We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for a special occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayflower

The Mayflower
Katrapona 4, 20808 Getaria, Spain
+34 94 314 0658
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 25 Restaurants in Getaria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
lleida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“for a special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We ate at this restaurant and we have to declare we had a great culinaire time. Fish was quite good and txacolí wine, superb. We've read somewhere that the manager, an old man, isn't precisely a gentleman and this is really the impression we got when seeing him walking around, moving tables, taking free chairs from tables with clients without asking permission or the diplomatic "is it free?" even though you see it IS free. All accompanied with a severe face igiving the sensation hat business is going really bad (during the hour and a half we were there, lots of people were turned down as it was full house and couldn't take up more customers). A young "second manager" (with shaven head) was in charge of the tables outside and we couldn't glimpse a crack of a smile on his face for over two hours. In reality very few of the staff showed any sign of a smile. Food, fine. Smiles, none.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    114
    33
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Getaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Good value, great seafood. Fantastic views. We really enjoyed our meals at the Mayflower, which was excellent value (80euros for a family of 4). All the dishes we tried were superb and the grilled calamari was exceptional.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
“Great find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A San Sebastián local recommended we go to Getaria and we stumble across the Mayflower - we loved it! We had the Monk fish - it was delicious - I would definetley go back again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Open air and sea view restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This restaurant allows you to enjoy excellent fish specialties cooked on the grill in front of view, while you are enjoying the view over the Getaria port and its sea. The prices are reasonable, and the fish very fresh: you can see the fishermen ships coming and going ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

There are other wonderful places to have a fine meal but this place has a great location with a view of the fishing boats coming in and the food will not disappoint

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mayflower also viewed

Getaria, Guipuzcoa Province
Getaria, Guipuzcoa Province
 
Getaria, Guipuzcoa Province
Getaria, Guipuzcoa Province
 

Been to The Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayflower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.