We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely oasis in Colva” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva to your Saves list
The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4th Ward, Beach Road | Salcette, Colva 403708, India (Formerly Pearls Oceanique Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Colva
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely oasis in Colva”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at Golden Palms (formerrly Pearls Oceanique) from 6-17 December 2012.
It's a shame I didn't hook up with the British reviewer below as I was there at the same time. I'm a Brit too.

The hotel is a 5-10 mins walk from the beach. The shortest route is through a fishing village or you can have a nice 10 minute walk down the road. There are taxi's at the hotel to take you down to Colva Beach Road if you wish - 100 rupees or just over £1.

Almost everything about the hotel was excellent. The photos do do it justice.

The pool was cleaned everyday and it was refreshing dipping in. There are plenty of loungers and umbrellas if you want to stay in the shade. The pool bar is cheap and do snacks through the day.

All the rooms are pool facing either on the ground or first floor. Mine was on the ground floor so you can open up in front of the pool. All the rooms have a porch or balcony you can sit out on. The rooms have air con and a fan - so pleasant after walking around in Goa.
Rooms also have a fridge, kettle (with tea coffee facilities), plasma TVs (can get several movie and sports channels), 2 free bottles of water a day, and a lovely bathroom/shower. Excellent.

I went Bed and breakfast. The breakfast is buffet type with a good selection. I even went for the evening meal - buffet for 450 rupees.

All the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

While I was there the guests did seems to be lots of Russians and asian honeymooners - but it never felt crowded.

Colva itself is great - dead cheap and quiet. This is definitely not party central which is how I like it.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room - preferable in block 1 or 2 - these get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    76
    33
    16
    20
See reviews for
73
79
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cannock
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here from 9th December 2012 for 2 weeks.
The hotel is lovely with only 50 rooms each overlooking the pool. The pool is lovely and clean with plenty of sunbeds. We were the only brits here at the time, the other guests were mainly Indian honeymooners and Russians.
The food was good. Breakfast consisted of cereal, toast, an egg station, indian dishes, bacon, sausages, baked beans (with black eyed peas), mashed potato (?!) fruit and juices.
Lunch would be 2 variations of rice, a chicken curry, dall, fish curry, vegetables and a few other varieties of dish, yoghurt, ice cream and an Indian sweet. Dinner would be similar. There are also Naan breads at both lunch and dinner. There were a few occasions when there was nothing we fancied but the staff were superb and rustled something up for us.
The cutlery, crockery and glasses were the cleanest we have ever seen in a hotel - they were spotless!
The staff at this hotel made our holiday, they treated us like royalty and nothing was too much trouble, we made good friends with several of them. I have seen people moaning on Trip Advisor about the Reception staff, and we really have no idea what they are moaning about - if you treat people with manners and courtesy you will get the same in return.
The beach is about a 5 minute walk, and yes it does smell of fish - but hello, it's a fishing village! We can also recommend The Leda and Jamies in Colva if you fancy going somewhere else to eat - they were both excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here from 22-25 dec the hotel's name has changed from Pearls oceanic to Golden Palms Hotel and Spa so it was a bit confusing for the driver.
The property is located 5 mins walk from the beach. you have to go through a fisherman's village reeking of drying fish to get to the beach.
the room was nice with good lighting and facilities. the biggest disappointment was the bathroom. they didnt even have a handtowel. all they provided were 2 towels. no handtowel, no floor mat nothing. the iron also cost 100 rs/ half hr. The restaurant did serve some good food.

overall a nice stay but i would look elsewhere before coming back here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

sunny wadhwa,
rooms was good, food was good, i suggest if you like crowdy beach so go for north goa resorts.
swimming pool, and other facilities was awesome,

but one "disco" must be inside the resort, airport, beach, railway station everything is few steps away from the resort.

Room Tip: every room is good surounded by pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Superb hotel with excellent large spacious rooms. Food is quite nice. I stayed here wid my wife for honeymoon frm 12-15 Dec'12.
Nearby market is also very nice and cheap compared to other places in goa. Offcourse u need to have bargaining power. Enjoy with your spouse friends n family. Definitely a thumbs up :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel is a great place i have been here for my honeymoon. The location is great and definately a must place if relaxing, Spending quality time is your motto.

Hotel rooms are spacious, Clean and Beautiful however the management needs to improve a bit. You need to ask them for all that you need, No proactively assisting the visitors.

Food is great..!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was one of the finest hotel I have see. Beautifully architect and maintained. It was very clean hotel. Interior was very good, huge pool, great food. Room design was very good.

Beach was very close less than 1/2 kilometer, bug it was very very dirty. I find more than several kilometer long toilet on beach, hence I had to travel to other location for better beach. Also, there was rotten fish thrown troughout the beach. Also, there was lots of jelly fish on beach which made more dangerous.

Main Colva market is around a kilometer from this beach.Market had lots of restaurant to try with.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva

Address: 4th Ward, Beach Road | Salcette, Colva 403708, India (Formerly Pearls Oceanique Resort)
Location: India > Goa > Colva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Colva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst of lush green paddy fields, a whiff of sea air, a crafted beach resort, where you are assured to experience hospitality at its best. The Resort is ideal for everybody to have a great time of their life, with south Goa’s most popular white sand beach, the Colva is at a walk able distance of 500mts, offering exciting water sports and oodles of entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearls Oceanique Hotel Colva
The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Colva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.