop.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    38
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
172
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
morlaix
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We spent five nights relaxing on Belle Isle, courtesy of the friendly staff at La Desirade. Our room, in a little traditionally designed cottage, was very comfortable, and the gardens well tended with a beautiful swimming pool.
The choice for breakfast was extensive and the food served in the restaurant excellent. You must try their amazing orange crepe souffle - extraordinary. It had the whole restaurant buzzing with excitement and oh la laas!
Belle Isle is a super place to go, quiet, not much traffic, some great beaches and walks, and with some interesting places to visit. La Citadell in Le Palais was enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had DINNER at the Desirade and did not spend the night there. The hotel part looks nice, but I cannot comment on it otherwise.

My wife and I had dinner at La Desirade, following the advice of a friend. The only way to desccribed the staff when we arrived is "confused". The restaurant is divided in 2 parts: one for hotel guests, another for diners-only. We were seating in the second section. The waiter forgot about us for about 15 minutes.

We ordered 2 starters (langoustines and mille feuille crab). 2 main courses (pavé de bar and filet de saint pierre). Only the langoustines were good. They were perfect, in fact. The fish was horribly overcooked and the saint pierre was accompnied by overcooked, watery and brown cabbage (!!!!) in a verrine. Pathetic. When I mentioned this to the waiter, he explained that the chef was away and that a trainee was taking over. Well....
We ended with a crepe suzette that was too thick and took 20 minutes to prepare.
With a half bottle of sancerre (nice) and a coffee, the bill was 120 euros. I miss them...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conlie, Propriétaire at Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Dear Guests,
-we obviously failed to meet our n°1 objective which is an enjoyable experience of our guests at our place. We sincerely want you (and the friends who recommended our restaurant) to accept our apologies.
-You made the choice of “anonymous public punishment”: we are not convinced that this is the most productive way of feedback and we try to provide the option of direct feedback, with our active presence (the owners) almost every evening in our restaurant.
-The facts mentioned in your comment led us to think that your dinner happened on July 13th (?). We were here that evening: we might have unconsciously skipped your table, we might have forgotten your feedback … but we clearly know that the disaster you describe is far from the experience of other guests this evening. It is difficult to imagine but we have to trust your judgement and accept that we have concentrated mistakes on your table. Again, sorry for that!
-Facts (if our assumption of the date of your dinner is correct):
. Our Chef is never on rest on a Wednesday … and anyway, when he is away, our team of 5 people is led by the Second de Cuisine, who has been working with him for the last 6 years
. Crêpes Suzette, which has been a key success of our place for now 7 years, are realized in front of guests. They are obviously the longest desert to be prepared and served, for instance if several tables ask for them at the same time. was it the case that evening? I do not know. Nevertheless it seems that it could have been longer than usually, since our team decided to offer them to you.
. we were ourselves not 100% satisfied with the side dish of the sea bass and, following constructive suggestions of several guests, we modified it 3 or 4 weeks ago.
. your comment is also helpful to us in another way: after the reading of other opinions on this site about our restaurant, it reminds, for those who still ignore it, that cooking will never be a precise science, that mistakes are part of our universe and that we can only work harder and learn every day to limit them and further satisfy our guests.
But we can only finish this answer with the re-iteration of our very sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugg, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

For over 20 years La Désirade means to us: A warm and friendly welcome, a cosy, comfortable room in one of the six Belle-Ile style cottages grouped around a lush, well groomed garden, providing intimacy as well as protection against the wind, breakfast alongside the pool with homemade cakes, bread and jam, an excellent cuisine using fresh local food, during summertime late sunsets and a last glimpse at the "Grand Phare" and last but not least the people who do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed at la Desirade four nights. The hotel is well equipped with a heated swimming pool (spotlessly clean) and the rooms are adequate, despite the fact that they have no sea views as the hotel is located inland by about 3Kms. The food at the restaurant is good and varied. Breakfasts are of high standards. The owners are most welcoming and will help you set out your day's outings : bicycles are available( careful ! the main roads are narrow and drivers ignore speed limits invariably, luckily they are introducing a mobile radar on the island which should calm things up ) ( hotel bicycles are not of the greatest quality though ! ), buses are a good way to go about the island ( although they are not many, so check out the timetables ). Free rides from passing drivers are also a good option.

Room Tip: All rooms are about similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence

Address: Le Petit Cosquet, 56360 Bangor, Belle-Ile-en-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Belle-Ile-en-Mer > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The staff is ready to do its best to offer a high quality service, meeting customers expectations, respecting the 3*** rating and the demand of the independent hotel associations to which it belongs: Relais du Silence, Hôtels de Charme et de Caractère en Bretagne, Alastair Sawday’s Special places to Stay.. Beyond this commitment, La Désirade offers a genuine and individual welcome, leaving triviality aside to focus on the essential: the guests'well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Desirade - Relais Du Silence France/Bangor, Brittany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Desirade - Relais du Silence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.