We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillcrest View Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilrush
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillcrest View Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Hillcrest View Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Doonbeg Road (off N67), Kilrush, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Kilrush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
merseyside
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed just one night on our way up to galway and found this a very welcoming place to stay. The room was pleasant and very clean, the breakfast was good, and it was a short walk away from the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Collierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Ethna was very welcoming when we arrived at her immaculately clean B&B. Our room was well equipped with nice bathroom. Her breakfast served in her lovely conservatory overlooking a pretty garden was a treat – overall a good experience and would recommend if you are in this area and need a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent July 6th-13th in Ireland. GREAT TIME! GREAT PEOPLE! 1st night was at the Hillcrest. It was a fantastic intro to Ireland. It was one of the better b&b we stayed at. Kilrush was great and the Proprietor, Ethna was a very gracious Host! Good beds and quality within the house. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed at the top flr. it was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lempster, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here three nights. Ethna is lovely and warm and hospitable. The room and beds were very nice and comfortable. The shower has great pressure, but at the price of listening to the pum, and the towels have a strong scent I do not like, but everything is very clean and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recently returned from our 10 day stay in Ireland. We stayed at a different B&B every night so we feel we can easily say which ones were great and which ones were not. All eight of us agree that Hillcrest View in Kilrush was amazing!!!! The host, Ethna, went above and beyond for all of us. She made us feel like we were visiting an old friend. Her home was beautiful, spotless, warm, friendly. Her breakfast was delicious. An important recollection I have of our stay were the sheets that Ethna uses on her beds. They were the softest, silkiest sheets I have ever slept in. To make my point even better, during this trip, we stayed at Dromoland Castle, and their sheets didn't come close to the quality of Hillcrest Views!!! We all agree that when we go back to Ireland, we will definitely stay with Ethna at Hillcrest View. The Knight-Healy party.

Room Tip: All rooms were exceptional!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for recently for 2 nights while working in the area. Excellent house with lovely rooms and a fantatic breakfast. Tne homemade porridge was great and the poached eggs with smoked salmon was a treat that I have never seen before at any other B&B. I was also able to turn in the heat in my room which was great as May was freezing. Wifi was a bonus and very useful. Well done Ethne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We needed to stay in the Clare region to research our ancestors and this B&B served us well for the 2 nights. The house is large and comfortable with a good sized bedroom and the best shower we have had in 7 weeks of travelling. The owners were so warm and generous and left us with nothing bad to say about this place. One disappointment was not being able to access wifi in our bedroom as we were doing a lot of research and despite being able to sit in their lovely sitting room we do like to have wifi in our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillcrest View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest View Bed and Breakfast

Address: Doonbeg Road (off N67), Kilrush, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilrush
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kilrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hillcrest View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillcrest View Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.