We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva

Save Saved
You added The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4th Ward, Beach Road | Salcette, Colva 403708, India (Formerly Pearls Oceanique Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Colva
Mumbai
1 review
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here in Feb this year. must say that the resort is exceptionally beautiful but more than the exteriors it is the service that impressed me. Thanks Hanif for being ever so helpful and warm. Loved the candle light dinner you provided for us. I am missing the resort already and it is just 24 hrs since we left.
The ground floor rooms were oh so beautiful,would recommend everyone to insist on getting one, you can just step out of the room and there the swimming pools invites you. Well maintained and clean room, though the bath tub was slightly stained. Well maintained pool too.breakfast buffet is limited compared to other resorts but food is good.
Will definitely return again and again. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    57
    23
    13
    19
See reviews for
54
61
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place has got one of the best decors of the rooms. The rooms are very well decorated and lighted with attached balconies facing the pool. The Location is very near to the beach- just a 4-5 min walk to the beach. The restaurant doesn't have a wide offering , which is a negative, but the service and ambiance is just awesome. The bar- Copper bar has a great ambiance to it as well. The swimming pool is pretty big and very clean.Overall a great place to say for a serene experience of south Goa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I Stayed here for 3 nights and I must say it is a very good Hotel, all rooms are Pool facing and well maintained. This hotel is around 200-250 meters far from beach, food in restaurant is also good. The Resort looks awesome at night, rooms are neat & clean, very quiet and hotel staff is very friendly. I asked them to arrange pool side dinner and I must say that it was done very well. You can get bike or car on rent from the hotel as there is a counter just outside of the hotel. Overall I had a pleasant stay and would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Oceanic… is nothing of all it claims to be and pictures they use for advertisement are probably stolen from somewhere else: It is not on the beach, the advertized SPA does not exist, WiFi is outrageous expensive for being in India and personnel is not friendly nor really helpful. By the way, it is called now ‘Golden Palms’: they probably rebranded due to their bad reputation gained under the previous name.
The above was the better part as, when it comes to the rooms, they look way run down and well-populated by insects of all kind. When we were seen to our room, the food of previous guests welcomed us just before our door. I moved the rests to an area more distant from our door and there they remained ‘till the day we left, surrounded by insects and even a crow biting on them.
As we went into the room it stunk and several dead insects were scattered around the place. You’ll find that the floor is darker in the areas occupied by chairs or tables, this is because they clean around furniture (and cleaning is a big word if you consider the results). We found spider nests and ‘archeological’ dirt in all areas that were not easily reachable (under the bathroom mirror, around corners) and crusted dirt on each angular surface.
The bathroom does not have windows not is equipped with any air ventilation nor communication to the outside so it always stinks and the floor is usually dumpy. The bath tab is so dirty that you could not even think to use it.
I would not recommend to take any food from the buffet as it looks like it’s laying there since days.
They had us paying in advance for 2 days, otherwise I would have left before (and I was really longing to leave).

Room Tip: Just don't choose this place and avoid any other 'resorts' claiming to be at the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Extremely unclean hotel and all the staff are rude and service is way below acceptable levels.
First of all they did not have the rooms ready and made us wait outside with all our luggage which took a few hours. Even after checking in they did not get us the required things for the room. Then there was breakfast which was not even good. Apart from that, they kept losing power all the time , like every 30 minutes or so.Their lunch and dinner menus are very incomplete and the staff do not seem to get any orders right. Nobody at the hotel was having lunch or dinner at the hotel, but instead were choosing to go to shacks nearby the hotel which were serving much better food.

On the second day, they did not have hot water for taking bath and instead of apologizing the staff were arguing with all the patrons of the hotel. They did not even provide towels or toiletries despite many phone calls to room service or even visiting the reception. Apart from that they refused to give drop to a nearby place after checking out, though they advertise that they give dropoff to the airport which is quite far away.

Overall our experience was horrible and this feeling was echoed by many other families who were also staying at this so called resort

Room Tip: The best way to choose a good room here is to not book here and instead go to some other hotel that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at Golden Palms (formerrly Pearls Oceanique) from 6-17 December 2012.
It's a shame I didn't hook up with the British reviewer below as I was there at the same time. I'm a Brit too.

The hotel is a 5-10 mins walk from the beach. The shortest route is through a fishing village or you can have a nice 10 minute walk down the road. There are taxi's at the hotel to take you down to Colva Beach Road if you wish - 100 rupees or just over £1.

Almost everything about the hotel was excellent. The photos do do it justice.

The pool was cleaned everyday and it was refreshing dipping in. There are plenty of loungers and umbrellas if you want to stay in the shade. The pool bar is cheap and do snacks through the day.

All the rooms are pool facing either on the ground or first floor. Mine was on the ground floor so you can open up in front of the pool. All the rooms have a porch or balcony you can sit out on. The rooms have air con and a fan - so pleasant after walking around in Goa.
Rooms also have a fridge, kettle (with tea coffee facilities), plasma TVs (can get several movie and sports channels), 2 free bottles of water a day, and a lovely bathroom/shower. Excellent.

I went Bed and breakfast. The breakfast is buffet type with a good selection. I even went for the evening meal - buffet for 450 rupees.

All the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

While I was there the guests did seems to be lots of Russians and asian honeymooners - but it never felt crowded.

Colva itself is great - dead cheap and quiet. This is definitely not party central which is how I like it.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room - preferable in block 1 or 2 - these get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannock
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here from 9th December 2012 for 2 weeks.
The hotel is lovely with only 50 rooms each overlooking the pool. The pool is lovely and clean with plenty of sunbeds. We were the only brits here at the time, the other guests were mainly Indian honeymooners and Russians.
The food was good. Breakfast consisted of cereal, toast, an egg station, indian dishes, bacon, sausages, baked beans (with black eyed peas), mashed potato (?!) fruit and juices.
Lunch would be 2 variations of rice, a chicken curry, dall, fish curry, vegetables and a few other varieties of dish, yoghurt, ice cream and an Indian sweet. Dinner would be similar. There are also Naan breads at both lunch and dinner. There were a few occasions when there was nothing we fancied but the staff were superb and rustled something up for us.
The cutlery, crockery and glasses were the cleanest we have ever seen in a hotel - they were spotless!
The staff at this hotel made our holiday, they treated us like royalty and nothing was too much trouble, we made good friends with several of them. I have seen people moaning on Trip Advisor about the Reception staff, and we really have no idea what they are moaning about - if you treat people with manners and courtesy you will get the same in return.
The beach is about a 5 minute walk, and yes it does smell of fish - but hello, it's a fishing village! We can also recommend The Leda and Jamies in Colva if you fancy going somewhere else to eat - they were both excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva

Address: 4th Ward, Beach Road | Salcette, Colva 403708, India (Formerly Pearls Oceanique Resort)
Location: India > Goa > Colva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Colva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst of lush green paddy fields, a whiff of sea air, a crafted beach resort, where you are assured to experience hospitality at its best. The Resort is ideal for everybody to have a great time of their life, with south Goa’s most popular white sand beach, the Colva is at a walk able distance of 500mts, offering exciting water sports and oodles of entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearls Oceanique Hotel Colva
The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.