We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New found friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes

Save Saved
You added Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes
4 Le Petit Vavre, 36270 Argenton-sur-Creuse, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New found friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We would like to thank Jonathon and Claudette for a very pleasant stay. We stayed for one night on our way down to the Lot valley and one night on the way back.The greeting we received was as if we had been friends for years and the food on both evenings was cooked by Claudette to perfection. Jonathon was also the perfect host.
We normally go to the Lot valley every couple of years, we have know found our perfect stop over.
We look forward to seeing Jonathon and Claudette next time we travel to the Lot Valley

Mike and Sarah

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrychone, Owner at Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you Mike and Sarah for your kind words. We hope your trip back to the UK was a safe one. Best wishes to you both and we'll see you next time you travel down through France.

Jonathon and Claudette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
37
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
leek
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

We needed a place for an overnight stay on our journey south and this location suited us. On the plus side the location was good and the the car and it's contents were safe. However we were expected to spend time with our host and were fed less than satisfactory food (putting it kindly)around his kitchen table. Clearly some people find this charming but the proprietor needs to be aware that to run a successful business you need to provide what people want, not what you think they ought to have. We are not overly antisocial but the experience here tested our limits. They are not busy and obviously aim for a niche market. We will not stay there again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrychone, Owner at Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
We are very sorry that this guest was so un-happy with us. They certainly did not make any sort of complaint to us, why wait to complain on Trip Advisor? All of our guests are invited to share our home as their home, we certainly do not FORCE guests to be sociable and we also give all of our guests the ability and oppertunity to ring home or to their destination free of charge!. As for the meal, why is it that only 1 couple out of our (so far) over 300 couples found Claudettes cooking less than satisfactory? In actual fact, 1 couple thought Chaudettes cooking deserves 2 Michelin stars! We would like all potential guests to read our previous reviews and come to their own conclusion on who might be a more realiable reviewer. As for this reviewer to say we are not busy and aim for a niche market we would like to be able to give them a count on how many guests we have had to decline already this year. We feel this is a most unfair review and invite this reviewer (we don't know their names) to e-mail us with a complete list of any complaints they may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying with Jonathon and Claudette at the beautiful Berrychone for 5 days in November 2011. From the moment we arrived we were treated like long lost friends, they couldn't have been more hospitable and welcoming to us. The food we had during our stay was second to none, such a treat to sample authentic French food made from delicious home-grown and local produce.... including: endive, walnut and Dijon salad; garden tomatoes tossed in balsamic vinegar; carrot, potato, onion and tomato soup; mackerel pan fried in butter; a huge range of incredible cheeses; preserved plums; Claudettes glorious home made chutneys and jams (green tomato and orange, quince, blackcurrant... the list goes on!); fluffy cheese omelette; windfall pears; foraged mushroom soup... It was all phenomenal, rich and varied. Claudette is a goddess in the kitchen! There was also access to fresh milk, butter and creme fraiche from a local dairy (the best we've EVER had) - it must be tasted to be believed. Jonathon went out of his way to help us settle in, showing us the local towns and recommending beautiful woodland walks. We had some wonderful evenings drinking homemade cherry brandy and pastis, listening to great music and dancing around the living room. They also have a fabulous half-tailed cat called Tigger (who looks like a bear).
This couple will do all they can to make you welcome, the rooms are beautiful and they invite you to treat Berrychone like your own home. The house is really a credit to Jonathon, he virtually built the upstairs from scratch! We will definitely be back to see them again, it was a joy to spend time in this lovely place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrychone, Owner at Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you so much for the review. It was a pleasure to have met you and hope we do meet again.. Hope the trip back from Spain was OK. The pear tree is recovering from its "haircut" and we have several new branches with blossom on already!
Thank you again, see you soon.
Jonathon and Claudette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We signed in to Trip Advisor only to recommend this bed & breakfast to the rest of the world. It is a great stopover in a lovely little house with a warm, cosy kitchen, a wooden bedroom, great homemade food and two wonderful owners who instantly make you feel at home. Our son (almost 2 yrs old) was greatly entertained by his new ‘opa’ (grandfather) Jonathon. We will be back every time we head south, it is something to look forward to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Very welcoming owners. Comfortable rooms and home cooked meals

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrychone, Owner at Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

The couple that run Berrychone are a very friendly pair, Jonathan an english musician and his French wife Claudette who is an expert country cook. She makes all the jams, bottles her own and her neighbour's fruit and veg and is generally an admirable person. We ate amazing food, pork chops with caramelized apple (apples were in season just then) and cherry clafoutis, using bottled cherries from their tree. Breakfast was similarly excellent, local butter from a tiny dairy was absolutely delicious with about ten different jams, all made by Claudette. The rooms are lovely too, clean and newly refurbished in a quaint little house done up by themselves.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay after a long, hard day of driving up from Barcelona. Really nice how close it was to the motorway while still having a peaceful countryside feel. We were made to feel very welcome and the place was very homely. Delicious homemade jams for breakfast too!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes

Address: 4 Le Petit Vavre, 36270 Argenton-sur-Creuse, France
Location: France > Centre > Berry > Indre > Argenton-sur-Creuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Argenton-sur-Creuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berrychone is an established Chambres d'Hôtes/B&B, an old farmhouse built on the edge of Le Petit Vavre, a small hamlet of just twelve houses. Berrychone was originally the mairie of Le Petit Vavre over three hundred years ago. Indeed, when we were renovating the living-room, under several layers of wallpaper some as thin as cigarette paper, we found an old notice of a modification of a by-law dated 1816! Over the years it became a family farm and then was divided into two houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.