We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crotty's Pub B & B

Save Saved
You added Crotty's Pub B & B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crotty's Pub B & B
Market Sqare, Kilrush, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Kilrush B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Spot, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

On a weekend away from Dublin touring the west coast of Clare, we found this lovely spot in the centre of Kilrush. We stopped in for a bit of lunch and the food and service was of the highest quality. There is great character to the pub, with each separate room having its own unique charm. We enjoyed our lunch so much we returned for our evening meal that evening which again was of excellent quality and we ended up staying until closing time! The craic in the pub was great and we had a brilliant night. Would definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    31
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
51
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Co Clare
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited here in the past when it was full of character and had good reasonable food.the pub /restaurant has not improved with age. It seems somewhat neglected.The whole place could do with a good spring clean.
After waiting 40 mins for our food, we were very disappointed. The roast chicken was skinless and pale. It was wrapped with an anaemic rasher of bacon. My wife reported that the pre prepared dish was tasteless, it was Comparable to very mediocre canteen food.
My smoked salmon and crab dish was disappointing. There were two slivers of salmon and the crab was infused with more than ample mayonnaise.
Pity we were expecting more.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I were touring Ireland on a self drive B & B tour and came across this quaint Pub in the centre of town and decided to stop for lunch. The food was well prepared and we both very much enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and the service was great. One of the staff was very helpful in suggestions of routes to take and points of interest to see and even came outside with us to make sure we got on our way OK. The stop here for lunch was certainly one of the highlights of our tour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The location attracted me first, great food, good atmosphere, friendly staff, traditional music and good advice from Kevin the owner on local attractions.
Prices are great for the quality of the food and rooms, plus the benefit of having a few drinks and only having to walk upstairs.
Highly recommended by an Australian travelling alone.
Give it a try, you will not be disappointed. Thanks Kevin for making me welcome.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I so looked forward to staying here after reading all the positive reviews in TA. I was not a bit disappointed. The room was huge and well decorated. I joked with a member of the staff about the lift being out of order (there isn't one). There was a convenient back staircase so we would not have to enter off the street. There was plenty of parking right out front.
Dinner was wonderful. My wife had crab claws which were perfectly done. My fish and chips were very good. The music started at 9:30 and was fun. Several locals came in and interacted with all of us tourists. It was a real fun evening.
The breakfast room was nice. We were given several options for breakfast and they were all good.
Stay at Crotty's. You will love the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had dinner tonight 28-June-13. It was excellent. I had the Feta pesto chicken with Chump. My husband had The Seafood Platter, enough for 2. It was worth every penny. Absoulutly Fantasic. Got a doggy bag to take away. Staff were great. Deffo go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our second time staying at Crotty's, and there's something fun, and convenient, about having a room over the local pub =) The price for the room is reasonable, the staff is all friendly, the pints are always cold and there's a back set of stairs from the pub to the B&B rooms. Breakfast (a full Irish, of course) was delicious and cooked to order. If you want a non-traditional B&B experience, definitely give Crotty's a try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crotty's Pub B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crotty's Pub B & B

Address: Market Sqare, Kilrush, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilrush
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kilrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Crotty's Pub B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crotty's Pub B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.