We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kangetsuen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kangetsuen to your Saves list
Kangetsuen
3.0 of 5 Onsen Hotel   |   14-2 Tokachigawaonsenminami, Kato-gun, Otofuke-cho 080-0263, Hokkaido (Tokachigawa Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Genève
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Was good to stop it when arriving from Sapporo airport and going to Lake Akan. The hotel is not luxury, but the rooms are nice (Japanese style, and not too bad for sleeping). The dinner we had was very good, with a lot of different dishes: crab + nice meat cooked at your table and very good fishes (sushi + cooked).
The place for the restaurant is quite different: totally IKEA style, which is a bit surprising at the first sight, a bit like a canteen. But after some time it is OK.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    45
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
29
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We spent 1 night in this hotel because we don't want to drive all the way from Lake Akan to Sapporo within the same day. There's nothing very special about this hotel other than its proximity to Sapporo. We had a breakfast & Kaiseki dinner package which we did not have too much of expectations after another Kaiseki dinner at Lake Akan. Unfortunately, it was a real disappointment. We were seated in a "restaurant" at the ground floor where it's nothing like a restaurant but a canteen! Food itself is another disappointment especially when compared with the one we had at Lake Akan the day before. Should it not be using seasonal specialty? We had hokkaido crab there but we hardly found any thing or ingredient special here. Ok, there is a small abalone. The onsen is not bad, but well, it's just so and so. I know I should not have any complaint if I'm paying less, but since I'm paying US$200 per day per person which equalled to what I paid 1 day before, I think I should expect a little more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I book a Private bath with Riverview and Meals. The room is Japanese room with my private bath, really enjoying onsen in the morning. The dinner and breakfast is very good, especially the dinner with touch of find japanese dining.

Room Tip: Try staying at the room with private bath, pay abit more but worth the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Located near Obihiro city, about 25 minutes Taxi Rides, the location is very quiet and relax....

The room charge about 150 USD per person is considerably expensive. The check in time is 2pm and by check out is 10 AM, the interval of stay is considered relatively short compare to other hotels.

Check in is efficient, and guests are escorted by Japanese girls wearing kimono to the rooms. The hotel is old building but has undergone major renovation. The room is very clean with Tatami Floor. In the afternoon it can be used as Dining area or living room, while the mattress will be laid down in the evening. Bathroom is very spacious with separated room for Toilet. The toilet is all automatics as well as the water taps. This looks nice and shows a very advanced technology.

The Onsen area is quite spacious, there are few bath area, indoor, outdoor, Jacuzzi, and cold water area. Overall the Onsen are is good, 8/10. Most people come here for the Onsen, if you do not like or want to go for Onsen, it is really not worth to pay such a price to stay in this Hotel.

Breakfast and dinner is included in the package, the dinner is kind of fine dining, Japanese Styles, while Breakfast is Japanese Buffet. Breakfast and Dinner are OK, choices and quality are Ok.

Overall, the hotel is good for the Onsen and price is expensive. Unless you really like and enjoy the Onsen, it is really not worth it if just come and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We spent one night in this hotel, in a standard Japanese style room. The layout is very good. Very comfortable and cozy. All staffs are very polite and helpful. Our view from the room is slightly disappointed as we are on the 2nd floor and facing the roof of the hotel restaurant. Other than that, the room is really nice. It’s large (40msqure) with separate toilet and shower. They even got a brochure to let non-Japanese visitor to know more about the layout of Japanese style room, Do and Don’t in Hot Spring and details explanation of Kaiseki Style(懐石) set dinner. The helpful staff would help you to make your futons (bed) if needed.

Our package included one night stay in Hotel plus a set dinner (Kaiseki style) and buffet breakfast. Dinner is great, we had it in a large function room on 2/F which guests would be sit in Japanese style (seiza). A good variety of foods were provided at the breakfast buffet and they kept refilling. The restaurant is facing the river side, provide an excellent view.

The Spa has an indoor and outdoor one. On the broacher it mention the hot spring is “vegetative spring water” and good for skin. Outdoors was a half open-air with a view of Japanese Style rockgarden. Both operate 24 hrs. No need to bring the towel from your room to the Hot Spring. They have a different color (in red) provided in the changing room of the Hot Spring.

Free internet at the located near the souvenir shop, you could use your own laptop or the one hotel provided.

Room Tip: Try not to pick the rooms on the 2/F.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kangetsuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangetsuen

Address: 14-2 Tokachigawaonsenminami, Kato-gun, Otofuke-cho 080-0263, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Kato-gun > Otofuke-cho > Tokachigawa Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Onsen Hotel in Otofuke-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kangetsuen 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Kangetsuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangetsuen Hokkaido, Japan - Otofuke-Cho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kangetsuen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.