We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a GEM of a Hotel in a GEM of a CITY- Lovely on every level” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saiaz Getaria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Saiaz Getaria Hotel to your Saves list
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
H Roque Deuna 25, 20808 Getaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Getaria
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a GEM of a Hotel in a GEM of a CITY- Lovely on every level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in Getaria so we would be close to ELKANO Restaurant. It was around 50 feet away down a narrow stone street, up on a cliff, in a renovated 15th century castle/mansion, this place was exquisitely decorated by the owners. Parts of it are original and everything else are also centuries old pieces that have been carefully been hand selected by the owners. The view of the ocean from my room and the dining room and library was stunning. I would recommend this place to everyone. Anna the front desk and restaurant manager was so lovely and helpful. I spoke to the owner Mikel Muñoa and interviewed him on camera for a youtube video...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    41
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
107
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

An amazing view out of the panoramic windows on to the beach a long way below, waking up to the sounds of the tide, but just a few alley ways away from the bars and great restaurants.

really helpful staff add to the experience - before and during the visit, eg sorting the parking.

Getaria (and Zarautz) such a brilliant location.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view (we had 35, two level suite which was amazing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a great room with large windows on the ocean (superior double). The hotel is very well located in the old city of Getaria - very atmospheric authentic basque city on the ocean with its port.

Getaria is a nice hang-out to go discover the rest of the country (Bilbao, San Sebastián, but also Vittoria-Gasteiz).

We would check back in this hotel which is good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights in June, 2014. Our room had a stunning view of the ocean. Bed was very good, there was no outside noise, considerably noise from adjoining room, breakfast was very good and reasonably priced. The staff was *extremely* helpful and courteous.

For me, the place was excellent with a single drawback, and that is the shower next door woke me up 4 out of 4 mornings. If you are a light sleeper, then be informed. Otherwise, this place was simply beautiful.

I have several tips.

Actually arriving at the hotel can be quite a fire drill. The street (San Roke Kalea) *does* allow vehicle traffic, in spite of looking like a "pedestrian zone." Thus, you can drive right up to the door of the hotel and drop your luggage, then continue to the end of the street, make a U-turn, and drive all the way back out. It is unnecessary to carry your luggage very far.

Parking can be problematic in Getaria. There is a public pay parking lot about a 5 minute walk away. It is 10 Euro per day, but if you are going to be doing multiple in/outs, the cost can get a bit much. We found available on the street parking on Sahatsaga Kalea, just on the south side of the main drag. It is actually closer than the pay lot, and it is free.

I suggest room 31 if available. It is on the top floor, with a spectacular view. Also, the top floor rooms have remotely controlled skylights (which can be opened) in the bathroom. This brilliantly solves the usual steamed-up bathroom after shower problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antequera, Spain
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Attractive hotel with most bedrooms having a sea view. Cheerful attentive staff also supported by the owners who are keen to pass on any info.
Would be pleased to come back here and the restaurants by the working harbour are fine. There is a lovely, promenade walk of 5Km to Zerrautz.
Parking availble 600 metres away

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

At the beginning of May we decided to take a short break in Northern Spain. We decided to visit the small port of Getaria as a quiet spot within easy driving distance of San Sebastian.
The hotel is in a small, beautifully renovated old building, down a narrow lane close to the harbour. The situation is 'elevated' and this might be a little challenging for anyone with mobility problems wanting to explore. It is not possible to park next to the hotel but there is plenty of free parking available next to the bay below the hotel.
We didn't have a sea view room but spent time on the terrace - having an evening drink or a post breakfast coffee overlooking the small bay and watching the surfers. Our room was beautiful with a wealth of original stone features and windows with wooden shutters.
There was plenty of space and the room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was fabulous.
The reception staff were lovely - bright, friendly and clearly available to help if needed.
Other hotel staff we came across were equally pleasant.
This is a small hotel and as such hasn't a restaurant but there are a number available within a 5 to 10minute walk serving a variety of dishes and especially great fresh fish and seafood!

Room Tip: A Sea view room we looked at was lovely but the non sea view rooms are large and full of charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a week in the beginning of May and were very satisfied. The hotel has been nicely renovated to honor the original architecture. The view to the sea is spectacular in some of the rooms while others face the old town. Everyone in the staff is super friendly and helpful. The hotel is nicely located in the old town with an amazing number of good seafood restaurants around the corner.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saiaz Getaria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saiaz Getaria Hotel

Address: H Roque Deuna 25, 20808 Getaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > Getaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Getaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel set in renovated XVth century stone walls. Located inside the village old town, with best Views to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Saiaz Getaria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saiaz Hotel Getaria
Getaria Saiaz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saiaz Getaria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.