We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Chateau in the Loire Valley - perfect for a romantic holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau des Sablons

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourgeuil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau des Sablons
Save
You added Chateau des Sablons to your Saves list
Quai du Chateau, Bourgeuil, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Chateau in the Loire Valley - perfect for a romantic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife & I stayed in the Bellevue suite and have nothing but good things to say. The suite was very spacious, clean and comfortable. And the hosts were extremely helpful and accommodating. The place has a pool and nice gardens to sit and relax. They also have wifi internet. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Chateau des Sablons epitomizes all that is best about self-catered places to stay. Our apartment was large and comfortable, made all the more welcoming by the bottle of wine and the fresh flowers from the owners. The grounds were quiet and peaceful, including a swimming pool and tables throughout the grounds for relaxing with dinner, coffee or wine. It was a short 10 minute walk to Bourgueil, a charming, "non-touristy" town that we found a welcome respite from the bustle (albeit beautiful, charming bustle) of other towns with the major chateaus. Bourgueil, with its good restaurants and weekly market was within a 1/2 hour of many of such other towns and sites, but in some ways a world away. Finally, the owners, George and Jean-Pierre, were easy to deal with administratively in setting up our visit and were gracious with their hospitality and advice while allowing us to feel like we were at our own private retreat. These qualities from the owner alone earned the highest "service" rating.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed at the Chateau des Sablons for a week in September 2010. It really is an amazing place and the owners are so welcoming (without being overbearing).

We stayed in a studio room on the top floor of the main house. It was spotless and contained everything we could need - ensuite (with good shower), small sink area, fridge, basic cutlery and crockery, and an Apple TV system for watching films etc.

When we arrived we were greeted by George, one of the owners, who gave us a quick tour of the grounds. He also showed us around some of the private areas of the house, and told us all about the history, which was a lovely touch. He was very informative about local restaurants etc.

The Chateau was a great base for exploring the local area. The thing we loved was the fact that you can walk in to the centre of Bourgueil for a meal in the evening, and therefore not have to worry about who will drive. The walk only takes about 10-15 mins. We'd advise taking a torch though, as the road on which Chateau des Sablons is actually situated is not lit!

All in all, we would highly recommend this as a place to stay. I think some of the other rooms are bigger and have more catering facilities etc., but we managed perfectly well in our studio for a whole week. It was basically like a large hotel room.

We hired bikes from the local bike shop and cycled round the neighbouring towns/villages/vineyards. All in all, a great holiday and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

My partner and I stayed in one of the vineyard apartments in the coach house adjacent to the Chateau for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners George and Jean-Pierre were personable, attentive and so helpful with advice on the surrounding Chateau's to visit in the area as well as great wineries and restaurants. We found Bourgueil to be a really good base to explore the Loire Valley if you have a car and if you can drag yourself away from the comfort of the room and the apple tv with numerous movies to watch! The kingsize bed was very comfortable, the modern kitchen was a delight to cook in and the shower had good water pressure. The grounds of the Chateau provide many nice spots to relax outside with tables and seating in the gardens or by the pool. We look forward to staying in another historic rentals property after the quality of accommodation we experienced at the Chateau des Sablons.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We stayed in the Bellevue suite in Chateau des Sablons. I thoroughly recommend it.
The bedroom had a fantastically comfortable enormous american kingsize bed. It also had Apple tv with an excellent selection of movies and podcasts – we were able to keep up to date on the news and catch up on some movies we had missed.
The lounge/dining room was very pleasant with a lovely view over the park. The vase of fresh roses on the dining room table when we arrived was a nice touch.
The kitchen was very modern, but in keeping with the old building and the dishwasher was a nice holiday for us.
The whole place was sparkling clean.
There is a 10m x 4m swimming pool in the grounds, the only downside is that it isn't heated.
It's about a 10 minute walk from the chateau into the small town of Bourgueil. The market on a Tuesday morning is great.
I will certainly be staying here or at another Historic Rentals property again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau des Sablons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Sablons

Address: Quai du Chateau, Bourgeuil, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Bourgeuil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bourgeuil
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château des Sablons is a beautiful 18th century château with a white stone façade. It is ideally situated on the edge of the medieval market town of Bourgueil which is amidst some the greatest castles in the heart of the Loire Valley. The château is perfect for experiencing old-world charm and modern-day activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Sablons France/Loire Valley - Bourgeuil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau des Sablons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.