We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel in the actual town of Getaria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saiaz Getaria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Saiaz Getaria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
H Roque Deuna 25, 20808 Getaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Getaria
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel in the actual town of Getaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is is a beautiful boutique hotel and every room is a bit unique. The hotel is in an old stone building that front on a small street in the center of town, two streets over from the main drag with the most tapas bars. The back of the hotel is built into a cliff and faces the beach on the western side of the town (not the beach with the fishing docks and port).

It is well worth the upgrade to get a room with a sea view. The rooms have floor to ceiling windows that over look the beach below. The hotel usually books up way in advance during peak season (July and August) so it is best to make a reservation early. Also, the hotel only has two parking spots, so if you come by car, you need to reserve a spot with your room, if it is available. Parking is definitely an issue and there is nowhere to park over night within several blocks of the hotel.

The breakfast at the hotel is a great european buffet, with meets, cheeses, fresh breads, yogurt, juices, muesli and other baked goods. It costs an additional 9 EUR per person, but it was well worth it and we would recommend it to anybody who stays at the hotel.

The first night we arrived, the air conditioning was not working properly, but the front desk attendant, Alex, was extremely understanding and called a technician to try to fix it after 9 pm. Eventually, the unit was fixed. When we checked out, we did not mention the inconvenience, but the hotel kindly charged us a lower room rate because of situation the first night. We were very impressed.

Room Tip: The room with weak air conditioning was #21, but then we moved to #11 and the air conditioning was e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    33
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
87
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent quite sometime trying to decide whether to stay in San Sebastián or a smaller town. As we had already visited Barcelona we went for the small-town option. In hindsight and even after visiting and falling in love with San Sebastian, I think we made the right choice.

Getaria is a lovely little town with two beaches and some sensational restaurants. It was all we hoped for. The Saiaz Getaria is a charming and very good small hotel located in the old part of town. The town is very small so the location is perfect.

We took a Junior Suite which was ideal for a family of four. The sea view was well worth the money. Service was very good. Breakfast was good.
We would have really appreciated a pool but these seem hard to find anywhere around San Sebastian. Whole the beaches are nice and fun to visit, we did miss that luxury.

From what I could find this was the best option and we really enjoyed being in town and had some superb meals. We made one day trip to San Sebastián, which was also a great and highly recommended, day out.

Room Tip: Take the sea-view rooms. You won't regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

They've done a great job converting these old houses into an elegant hotel, with a limited number of rooms and a lovely balcony/lounge overlooking the coast. We paid the extra for the sea-view - and it's fabulous in the mornings but a bit hot when the sun comes round, full-on in the afternoon (yes: there's air-con, but then you have to have the windows closed). The rooms itself was a bit 'compact'.
Lovely friendly staff and a great value breakfast (extra on our rate). We tried to find somewhere in the village one morning and it was difficult. The only cafe open at 10am is pretty ropey so my advice would be to stick with the hotel.
The hotel itself is best value mid-week; it jacks its rate up for the weekend. And they do have a garage for parking (at 10euros a night). Probably not worth bothering about out of season but might be an essential if you're planning to bring a car on a peak season weekend.
From what we could see, there aren't many hotels in (or around) Getaria and, to enjoy the lovely setting to the full, you need to be in the centre. This is the best pick.

Room Tip: Think about whether you really want the sea-view. You can save some money and you've got the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We looked for a cozy, historical place in the heart of a colourful village, and we founded it in Getaria. The hotel is located in a narrow road where you can just donwload your luggage and go, BUT this is a great advantage indeed: the place is so quiet, and the only noise is the relaxing one of ocean waves. Being in the centre of the village, you can reach several good restaurants and the beach just by walking. The antique church nearby is a great example of stlyle, facing the sea.
We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing and elegant stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the mimni-suite with the sea view at the 3rd floor (room 35).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place is amazing. Wonderful old restored part of a vibrant fishing village. The owner Michael and his staff are very attentive to their guest. The town is fun while mainting its small village charm. The grilled fish is the best along the coast. Don't miss this place and if you can stay in suite which will thrill a weary traveler.

Room Tip: The master suite is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensacola
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Two years ago my husband and I discovered the small fishing village of Getaria just 20 minutes west of the more populated San Sebastian. The town is not a tourist spot but a real working seaport with fishing boats supplying sardines to the coast and country. This year we returned to the town to show friends the area and stay at our favorite boutique hotel overlooking the water. Hotel Saiaz is a quiet hotel on a tiny one way street with beautiful sandstone walls, stone floors, and decorated with elegant antique furniture. Some rooms are also decorated with antiques while others have a more minimalist, modern feel. Half the rooms have sea views, others overlook the tile roofs of the town. All have modern bathrooms although some are larger than others. Let them know as you make your reservation your preference for bathtub or shower.
The service cannot be more helpful. Mikel, the owner , can arrange tours, winery visits, dinner reservations, and even guided tours to Basque villages up in the Pyrenees. If you are interested in the Basque culture, Mikel and his staff are very helpful in answering your questions. If you are interested in seeing the beautiful Balenciaga Museum, or watching sardines brought off the fishing fleet, or using the small town as a base for daytripping, consider the quiet nights in Getaria and at Hotel Saiaz. The fresh fish restaurants in town are famous. We were even lucky enough to see the village children dance in traditional Basque costume to celebrate Basque week. What a treat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We loved our four-night stay at this beautiful hotel; from the entry off the narrow cobbled street to the medieval building, to the view from the contemporary sea side in the back perched over a gorgeous crescent beach and offering beautiful sunsets. Our smallish room overlooking the sea was stylish, well designed and comfortable, with a stone wall and floor to ceiling, wall to wall windows. The breakfast room, also overlooking the beach, was perfect. The food, including delicious local meats, cheeses and breads, with fresh pressed orange juice and café con léché was delicious. Mikael, the young owner, along with his entire staff, were friendly and shared their expertise about the town, the surroundings, the choice of restaurants, and the entire history of Basque culture. We used Gétaria as our base for exploring San Sebastian to the north and Bilbao to the south, and the day we spent exploring the small port town with its fabulous Balenciaga museum was just as delightful. All said, its a gem of a boutique hotel in a gorgeous working fishing port overflowing with great small restaurants and the atmosphere of a medieval town. Terrific!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a seaside view. Even the smallest room opens up into the vast sea and sky and mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saiaz Getaria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saiaz Getaria Hotel

Address: H Roque Deuna 25, 20808 Getaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > Getaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Getaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel set in renovated XVth century stone walls. Located inside the village old town, with best Views to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Saiaz Getaria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saiaz Hotel Getaria
Getaria Saiaz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saiaz Getaria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.